We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Lehigh Valley Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Glen Rock, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Old and poor service”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Dated, dated, dated. Reminded me of the hotel in The Shining. Poor service, ran out of food at breakfast, lousy attitude about trying to help out. There were gnats in the room that must have come in when the window was open so the screens must be broken. The rate was a little too high for the value but the beds were comfortable, the temperature was good and well controlled and the wifi was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jeannie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at Best Western Lehigh Valley Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for providing insight on your recent experience at the restaurant; I understand it can be frustrating when you see large group of guests in our restaurant at once, making it harder for us to keep replenishing the buffet items. We are constantly working to improve our buffet offerings and overall experience. The next time you’re in Bethlehem we would love for you to stop back again. Thank you for your comments.

Managing Director- Richard Sanchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    255
    180
    101
    84
See reviews for
286
190
57
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanticoke, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

I got a great rate for an overnight stay. We were headed to a basketball tournament in Bath and decided to stay at the last moment. I used my Hotels.com app and booked this room when we left the tournament gym. When I walked in to the hotel a few minutes later they were just finishing my reservation! The desk staff was very pleasant and very helpful giving me a list of restaurants in the area. They were signs in the room's hallways saying they were updating and they did need it. But everything was clean and the rooms were very nice and comfortable. They also had a very nice breakfast selection and lots of room to sit. I would definitely stay again! This hotel was close to so many things, it was great!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaMauied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at Best Western Lehigh Valley Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and let the staff know that they contributed to your experience. We hope to see you again soon.

Managing Director- Richard Sanchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We have stayed many times at this Best Western and this stay we found that the facility has deteriorated in everything but quality of staff which remains excellent. The antiquated heating/cooling system is noisy and intermittent greatly interfering with sleep. The restaurant is poor. Only the lovely staff and the low price remain in the positive column.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Marianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at Best Western Lehigh Valley Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
I’m sorry that you weren’t satisfied with the hotel but I’m not sure if you noticed all the renovations being done around the entire property. Please, contact me directly with feedback in regards to the restaurant. We look for reviews to provide insight, so I certainly appreciate your feedback. We would love for you to stop back again. Thank you,

Managing Director- Richard Sanchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bethlehem hotels

West Shokan, NY, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2014

This hotel is one I have stayed in several times. Always clean, good staff. Restaurant has a varied menu and food is good, price moderate. Hotel has no elevator. The location is very good for businesses in the Bethlehem/Allentown area, located just off of Route 22 and in a quiet, pleasant area with some other hotels.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at Best Western Lehigh Valley Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. I am very happy to hear that our team members took such of good care of you and you found the amenities of our hotel to your liking. Hope to see you return soon!!!

Managing Director- Richard Sanchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

The hotel may have been under construction for improvement . . . but I have seen this going on for over two years and I have not seen the improvements. The desk manager, when informed that my room had not privacy curtains, only shears, asked if that was a problem, knowing it was a ground floor room with windows to the outside parking where guests regularly stand. I had to insist on a new room. When the cable went out (I understand that is something not in their control), the desk manager (again the same night manager) offered that I should call the cable company (even though I was not the customer?!!). The beds are not the quality of a Best Western PLUS hotel. The mattresses are old and dated. Poor excuse for a PLUS hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank OffRoadJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at Best Western Lehigh Valley Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for your review about your recent stay. We’re very sorry you were unhappy with the renovations but the whole first floor will be completed within two weeks, including mattresses and black outs. Also, the cable problem was the whole block not just one room and it took forty five minutes for RCN to fix the problem. We will take your comment under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

Managing Director- Richard Sanchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2014

The room was beautiful, the staff were pleasant, but the noise was so awful I didn't stay both nights, I left after the first and drove 4 hours back home. I had to cut the time with my husband short who is working there. We don't get much time and I just wanted nice peaceful weekend with him :(

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at Best Western Lehigh Valley Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
I am sorry we were not able to provide you with satisfactory experience during your recent stay. I understand noise was an issue just not sure if it was outside or other guests on the hallway but we certainly encourage for guest comfort that they contact the front desk so we can calm the issue. Thank you for your feedback! We hope you will consider staying with us again.

Managing Director- Richard Sanchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We were at this facility for a convention for three days. It is winter so we can't speak about the outdoor pool at all, but the rest of the facility we did get a good feel for.

1. rooms and public areas - being painted now, and it looks as though the rooms will be refurbished soon. Ours had not been, but was clean and comfortable.

2. free breakfast - better than most, they also had hot food and the service was very good.

3. bar and restaurant food - the service was again very good and so was the food.

4. night club - decent dancing space, and a good mix of dance tunes.

5. convention facilities - the grand ballroom, the large room off of it, and the rooms for seminars were all clean and nicely attended.

6. convention food - HIGH MARKS for both food and wait staff service. We did NOT expect to find the food to be so good, and it was a very pleasant surprise. The chef is on top of what they are selling for banquets.

Overall, the rooms were the weakest part of this stay, but seem to be on the uptick since maintenance is under way, and this conference center will only get better. It was a great place for a convention and we heard fellow attendees telling the host to use it again.

Room Tip: Do NOT let them book you in room 104. It's next to the night club and if you are there on the we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClearBlueDaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at Best Western Lehigh Valley Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
We appreciate the opportunity to host your convention; thank you for your review. I am very happy to hear that our team members took such good care of you and you found the amenities of our hotel to your liking. Hope to see you next year…

Managing Director- Richard Sanchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethlehem hotels
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bethlehem
2.2 mi away
The View Inn & Suites
The View Inn & Suites
#14 of 14 in Bethlehem
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bethlehem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
#3 of 14 in Bethlehem
847 reviews
3.7 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#13 of 14 in Bethlehem
240 reviews
4.9 mi away
Courtyard Bethlehem Lehigh Valley/I-78
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Lehigh Valley Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Lehigh Valley Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Best Western Lehigh Valley Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 300 Gateway Dr, (at Routes 22 & 512), Bethlehem, PA 18017-9076 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Lehigh Valley Hotel & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Bethlehem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Lehigh Valley Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, this charming full-service hotel offers modern conveniences perfect for business and leisure travelers alike. The BEST WESTERN Lehigh Valley Hotel & Conference Center is located in the heart of Pennsylvania's scenic Lehigh Valley, allowing guests easy access to popular attractions and surrounding cities, including Allentown, Easton and Philadelphia. Enjoy walking through historic Bethlehem or appreciate local art at Banana Factory®, the Allentown Art Museum or the unique SteelStacks®. There's plenty of family-friendly fun at the nearby Dorney Park and Wildwater Kingdom, the DaVinci Discovery Center and Crayola® Factory. Or, hedge your bets at Sands Casino, just five miles away. Lehigh University and several other local colleges are also only minutes away from this Bethlehem hotel.Perfect for well-executed events and stunning weddings, this property is a premier event venue in Lehigh Valley. With more than 13,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, we can accommodate events of up to 800 people. Guests traveling on business will appreciate the hotel's full business services and close proximity to corporate locations such as the Lehigh Valley Industrial Park, Lehigh Valley Hospital, Specialty Minerals, Booch Rexroth and more. For added convenience, the BEST WESTERN Lehigh Valley & Conference Center is just three miles from the Lehigh Valley International Airport. Each of the 192 spacious, well-appointed guest rooms at this pet-friendly Bethlehem hotel features a microwave, refrigerator, cable satellite television with HBO® and high-speed Internet access. Start the day off with a complimentary full breakfast and unwind in the evening with a drink at the onsite restaurant or cocktail lounge, complete with live entertainment. Other hotel amenities include the largest outdoor swimming pool in the area, an exercise facility and children's activities.Make a reservation today and save at the BEST WESTERN Lehigh Valley Hotel & Conference Center! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Lehigh Valley Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Lehigh Valley Hotel And Conference Center
Best Western Plus Lehigh Valley Hotel Bethlehem
Bethlehem Best Western
Best Western Bethlehem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing