We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel, needs some TLC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Lehigh Valley Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
100 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Average hotel, needs some TLC”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

This hotel was very average. It is more like a motel than a hotel. We were sort of taken aback when we pulled up. Not only do you get the noise from the interior hallway, you get the noise from the exterior as well. The doors are ancient and as a result all guests need to slam them in order for them to shut properly. The window treatments were torn and falling from the hooks. The bathroom/shower features a dated, stained drop-down ceiling, old grout that hasn't been replaced in years, and dirty appearing walls. I found spider webs in the room. Later in the evening, my wife found the spiders. The bed was fairly comfortable, and the TV was relatively new. Those two things made the room "average." The breakfast in the restaurant was very nice and definitely a highlight for us. It featured (in covered dishes, nice) scrambled eggs, home fries, sausage or bacon, french toast, and a variety of pastries, yogurt, cereal, fruit, coffee, tea, juices, milk, etc. I liked that we could sit in the restaurant for breakfast. The conference center area is nice, but the rest of the hotel is in need of some TLC. The carpets in the halls stunk of cheap cleaner and were nauseating. All in all, this is your average hotel that needs some upgrades to stay competitive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KRtrumpet182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESBusch, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lehigh Valley Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your experiences on TripAdvisor. Your feedback provided is greatly appreciated, as we share it with our ownership and managment team to develop immediate and future plans for the hotel. Its great to hear you enjoyed our complimentary hot buffet breakfast.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Regards,
E. Busch
Managing Director, Best Western Plus Lehigh Valley Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    239
    165
    87
    75
See reviews for
258
175
55
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

I facilitated a business meeting at the hotel yesterday and was disappointed to find the meeting room dirty. It had not been vacuumed recently and there was dirt and small litter in corners and along walls. The food served was good an service was attentive.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank jfarkas309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESBusch, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lehigh Valley Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We will be sharing your experiences with our team to continuously improve and meet our guests expectations.

Regard,
E.Busch, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We arrived with minimal expectations but left very happy. About 1-1/2 hours from the Lower East Side in NYC. Great free breakfast. "Sister Hotel" next door has an indoor pool so we enjoyed that as well. The beds are okay. Parking is ample. Close to dozens of places to eat. Great deal. Next time we have to drive up to NYC from NC, this will be our stop.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the pool (which is HUGE). Don't stay too close to the nightclub. People might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESBusch, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lehigh Valley Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you. We here at the Best Western Lehigh Valley Hotel are pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations. Our property is the perfect location for those heading to NYC or Philadelphia with its close proximity to routes 78, 476 and 80. Thank you again for sharing your experiences of our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to our property on your next trip up north.

Regards,
E.Busch, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norristown, Pennsylvania, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

its ok. accommodated my request for a king when one was not listed as available. Free breakfast is good, but restaurant disappointing at dinner. Other than that, I would stay again (been there once before)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESBusch, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lehigh Valley Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experiences concerning your recent visit to our hotel. I am pleased to hear my team was able to accommodate your room request for a King room but very disappointed to hear of your displeasure with our restaurant for dinner service. Can you please reach out to our Executive Chef, Brian Stroup at bstroup@lehighvalleyhotel.com to share your personal experience with him so he can address these issues and ensure other guests do not experience the same.

Thanks you again for your review.

Regards,
E.Busch, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaways, NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

I never knew a Best Western could be this good! This particular hotel reminded me of higher-end hotels such as the Hilton, Hyatt, etc. Stayed one night while attending a cat show; got a $ break on that. Had king bed sized room on the first floor, as I had requested. Room was up to date, clean, fresh & certainly large enough. Noise level from next door/hallways was acceptable. Love it when a hotel automatically includes a mini fridge AND a microwave! Bathroom was alittle tight, but featured 2 sinks - one inside the bathroom, and one on the outside. Being on the first floor, I had 2 means of access into the room - one way was thru the interior hallway; the other thru a door from the room to the outside/parking lot. But besides all these toe wiggling delights - the best part of all? Their buffet breakfast! Now that's what I call a continental breakfast! Scrambled eggs, hash brown potatos, bacon, french toast, bagels, muffins, fresh fruits, yogurt, 4 types of cereals, hot cereal, pastries, and of course, all sorts of beverages - juices, milk, coffee, etc. Probably forgot to mention a few things....Stayed here in the past and definitely will stay here again. Can't comment on too many of the other amenities, because I didn't partake of any of them. They did have a nice outdoor pool that they were readying for the season. Being a "convention center", they had several different-sized ballrooms and meeting rooms available. Only one drawback - if you were placed in a far-away room, the walk to the main desk & other amenities such as the lounge, etc was a good workout......

Room Tip: There are some rooms that you can book that face the outdoor pool area, and that would be a fun plus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RockawayCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESBusch, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lehigh Valley Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
THANK YOU!! We truly appreciate your feedback. The team will be happy to know there hard work does not go unnoticed. We pride ourselves on the complimentary breakfast buffet to start your day. Yes you were correct about preparing our pool for season, we should be up and running in this area (one of Lehigh Valley's largest outdoor pools) by Memorial Day. Thank you again for sharing your recent visit to our hotel on TripAdvisor.

Regards,
E.Busch, Managing Director Best Western Plus Lehigh Valley Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, NY
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

This hotel is a great stay in the Bethlehem area. It is in a very safe area, easy to get too. There isn't much food right around it but that isn't an issue because there are 2 restaurants in the hotel. The food, atmosphere and feel of the sports bar is great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESBusch, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lehigh Valley Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience about your recent visit to the hotel. We are delighted to read that our hotel suited your needs for your visit to the Lehigh Valley area.

Thank you for chosing us and we hope to welcome you back again should your travels bring you to the area.

Regards,
E. Busch, Managing Director Best Western Plus Lehigh Valley Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethlehem hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bethlehem
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bethlehem
2.2 mi away
The View Inn & Suites
The View Inn & Suites
#14 of 14 in Bethlehem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
#2 of 14 in Bethlehem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
4.9 mi away
Courtyard Bethlehem Lehigh Valley/I-78
3.2 mi away
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
#1 of 14 in Bethlehem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Lehigh Valley Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lehigh Valley Hotel & Conference Center

Property: BEST WESTERN Lehigh Valley Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 300 Gateway Drive, (at Routes 22 & 512), Bethlehem, PA 18017-9076
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Bethlehem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Lehigh Valley Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, this charming full-service hotel offers modern conveniences perfect for business and leisure travelers alike. The BEST WESTERN Lehigh Valley Hotel & Conference Center is located in the heart of Pennsylvania's scenic Lehigh Valley, allowing guests easy access to popular attractions and surrounding cities, including Allentown, Easton and Philadelphia. Enjoy walking through historic Bethlehem or appreciate local art at Banana Factory®, the Allentown Art Museum or the unique SteelStacks®. There's plenty of family-friendly fun at the nearby Dorney Park and Wildwater Kingdom, the DaVinci Discovery Center and Crayola® Factory. Or, hedge your bets at Sands Casino, just five miles away. Lehigh University and several other local colleges are also only minutes away from this Bethlehem hotel.Perfect for well-executed events and stunning weddings, this property is a premier event venue in Lehigh Valley. With more than 13,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, we can accommodate events of up to 800 people. Guests traveling on business will appreciate the hotel's full business services and close proximity to corporate locations such as the Lehigh Valley Industrial Park, Lehigh Valley Hospital, Specialty Minerals, Booch Rexroth and more. For added convenience, the BEST WESTERN Lehigh Valley & Conference Center is just three miles from the Lehigh Valley International Airport. Each of the 192 spacious, well-appointed guest rooms at this pet-friendly Bethlehem hotel features a microwave, refrigerator, cable satellite television with HBO® and high-speed Internet access. Start the day off with a complimentary full breakfast and unwind in the evening with a drink at the onsite restaurant or cocktail lounge, complete with live entertainment. Other hotel amenities include the largest outdoor swimming pool in the area, an exercise facility and children's activities.Make a reservation today and save at the BEST WESTERN Lehigh Valley Hotel & Conference Center! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lehigh Valley Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Lehigh Valley Hotel And Conference Center
Best Western Plus Lehigh Valley Hotel Bethlehem
Bethlehem Best Western
Best Western Bethlehem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing