We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Lehigh Valley Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Not sure what qualifies a Best Western for a Plus, but this property doesn't deserve more than a plain old C in my book. The hotel is very reasonably priced, convenient to Bethlehem and Route 22, but it is pretty worn out and in desperate need of new mattresses. The heat pump was a clattering beast, but good for covering up the noise from the hallway (see room tip comments).

The rooms were clean and the staff (front desk, restaurant, housekeeping) were all friendly and helpful. The included breakfast buffet was very good (French toast, eggs, potatoes, bacon, pastries, oatmeal, fresh fruit, etc) - though the creamers made the coffee taste weird...stick with the milk.

That we were there for a family funeral may have cast a bit of a pall on the whole experience.

Room Tip: Request a room well down the hall from the lobby/bar area. The drunken guests fresh from the Bar Wi...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbor131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (886)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Lehigh Valley Hotel & Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

785 - 791 of 886 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2012

I've stayed in this hotel twice while visiting family in Bethlehem. This is the preferred hotel of my mother-in-law so that's the only reason we've stayed here twice. I can't say there is too much bad about this hotel, but there's nothing really great about it either.

Pros:
- Some rooms have doors to the outside for easier access
- The free breakfast is mostly continental but they usually have one thing hot (waffles or french toast)
- Nice hot water and pressure
- Outdated fitness room (but still a pro that they have one at all); I think there were 2 ellipticals, 1 treadmill, a bike and a weight machine
- Restaurant and bar on premise (have never eaten at the restaurant though)

Cons:
- Loud air conditioner/heat (I like to sleep to a humming sound but was often awakened by it starting up)
- Walls are a little thin if you have loud neighbors
- Had to break out the ethernet cord to connect to the internet

Overall, I will stay here again and again when I am visiting this family but I would look elsewhere if we wanted a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CitBree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Older hotel, badly in need of a refresh. Lack of elevators a major issue, especially as layout requires substantial walking. However, room very clean, and breakfast good when upgraded from free to buffet (a small extra charge for some rates). The staff was remarkably good. There was a small housekeeping issue and the staff was not only tremendously apologetic but genuinely embarrassed. (It was something yucky that was missed by housekeeping, but which would have been very hard for a housekeeper to spot in the room even with a diligent cleaning.) Also, were very knowledgeable about places to eat and area directions, which we see far less often these days. The staff raises this review from 2* to 3*.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deejub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

This hotel is a good value for the price, but it needs an update rush. The beds are worn down, the furniture is old, the restrooms are outdated. However, the Bar with No Name is decent, and the prices are ok. The breakfast is average and the restaurant food is expensive for the low quality offered. However, it is a safe, clean and acceptable for less than $100 per night.

Room Tip: Avoid the outside rooms as they are not that safe as the inside regular rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niviapr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

Gave up trying to convince the maid to keep the (nasty, polyester) spread off the bed- gave up and ripped it off daily with two fingers and a shudder. Sheets clean and fresh-smelling. Blanket too thin; two of them and my coat solved the problem. Heater fine- except for the LOUD banging every time it kicked on. If you want to sleep, I suggest not using the heater. Hotel full of odd quirks like the door handles opening up, not down, or the light switches being backwards, so down is on. Front desk pleasant and helpful. Beds comfortable, excellent towels. Sinks are frustrating, as the water pressure is fantastic, but the water controls are stiff and hard to adjust, causing you to get water all over your clothes every time you use the bathroom. Lobby is gloomy, cold, and has no wireless access. Restaurant staff is great, accommodating and ready to go above and beyond, especially Gary. Walls are thin, so door slams are a problem.

Room Tip: Hotel is a huge quadrangle, so be prepared to have to hike everywhere.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

My husband and I were driving from Massachusetts to Shenandoah National Park, VA for a scenic, photography filled vacation. We decided to use Priceline to get a hotel in Bethlehem, PA on our route. Although we got a room for a good rate, it was not a good buy. I would definitely not stay there again for any price. The hotel was very old and in bad repair. There was no elevator and they wanted to put us on the second floor. After we complained that we did not want to carry our luggage up the stairs, they moved us to a first floor room.
Our room was in the newer wing, but it was in pretty bad shape. The in room heater either got too hot or too cold. There was no way to adjust it for the night. The only thing positive that I can say it that the room size was adequate and clean enough.
All in all , not a hotel I would frequent again.

Room Tip: If you do decide to stay there, insist on a first floor unless you don't mind carrying your lugg...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chariftravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

I'm not sure how this property is titled a PLUS facility, but it does not merit much more than a mediocre rating. Whether or not it is a good deal depends on the price you are offered. If it is more than a Red Roof or EconoLodge you might be better to look for one of their facilities. This is a convention center so it has lots of activities. Breakfast Bar is a carb-center, but offers an 'upgrade' ($4.95) if you want the eggs and sausage offered in most mid-range chains these days. The place is clean, and just okay.

Room Tip: Stay away from the large convention meeting rooms.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethlehem hotels
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bethlehem
2.2 mi away
The View Inn & Suites
The View Inn & Suites
#14 of 14 in Bethlehem
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bethlehem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
#4 of 14 in Bethlehem
871 reviews
3.7 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#13 of 14 in Bethlehem
246 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sands Casino Resort
Sands Casino Resort
#8 of 14 in Bethlehem
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Lehigh Valley Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Lehigh Valley Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 300 Gateway Dr, (at Routes 22 & 512), Bethlehem, PA 18017-9076 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Lehigh Valley Hotel & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Bethlehem
Price Range: $89 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Lehigh Valley Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, this charming full-service hotel offers modern conveniences perfect for business and leisure travelers alike. The BEST WESTERN Lehigh Valley Hotel & Conference Center is located in the heart of Pennsylvania's scenic Lehigh Valley, allowing guests easy access to popular attractions and surrounding cities, including Allentown, Easton and Philadelphia. Enjoy walking through historic Bethlehem or appreciate local art at Banana Factory®, the Allentown Art Museum or the unique SteelStacks®. There's plenty of family-friendly fun at the nearby Dorney Park and Wildwater Kingdom, the DaVinci Discovery Center and Crayola® Factory. Or, hedge your bets at Sands Casino, just five miles away. Lehigh University and several other local colleges are also only minutes away from this Bethlehem hotel.Perfect for well-executed events and stunning weddings, this property is a premier event venue in Lehigh Valley. With more than 13,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, we can accommodate events of up to 800 people. Guests traveling on business will appreciate the hotel's full business services and close proximity to corporate locations such as the Lehigh Valley Industrial Park, Lehigh Valley Hospital, Specialty Minerals, Booch Rexroth and more. For added convenience, the BEST WESTERN Lehigh Valley & Conference Center is just three miles from the Lehigh Valley International Airport. Each of the 192 spacious, well-appointed guest rooms at this pet-friendly Bethlehem hotel features a microwave, refrigerator, cable satellite television with HBO® and high-speed Internet access. Start the day off with a complimentary full breakfast and unwind in the evening with a drink at the onsite restaurant or cocktail lounge, complete with live entertainment. Other hotel amenities include the largest outdoor swimming pool in the area, an exercise facility and children's activities.Make a reservation today and save at the BEST WESTERN Lehigh Valley Hotel & Conference Center! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Best Western, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Lehigh Valley Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Lehigh Valley Hotel And Conference Center
Best Western Plus Lehigh Valley Hotel Bethlehem
Bethlehem Best Western
Best Western Bethlehem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing