We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW my new favorite restaurant!”
Review of The Bayou

The Bayou
Reserve with OpenTable
The Bayou is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 347 Restaurants in Bethlehem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Cajun & Creole, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Drinks, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW my new favorite restaurant!”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Tonight we went to what we thought was a New Orleans type restaurant and as frequent travelers to that amazing place we were totally thrilled! Charred shrimp were better than Emeril's by a mile --beignets made Cafe du Monde's taste soggy!! Everything we tasted and tried was great! Service was great--owners were so friendly --it was the complete DINING EXPERIENCE!!!!! Loved it!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roberta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    115
    45
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Do you know where Main & Broad Are?”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

This is just a minute away and yet you will feel like you are in Louisiana... What a great menu, cocktails and vibe. The staff was very accommodating even without a reservation, however call ahead or sit at the bar. We found it to be a little loud but one taste of the side of pickles, mac & cheese and there is plenty to talk about. The BBQ chicken and buttermilk fried chicken was awesome. Enjoy!

Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bethlehem Gem”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Very pleased with this addition to Bethlehem restaurants! Nice atmosphere, ample parking, attentive service, great cocktail mixers! And now for the food......stellar. Five of us dined and five were very satisfied. Entrees included the hangar steak, salmon and oxtail. Well presented and reasonably priced. All delectable. Will definitely be returning to this establishment!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abbeygirl5360789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Im glade I went not sure if......”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

This is an oler building that has been renovated in a very nice way. Safe area with a large parking lot. The interior is very open and the decor is modern and not sothern. The menu is simple and features items that you need to read the description to have half an idea what your getting. The prices are moderate but do not expect to spend less then 12.00 for a sandwich and 18.00 for an platter. Beer selection is higher end. Wait staff appears slow and confused. No rythem would be the word. Manager appeared to be involved. Food quality ranged from our table from ok to pretty good. Chicken sandwich was dry, steak was great and Mac and cheese was good but did not contain the ham they boasted in the meal. For this reason I will try again to see if it was just a bad night, The big thing is the place is so loud inside do to make up of the interior, you cant hold a conversation without talking very very very loud. This adding to the already loud volume of the entire interior. This point was so distracting it would keep me from returning in the future. I cant wait till you read this review and you go there and tell your friends that you read this on line. IT IS LOUD.. All in all I would say it is worth the trip to try. If you are burnt out on talking to your wife and kids then this is your place, cause you wont hear a word they said.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ak629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Don't miss the outside seating!”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Bayou features southern foods that include sandwiches as well as entrees. Recently our party of four enjoyed a wonderful lunch on the back patio, which is covered by a pergola with a cozy seating area that includes a fire pit and comfy casual chairs. There is a clear roof overhead in case of sun showers, which did occur while we were there. The patio seating added a lot to our visit, as it was a beautiful day (until the shower and we were anxious to experience a bit of the outdoors during our workday lunch.

Our meals were delicious, and included pulled pork sandwiches, a caesar salad, and a wonderfully prepared beef brisket sandwich. Hand cut French fries, perfectly done and not greasy, were the side dish. Our service was friendly, attentive and prompt. The Bayou's menu includes lots of southern inspired dishes, and every table seemed well satisfied and complimentary. One of our party had mac & cheese which included meat and veggies, and declared it to be the best ever. The Bayou offers a nice twist to the Bethlehem restaurant scene and though it is tucked away off of E. Broad St., it is worth the minute it takes to find. Try it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dartmouthmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bayou also viewed

 

Been to The Bayou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing