We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Greeted at the door?” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bayou

The Bayou
Reserve with OpenTable
The Bayou is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 348 Restaurants in Bethlehem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Cajun & Creole, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Greeted at the door?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

My husband and I were planning on going here for lunch today. We waited at the door too long, in our opinion, and decided to leave. One of the bartenders followed us out, and said he'd told us "he would be right with us", but he wasn't.

The restaurant is fairly small, and it's awkward waiting at the door for any length of time. There was nobody else waiting for a table, and he could have easily said across the room to just take one of the 3 tables that were available. He had time to follow us across the parking lot, but not to seat us promptly?

From what I was able to observe, the place looks great, but it did sound noisy. I only saw one waitress on duty.

Better luck next time, I guess. It takes a lot of effort to gain a customer, and not much to lose one.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JoAnn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    108
    42
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“We'll visit again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant was recommended by our daughter and I'm glad she did. Had dinner with four of our friends on Thursday night. Nice atmosphere...great staff...good food. Place was crowded, but great care was taken to seat everyone as soon as possible.

Loved the appetizers...as entrees some had PO' boys, shrimp and grits, and hanger steak. One small suggestion...while the portion sizes on everything we saw looked great...the hanger steak and sides could have included a bit more.

Will certainly return! This is a restaurant we truly hope will be around for a long time!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DMC309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Just got back from dinner at this great new restaurant. First of all, they did a teriffic job renovating an old neighborhood bar. The drinks and food were outstanding. The service was great and everyone was more than willing to explain the menu and answer any questions. Annie at the bar was the "best"! We will certainly be back and pass the word on.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank brat13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a happy surprise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Bayou has done it right. This place is NOT a wannabe attempt. The food is delicious, with thought given to detail. The beer list is right on. ...And I have to say their jalapeno margharita is to die for. The cajun garlic 'caesar' salad is a great example. The dressing is not overwhelming in either consistency or garlic...it's delicate, with pickled onions adding a great touch. I'm not sure its really a caesar salad, but it really is wonderful! A good gumbo is a good starting point for judgement in a cajun place, and this one is very nice, with a tomato based broth and lovely spicy sausage, with shrimp (not overdone, yay!). If requested, gumbo is served with a hearty portion of homemade corn bread -- which is so savory, so buttery and toasted -- you will be spoiled for most cornbread in the future. The handcut fries were perfect..nice and crunchy on the outside, with an interesting herbal finish.For dessert we ordered the beignets -- again I didn't expect them to be authentic -- but in fact they are the best I have had! Hot and fluffy and melt in the mouth perfect, and come with a lovely dipping sauce.If you go on a Friday night, be prepared to wait, or go do something else for a while. The line can be long...but it is worth the wait!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank johannab198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“New place in town for great southern food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

My family took me to Bayou this evening for my birthday. Great new restaurant in Bethlehem at the site of the old Hawthorne Hotel. Cocktails are good, small menu of wonderful things. Hush puppies were delish, the shrimp and andouille gumbo was great. Had the bar-b-que shrimp and grits for dinner, grits could have been creamier and cheesier but the bar-b-que tasted like New Orleans. Had a side of the collard greens and they were wonderful too. My husband and son had the fried chicken and was very juicy and delicious also. We will definitely be returning soon!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bayou also viewed

 

Been to The Bayou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing