We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice & Clean Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sayre Mansion Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Bethlehem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My husband & I spent the night with our 5 year old son. The room was exceptionally nice. We didn't really spend time in the room, just to sleep. I do feel that it was extremely over priced! It's not your average charge to stay a night out. Although it was very comfortable. The bed had to been the best I've ever slept in.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErinNJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 280 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

The Inn was lovely and decorated very festive for Christmas. Our room had a fireplace and the most comfortable King size bed. The staff were very friendly and we took advantage of Tea time. The weather did not cooperate as there was a snowstorm and when we went to village everything was closing down early. That was the only disappointment.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

From check in to checking out, we really enjoyed the feel and experience at the Inn. The owner/ staff was very helpful in finding a restaurant open on Christmas and calling them to let them know we were coming. When we needed directions, they printed them out for us. The breakfasts were excellent and the service was impecable. We will definitely stay again if the opportunity presents itself.

Room Tip: all rooms are can be viewed on their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is our 4th stay at the Sayre Mansion and each time is better than the previous. This year we were able to reserve the Conservatory room - amazing - glass ceiling, beautiful room and of course the service at the Sayre is outstanding. Clean, comfortable B & B, great breakfast, wonderful decor, warm and friendly staff. On Christmas Eve we enjoyed the clear, star filled sky from our bed - looking thru the glass ceiling. And their cable system has the NASA channel so we watched the astronauts working on the ISS - as my husband said, the closest we will ever get to space travel!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely but do ask for one with its own bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hiwaychild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Plenty of parking, right in the center of Bethlehem. It is a gorgeous, historic house with lovely hosts. The room was cozy and a perfect size. It was super clean, not a speck of dust. It was so beautifully decorated, but not overdone like other cheesy bed and breakfasts. Best of all...FREE WI-FI. It was extremely quiet and so beautifully decorated for Christmas. The bathroom was chocked filled with little amenities like makeup remover, again super clean. The breakfast was FREE as well. They had "grab and go" items like muffins and coffee, but there was also a made to order menu with omelets, sausage, and bacon. You had your own private table if you didn't feel like chatting with other guests...however, everyone was super friendly. It was truly a place far beyond my expectations...especially when I consider the price.,

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SingletonFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed here one night in early October 2013 for the Runners World 10k race at the old ironworks. It was a beatitude building overlooking the town. We were able to walk downtown to dinner at an excellent Italian restaurant recommended by the inn. We could also walk down to the race itself. The included buffet breakfast was delicious, fresh fruit, many hot choices and tasty pastries. The dining room was elegant and lovely. Would definitely stay again if traveling to this area.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor with a few of the town. The room slept three though there were only two of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elheffner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

What a disappointing weekend at this Inn. We are frequent travelers and discovered Sayre Mansion in the Select Inn Registry, which we often refer to as we know they are *usually* the best. Upon check in at the Sayre Mansion, we immediately noticed the fireplace was not a true fireplace, which should be noted somewhere in the "Suite 1" description for starters as the photo alludes to a real one. This was an electric Fireplace with fake flames. Shortly after arriving, we found our dog chewing on a grape, which you may know is poisonous and deadly to dogs. Upon further investigation, we discovered several grapes under the loveseat in the living area. We found this to be quite disturbing especially in a "pet friendly" room. The room is in no way up to par with the level of cleanliness as an Inn listed in the Select Registry's Caliber is expected to maintain. The toilet was filthy as well as the hardwood floors and un-vacuumed area rugs. At this point we tried to just make the best of it and head into town to have dinner. The next day, we decided to play Scrabble and were planning to listen to a CD we brought with us and watch the movie,"The Holiday." When we contacted the front desk Inn Keeper about there not being a DVD, CD player or IPod Doc in the room, she indicated she would have to contact her boss as she never had been asked where it was before. She very politely phoned us back to say “it must have been stolen, how sad” and that they didn’t have an extra. Apparently, it was supposed to have been in plain site on the desk. None of these amenities existed in the room as advertised. It would have been easier to accept these issues if an apology or a credit of some sort was offered, but we weren’t even approached or addressed by anyone for anything. This should not have been our problem. They are really lacking in the customer service department...whoever the “boss’ was that was notified should have made an effort to at least apologize for the inconvenience. We were looking forward to relaxing with music & a glass of wine or at least to be able to watch a movie since there wasn't much to do in the town as it was raining. We emailed the Inn Keeper 2 days ago and have yet to get a response. A simple response or apology would have been appreciated. We feel paying $649 for 2 nights for what we actually received, is unjust. Note: this is what we paid to stay on Park Avenue in NYC and The 4 Seasons in Baltimore last year. This is far from an exquisite Inn. Proceed with caution if you are planning on staying in the Carriage House at this Inn.

Room Tip: Stay in the main house not the Carriage House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michele m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeanne g, Owner at The Sayre Mansion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

The Sayre Mansion prides itself on both its hospitality and cleanliness. Room checks are done by management or front desk staff on a daily basis before the guest is checked in to a room. Undoubtedly it is possible for something to be overlooked and as this was a particularly busy weekend at the inn with full occupancy perhaps this was the case. While the guest shared her lack of a CD player she did not share any of her other complaints during her stay and had she done that the staff would have addressed her complaints immediately. The goal of the Sayre Mansion is to provide an outstanding guest experience and if we do not meet a guest's expectations we take it very seriously and work diligently to improve.
The innkeeper/owner received this guests comments on December 23 while away visiting family for the holidays. She responded to the traveler on December 26 on her first day back to work. It does not seem unreasonable for a guest to get a management response within three days considering the time of year.
The fireplace in the suite is the exact fireplace that is pictured on the website. Management contacted the reviewer and has made amends for the lack of a CD player that went missing in her room. The item will be replaced immediately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethlehem hotels
0.5 mi away
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
#1 of 14 in Bethlehem
1,037 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
#4 of 14 in Bethlehem
968 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bethlehem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sands Casino Resort
Sands Casino Resort
#8 of 14 in Bethlehem
790 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bethlehem
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#13 of 14 in Bethlehem
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sayre Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sayre Mansion Inn

Address: 250 Wyandotte St, Bethlehem, PA 18015-1216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bethlehem
Price Range: $151 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sayre Mansion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the gracious hospitality and modern comforts of the Sayre Mansion, circa 1858. We're Bethlehem's favorite boutique hotel offering luxurious accommodations, historic charm, Free WIFI and a delicious complimentary Innkeeper's breakfast daily. Whether your visit to the Lehigh Valley is for business, pleasure or a romantic escape, you will love the Sayre Mansion's meticulously restored guest suites and rooms, private event venues and our attention to detail. The Sayre Mansion is footsteps from Lehigh University, St. Luke's Hospital, the Steel Stacks Performing Arts Center and the excitement of the Sands Casino. Plus, we are close to many corporate headquarters, Lehigh Valley Airport and the areas best restaurants. Make the most of your visit to the Lehigh Valley. Enjoy the experience of the Sayre Mansion, Bethlehem's favorite boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Sayre Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sayre Mansion Hotel Bethlehem
Sayre Mansion Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing