We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Stay at a Superb B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sayre Mansion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Sayre Mansion Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Bethlehem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ravenel, SC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay at a Superb B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We have stayed at many B & B's over the years, and we found the Sayre Mansion to be among the best. We booked a room at the Sayre Mansion as a stop half-way on our trip from Virginia to New England, simply due to the location, but we were more than trilled to find a beautiful inn with a friendly staff and a very comfortable room. We will definitely stay here again, if our travels take us to Bethlehem.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    53
    18
    5
    1
See reviews for
38
152
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, VA
Level Contributor
124 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed at the Sayre Mansion in while exhibiting at an antique show held at Lehigh University and found it to be a very pleasant place to stay.

We had room 14, which was on the first floor, had a separate sitting area, a private entrance, and a small outside patio. Although is was right off the registration area, it was quiet both nights we were there. The room was clean and nicely furnished.

The inn's common areas were attractive too, and the breakfasts (which apparently change daily) were excellent.

There isn't much to do right around the inn, and the closest place to eat is a Perkins Family Restaurant which is less than a quarter mile away. However, it is down a very steep hill from inn, so you if you are elderly, overweight, or have small children, you probably won't want to walk to it.

Oh, one last thing to note, the entrance to the inn is not actually on Wyandotte Street, it's on Third Street. So, if you are coming in from the south on PA 378, you'll need to make a left turn at the intersection just before you reach the inn.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank readem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

After searching for a hotel in the Bethlehem area and finding that they were all booked, I decided to give the Sayre Mansion a try. We had a family wedding to attend so I wanted to have a location close to the venue. The mansion is bigger than your typical bed & breakfast. Our room was well decorated, clean, and with comfortable bedding. The grounds are large enough to accommodate an outdoor wedding. The breakfast was amazing with a huge variety of offerings. The staff was very accommodating to guests needs/requests. I will definitely keep this location in mind when we are visiting family again. The only downside is the entrance to the mansion is on a busy hillside city road with only a small sign right at the driveway. If you miss the entrance it takes a little maneuvering to get back to it because of one-way roads.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CLB00000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Falls, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

My husband and I checked into the Sayre Mansion with high expectations. We had read about its history and were excited to visit. Our room (#20) did not disappoint. It was beautifully decorated with lots of windows and a lovely updated bathroom complete with bathrobes, luxurious towels and toiletries.

Unfortunately, the bathroom shares a very thin wall with the room next door. We enjoyed our neighbor's shower singing, but NOT their arguing! The other noise problems we had were thanks to a 5AM and 6AM train whistle on Saturday and Sunday mornings respectively. Oh well, it WOULD have been nice to sleep in!

At least we woke to the wonderful smell of bacon! I thought the breakfast was delicious, but my husband was not thrilled with the limited choices. The Innkeeper and her staff (dog included) made us feel welcome.

Please note that the property's driveway is not easy to find. The house faces Wyandotte Street, but you must enter from W. 3rd Street.


The Innkeeper and her dog made us feel very welcome!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maui1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

The Sayre Mansion Inn is a very nice, relaxing Bed and Breakfast with a very comfortable feel. The staff is incredibly nice and helpful, and the rooms are clean and comfortable with a pleasing decor. Breakfast is also quite nice with a menu of a variety of dishes along with a standard continental breakfast. There was a wedding going on when we arrived and the common rooms were decorated to fit the style of the wedding; it seemed very tasteful and reserved.

The location is also quite good; we were able to walk downtown, along the river, and over to the other side of the river to see the various shops and historic district in the area. It's a beautiful town and this bed and breakfast is located quite conveniently within it.

Our room was on the 3rd floor in a small back-facing dormer-adorned room at the end of a private hallway. It was very cozy and perfect for 2 people. The decor was appealing and the room + bathroom clean and well kept. The bed was also very comfortable and the shower more spacious than you'd expect.

Room Tip: The front faces downtown Bethlehem, PA but could get some road-noise, while the back is quieter yet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fonistoastes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at the Sayre Mansion for two nights while on a college scouting tour. Our daughter wasn't sure she was sold on nearby Lehigh University (the purpose of the visit), but we were definitely sold on the Sayre Mansion and chose to stay there a second night! We stayed in a third floor room. She had a twin bed (and a desk) in a separate nook from the main room, which she loved. The mini-suite was tastefully decorated - not kitschy, and so comfortable, with many places to sit. It rained in the afternoon, and after a week of non-stop college scouting, we were all content to sit in the room and be comfortable. The staff and owners were all excellent. A toilet stopped up. We were barely off the phone to register this problem, when someone arrived to fix it. The breakfast is excellent. Fresh fruit, home-made baked goods, coffee, etc. was sitting out, and other items are cooked to order. Although the setting is a little odd (this place sits high on a hill on a very busy, congested road overlooking Bethlehem), this place is highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elbaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed overnight at the Sayre Mansion last week, as we attended a family event in Bethlehem, PA. Other family members stayed there as well. It is a lovely B&B located near the heart of the city. Our room was very comfortable (we were on the second floor on the back of the mansion). Met with family the first afternoon on the front veranda for appetizers and drinks. It was very comfortable for the eight of us. That evening we met at a great trendy restaurant "MELT" for dinner.

Breakfast was delicious. The omelets and French toast was delicious. Plenty of fruit and juice in addition to coffee and tea. After breakfast, I spoke to one of the staff members who showed me some of the neat places in the Mansion, in the basement where there is a conference room and old wine cellar. Up top, I enjoyed a peek of the Solarium Room, complete glass ceiling for star gazing on a clear night. Would love to stay in this room in the future.

Only downside, our air conditioner in our room sounded like a jet engine throughout the night. My husband finally turned it off at 1:30 a.m. Otherwise, a very nice stay and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorfolkCruiser23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethlehem hotels
0.5 mi away
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
#1 of 14 in Bethlehem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
#2 of 14 in Bethlehem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bethlehem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sands Casino Resort
Sands Casino Resort
#8 of 14 in Bethlehem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#13 of 14 in Bethlehem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bethlehem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sayre Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sayre Mansion Inn

Property: The Sayre Mansion Inn
Address: 250 Wyandotte Street, Bethlehem, PA 18015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bethlehem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sayre Mansion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the gracious hospitality and modern comforts of the Sayre Mansion, circa 1858. We're Bethlehem's favorite boutique hotel offering luxurious accommodations, historic charm, Free WIFI and a delicious complimentary Innkeeper's breakfast daily. Whether your visit to the Lehigh Valley is for business, pleasure or a romantic escape, you will love the Sayre Mansion's meticulously restored guest suites and rooms, private event venues and our attention to detail. The Sayre Mansion is footsteps from Lehigh University, St. Luke's Hospital, the Steel Stacks Performing Arts Center and the excitement of the Sands Casino. Plus, we are close to many corporate headquarters, Lehigh Valley Airport and the areas best restaurants. Make the most of your visit to the Lehigh Valley. Enjoy the experience of the Sayre Mansion, Bethlehem's favorite boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Sayre Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sayre Mansion Hotel Bethlehem
Sayre Mansion Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing