We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very well run small hotel/B&B centrally located for visits to Lehigh University.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sayre Mansion Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Bethlehem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
616 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 388 helpful votes
“Very well run small hotel/B&B centrally located for visits to Lehigh University.”
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

This is an exceptionally well run establishment for this type of B&B. It doesn't try to just be kitschy, but is a well equipped comfortable hotel. Judging from some of the complaints on tripadvisor , my advice would to be to select your room carefully. As I was traveling midweek alone on business, I wasn't particularly picky. I was first shown to a lovely modern room with stylish modern decor (a bit more to my liking) than to a larger traditionally decorated suite style room, after the proprietor decided the heat wasn't working in the first room. My second room was spacious and surprisingly quiet for the location. Although the internal heater was very noisy. There was no bathtub, but the small bathroom had everything I needed. The rooms are very well thought out with modern details for comfort and utility. I especially appreciated that both rooms had white linens , good pillows and were made for sleeping, although an extra blanket would have been nice. Breakfast was ample with a lot of selections, but certainly not memorable. Fruit, granola, cereals, omelette, French toast, hot cereal and an unimpressive selection of baked goods. All served in a lovely breakfast room with a fire in the hearth and very friendly service. I am generally not a big fan of B&B's but the proximity to Lehigh University was important for me and I am not a fan of the nearby Comfort Suites. Parking is easy. This is a much better option when visiting campus.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma'smum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    54
    18
    5
    1
See reviews for
40
153
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This lovely B&B is in the hear of Bethlehem, PA but it creates its own elegance so that inside, you forget you are in a city. Our room was very spacious, handsomely furnished with comfortable beds.
We found all the staff to be pleasant and quite helpful. Breakfast was delicious with many options to choose from. A wonderful stay - will definitely return. Bethlehem is a fun place to visit and this is the perfect place to use as your overnight home away from home.

Room Tip: Our room was 26- did not see other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendersender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The Sayre Mansion was a great place to stay, particularly for visiting Lehigh University. The innkeepers were delightful, and were very helpful in directing us to various spots in the town. Delicious breakfast. Centrally located, actually on a busy street, but traffic noise was not an issue.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Idmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malvern, pa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

lovely and cozy room....did not see any ghosts....an actual guest accidentally was confused and opened our door by mistake....she was so embarrassed........was in room 23....great view ......surprise was breakfast....so nice and comforting....would definitely go back....enjoyed history of hotel and Bethlehem

Room Tip: room 24 is supposed to be haunted
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patricia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were expecting the place to be a little "kitschy", but were happy it was not. The place appears to be well maintained and kept up with the times (meaning not super-dated feeling like some other b&bs do). The breakfast staff was actually a waitstaff and the service was quick and delicious!

Not being from the area, we didn't know what to expect with the town. This place is really close to the "south side" of town (the artsy area) and an easy drive (or in nice weather: walk) to downtown and the historic districts. It definitely gives the feeling of being in-town yet still out-of-town. It's right next to the bridge on a major route, but traffic noise wasn't bad at all. Our room was on the corner by the bridge which offered a nice view.

We are about to go on a tour of the place to show us the history and the building's old wine cellar. You can check our other reviews for nearby restaurants that were fantastic too!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dreamWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

A romantic place to stay. The best breakfast. I never eat pastries but even I found the baked goods too tempting. Innkeeper is lovely and so helpful. I would love to return and stay in one of the larger rooms. We stayed in a small room, tucked away and very private. The view of the town was impressive. My husband and I were so glad we had the chance to get away and have some quiet time.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank summertime0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

If I could write something more complimentary I would. I thoroughly LOVED the place. The food was beyond outstanding. The hospitality could not be better. The bed and the furniture made me feel like I was in a guest suite at the White House. The blinds kept out the early sun so I could sleep. The towels were soft and inviting. I loved the shower and the soaps/shampoos/creams. The smell was calming but not overwhelming.
I guess I gushed enough. It is a wonderful place!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LEvans1056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethlehem hotels
0.5 mi away
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
#1 of 14 in Bethlehem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
#3 of 14 in Bethlehem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sands Casino Resort
Sands Casino Resort
#8 of 14 in Bethlehem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#13 of 14 in Bethlehem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bethlehem
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bethlehem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sayre Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sayre Mansion Inn

Property: The Sayre Mansion Inn
Address: 250 Wyandotte St, Bethlehem, PA 18015-1216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bethlehem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sayre Mansion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the gracious hospitality and modern comforts of the Sayre Mansion, circa 1858. We're Bethlehem's favorite boutique hotel offering luxurious accommodations, historic charm, Free WIFI and a delicious complimentary Innkeeper's breakfast daily. Whether your visit to the Lehigh Valley is for business, pleasure or a romantic escape, you will love the Sayre Mansion's meticulously restored guest suites and rooms, private event venues and our attention to detail. The Sayre Mansion is footsteps from Lehigh University, St. Luke's Hospital, the Steel Stacks Performing Arts Center and the excitement of the Sands Casino. Plus, we are close to many corporate headquarters, Lehigh Valley Airport and the areas best restaurants. Make the most of your visit to the Lehigh Valley. Enjoy the experience of the Sayre Mansion, Bethlehem's favorite boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your The Sayre Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sayre Mansion Hotel Bethlehem
Sayre Mansion Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing