We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food and Service. Ambience lacking” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emeril's Chop House

Emeril's Chop House
Ranked #29 of 348 Restaurants in Bethlehem
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: East Third Street
Description: Tempt your palate with distinctive culinary creations at Emeril's premier restaurant on the East Coast.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service. Ambience lacking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Food is mostly a la carte. Expensive. Good Quality. Excellent service. Entrance to the Restaurant in inside the Sands Casino. Ambience a bit lacking...somewhat sterile. However, food is worth the trip!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marb E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    75
    67
    34
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“WE WON'T BE GOING BACK”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

This restaurant is in a local Sands Casino. It was suppose to be the best and probably the most expensive restaurant when it opened. The night we were there was aSaturday, but it was not crowded, There a few big tables and alot of people coming in off the casinp floor. We were celebrating wedding anniversries with som friends. We were seated and waited a good 10 minutes before a waiter showed up asking for our orders. We had not even looked at the menu, since we were waiting to ask for a wine list. When we informed the waiter that we would like to have a cocktail, it was like oh ok. Then it was even more tjme till we got our drinks. We ordered our food and had already decided to forgo appetizers, due to the lousy servicewe were experiencing. We again waited endlessly for our entrees, which magically appeared after I stated in a voice loud enough to be heard by a hoovering buss persom, that it was ridiculos to wait this long when they were not even crowded. My husband and I were sharing a filet since the sizes were huge .We could tell immediatly that it had been sitting under the lights because the blood was dried on the plate. The beef was dried out from sitting and was barely warm. It only got worse. We ordered creme brulee for dessert and when we tasted it, it had turned. I called the waiter back, told him to take it away, and off the bill and get back to the kitchenand tell the chef to toss any more that he had because they were bad and he might make someone sick. Needless to say we were disgusted with the servic, food and the overall lack of apology. We vowed never to go back and we haven't.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mareandphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
74 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A great treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Service and food here are of a high standard. The ribeye steak I had was possibly the best ever; cooked perfectly with some wonderful marbelling. We particularly enjoyed the busy atmosphere of the restaurant which gave it a certain buzz without being too noisy or overbearing.

I know from experience that paying good money for this kind of experience can often be disappointing. When you are buying a $50 steak it better be good or the whole night is a waste. But our visit was perfect and I really can't think of anything to mark them down on.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VT4Me2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, NC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Locally Sourced and Well Prepared”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

We've eaten here a few times now and every time has been a wonderful experience. The food, whenever possible, is locally sourced. Everything, from salad and appetizer to main course and dessert, is worth the money.

Their staff is very good at reading a table, giving efficient but unobtrusive service when appropriate and being a little more chatty when that is appropriate as well but never crossing the line. On the one occasion when the waiter had to come back and tell me they'd just sold out of the special dessert I'd been so excited to order, he and the manager on duty at the time were very apologetic and professional.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KateR-S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndhurst, New Jersey
Level Contributor
70 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Everyone has a bad day.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

As you know everyone has a bad day. Saturday night the restaurant was loud and busy. Our servers were friendly and courteous but service was lacking. Staff appeared to be stretched too thin. Not sure if our section had too many tables seated at one time or maybe they just needed more staff. The kitchen was completely off. All the entrees came out room temperature and 2 of 4 dishes were overcooked. We sent 1 back and they did take it off the check. We didn't ask for another dish as too much time had passed. I've been here 5 or 6 times and never had an issue. I will try it again and hope things are back to normal.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bjm1271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emeril's Chop House also viewed

 

Been to Emeril's Chop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing