We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit underwhelming”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Christkindlmarkt

Christkindlmarkt
Ranked #8 of 40 things to do in Bethlehem
Attraction details
Macungie, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
368 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“A bit underwhelming”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

First of all it was a rainy day and the second tent has major leaking problems. There are not enough true Christmas displays like the namesake markets on Germany. It is very much another craft show with some Christmas stuff thrown in. Not sure where dog biscuits and frozen wine drinks fit the theme. It is a large craft show but not a Christmas show as such. On the plus side you can find the traditional nutcrackers and smoking men and such that you have in Germany. Still I wanted more variety and more Christmas and less of the standard flea market faire.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    43
    38
    26
    20
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
108 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Annual tradition - unique gift items”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

My husband and I take an entire day to go to Christkindlmarkt each year. We enjoy looking at all the crafter's items and try to get unique gifts for family and friends. Although this event occurs over the course of a month during November-December, there are some crafters that are not there EVERY weekend, but most are there the entire time. There are also some crafters that have been there every year we've been going (about 5 years now). We did quite well this year gift-wise and the day was very nice! We got there about 12:30 p.m. today (Friday), and spent most of the day there (we left at 5:30 p.m.). The only downside of this event is that parking is so far away. It would be a lot nicer if the parking was closer, especially on rainy days like today! (We didn't bring an umbrella!). We do highly recommend going on a Friday rather than a Saturday or Sunday because it is much more crowded on those days.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsgfhjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem
Level Contributor
216 reviews
132 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Christkindlmart....Holiday Extravaganza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

My Husband and I just went there last night. It is part of a tradition in our town/city every year. The location at the steel stacks is easy to get to and park. Most of the vendors are in huge heated tents and some who brave the cold outside selling their goods . Displays of exquisite Christmas items not usual seen, along with other beautiful and interesting items. One tent has regular vendors ,food vendors , and entertainment. Outside there is also Glass Blowing Displays along with Vendors selling them and an Ice Carving Display. You can buy Christmas trees and also buy a ride with a fancy Horse Drawn Carriage. There is a entrance fee. However...most items you see with the vendors are expensive. It depends on what stand you go to and know your prices on them. Keep in mind, this is not fleamarket prices. It's a special Christmas Market that parents bring their children to see every year in Bethlehem. And it's beautiful!!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank oceancitylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillipsburg, New Jersey
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not that exciting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

I was really excited about going to Christkindlmrkt based on the reviews but upon arrival, I didn't find it half as exciting as I expected. There were two tents set up and an outdoor display with interesting products but the products being sold were quite expensive. The average price of a beaded necklace was about $50. The things being sold were nice, but I could get a better deal and see a wider selection at a mall. The food was sold from stands similar to the ones at a sporting event. I didn't try any of the food so I can't comment on whether it was good. In terms of entertainment, there was a band playing which was nice but for an entry fee of $8, I didn't think the event was worth attending.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Tarika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
99 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Day in The Christmas City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Christkindlemarkt is now over on the South Side of Bethlehem, they have about 125 crafters and all the stuff is handmade no Chinese stuff. There is a place there to relax and eat and listen to music. When you are done shopping there drive or take a trolly over to Main St. in Bethlehem and check out the little shops along the Main St. There are carriage rides, great restaurants, and some interesting stores to go into along with tours of the Historic part of the city. You can easily spend a full day plus you also have the Sands casino. Candles at all the windows in the neighborhood and one weekend there is a live nativity. A safe place to walk and it really puts you in the Christmas spirit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Susie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christkindlmarkt also viewed

 

Been to Christkindlmarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing