We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that exciting”
Review of Christkindlmarkt

Christkindlmarkt
Ranked #8 of 41 things to do in Bethlehem
Attraction details
Phillipsburg, New Jersey
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not that exciting”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I was really excited about going to Christkindlmrkt based on the reviews but upon arrival, I didn't find it half as exciting as I expected. There were two tents set up and an outdoor display with interesting products but the products being sold were quite expensive. The average price of a beaded necklace was about $50. The things being sold were nice, but I could get a better deal and see a wider selection at a mall. The food was sold from stands similar to the ones at a sporting event. I didn't try any of the food so I can't comment on whether it was good. In terms of entertainment, there was a band playing which was nice but for an entry fee of $8, I didn't think the event was worth attending.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Tarika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    43
    39
    26
    20
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
99 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Day in The Christmas City”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Christkindlemarkt is now over on the South Side of Bethlehem, they have about 125 crafters and all the stuff is handmade no Chinese stuff. There is a place there to relax and eat and listen to music. When you are done shopping there drive or take a trolly over to Main St. in Bethlehem and check out the little shops along the Main St. There are carriage rides, great restaurants, and some interesting stores to go into along with tours of the Historic part of the city. You can easily spend a full day plus you also have the Sands casino. Candles at all the windows in the neighborhood and one weekend there is a live nativity. A safe place to walk and it really puts you in the Christmas spirit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Susie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fun time shopping”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We visit every year. A great way to get into the holiday spirit. Good food, live entertainment and lots of shopping. A nice way to support many local small businesses and causes in the area. Maybe not as much fun as travelling to Germany for the real thing - but lots closer to home and cheaper too.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank SNF-Nelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately real there were fewer real craftsmen than in the past. It seems like there are more stands where less expensive items made in factories (not even American made) are being sold.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Christkindlmarkt is back for its 21st year and is just as exciting as ever. There are some excellent artisans in the crafter tent this year, including some new vendors. Also new this year are the children's playhouses in the courtyard. Kathe Wahlfahrt's stand is a must see every year. The tents were clean and well lighted, although it was so cold outside on our visit that it was cold in the tents too. It's guaranteed to raise your Christmas spirits!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Iva F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christkindlmarkt also viewed

 

Been to Christkindlmarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing