We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a veal eater”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Molinari's

Molinari's
Ranked #25 of 347 Restaurants in Bethlehem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
99 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not a veal eater”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Went there one time and if the meal was not veal then most everything else had a veal glaze, stock or sauce. Forget what we finally ordered but I know we went away hungry. Will not take a chance and go back. I don't eat veal or anything with veal in it, glaze sauce or whatever. Menu may have changed have not been there since it opened and will not take the chance and go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    38
    14
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitehall, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Refreshing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Too many restaurants build their image solely around their food. My wife and I have been to Molinari's on several occasions, and one thing that stands out is the fact that their drive for perfection is not limited to the, albeit simply outstanding, food and menu. Obviously, the food is out of this world, from fresh pasta to premise-made gelato. The service is amazing and, more importantly, consistent. The craft-style bar is, at the very least, interesting even to the most skeptical customer. The sommelier is probably the most knowledgeable (for Italian wines, at least) and friendly that we've ever come across (my wife likes to tell the story of when she watched 'young pony tail boy' talk through the entire red wine list, wine by wine, region by region, with a customer sitting near us, simply because they asked). Even the cleanliness can't go unnoticed: the bathrooms are always in pristine condition. Will return soon!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JRadzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, New York, United States
Level Contributor
85 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A bit pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Only place close to where we were staying. It was late evening and we had no choice. Found menu not to my liking and prices a bit high for the area. Best thing was the dipping oil and bread pieces.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Food Heaven...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

I've just recently written a review on Molinari's last month, but couldn't resist weighing in again on a terrific restaurant! Super service, great table this time, this restaurant is really a gem.

Great Manhattan and other cocktails...Started with the special white pizza with broccoli, then two of us had salads and one the mussels which were terrific. I had the corn meal calamari with pesto aioli - this was the best calamari I've ever eaten! Followed up with the pork chop, terrific as always and others enjoyed pastas and the salmon. One highlight - in between the pizza and our appetizers, the kitchen sent out crostini with goat cheese and apples - wow, delicious!

No room for dessert - maybe we better start there first next time!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WalGreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coopersburg pa
Level Contributor
194 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Real Italian in Bethlehem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Forget your typical spaghetti house; dine at Molinari's for authentic Italian dishes made with local, fresh, seasonal ingredients. We have never, ever had bad service or a bad meal. The staff is extremely knowledgeable of every dish on the menu, attentive, never intrusive. I always get the arugula salad. The additions to the arugula salad vary by what is locally available and in season; always very good. Pizzas have unique toppings and a delicious, thin, crispy crust. Meals are available in full or half portions, which is a plus for the smaller appetite. If you prefer a quieter atmosphere, get there early. It gets very loud when the restaurant is filled; which is most of the time. Reservations on the weekend are a must. This is a New York style restaurant in the small city of Bethlehem. Top quality in every way. Highly recommend!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Molinari's also viewed

 

Been to Molinari's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing