We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Concert Venue Ever”
Review of SteelStacks

SteelStacks
Ranked #1 of 41 things to do in Bethlehem
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: SteelStacks is a ten-acre campus in Bethlehem, PA, dedicated to arts, culture, family events, community celebrations, education and fun. The campus is in the shadow of the blast furnaces of the former Bethlehem Steel plant.
West Chester, Pa.
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best Concert Venue Ever”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

The Bethlehem Steel Stack Musikfest Cafe is an example of how everything can be done to perfection. The cafe itself is just one small portion of the complex, which offers a casino, moviehouse, outdoor concert area under the stars, and more. There is free parking, but arrive early; it fills up fast. The traffic is really congested also. Tickets were $42, not including dinner. Purchase of a minimum of $10 worth of food is mandatory. It is well worth the price, believe me.

The cafe itself is located on the 3rd floor of the building. It features 2 bars: one at either end of the hall, and tables for dining and listening. The tables have plenty of room between them, and you don't get the feeling you are crammed in. There is plenty of room to move around. The stage is visible from any locatrion in the hall, and there is also a balcony. The sound system is excellent. This place attracts really good acts because performers love it there. My son and I ate dinner while watching a terrific musical act: the legendary John Mayall and his band. The backdrop to the concert was an impressive view of the Bethlehem Steel stacks, lit up at night, and visible through a large glass wall.

I ordered salt-crusted Tilapia with a ginger/chick pea sauce, which was excellent. My son enjoyed his burger and fries. There are lots of light munchies on the menu, for those who aren't quite as hungry. Our waitress really took great care of us without being intrusive. We left her a gererous tip.

After the show, Mr. Mayall signed autographs at a table by the front door, and posed for a picture with my son! What a great evening! I can't wait to go back.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank blindlemon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    135
    27
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NE USA
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
134 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“History, music, cinema, food, farmer's market, shopping - it's all here!”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Website Artsquest.com outlines the latest offerings - from insight to the local history to exposure to quality entertainment, free concerts of a variety of bands, special entertainment venues geared towards kids/families, intimate comfty movie theaters, what a great spot in the Lehigh Valley! They have done a quality job of creating a wide variety of musical entertainment (both free concerts & ticketed).
Definitely a place to take advantage of, whether visiting or if you live in the area.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ThePBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneonta, New York
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Place to Visit while in Bethlehem”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I know there is allot of different things to do at Steelstacks. My main focus of my visit was photography. This is a huge complex they have a lot of things you can do here. I enjoyed taking pictures of the blast furnaces they are mega huge. The complex is right on the Lehigh River. This is a perfect place for a very industrial photo shoot. This area was the home of Bethlehem Steel from 1857–2003. What an amazing place. I wish I had spent more time in this area. You could easily spend a day or two here as a photographer. I would recommend anyone interested in visual arts or music to plan a visit here. Go on there website.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank WBevanW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
1,971 reviews
1,084 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,918 helpful votes
“The major entertainment venue in the Lehigh Valley”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

In a few years the area around the old Bethlem Steel has become awonderful place to go for entertainment. From spring into the fall there are many free outdoor concerts and many music festivals ( some free some you pay for). There are also paid indoor concerts and a movie theater that shows art house films. There is also a gift shop and small cafe for food. If you go to a concert at the Leavitt Pavilion in front of the stacks bring your own chairs. Parking is free but at a popular event it can get tight.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pnemiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Visit to the new Arts Quest Center Bethlehem PA-Steel Stacks”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

WOW all I could say is WOW!!!
Great job on the development from the casino, hotel, I just went to the new cinema. This is a great attraction added to Bethlehem. Loved the Mike and Ike refreshment center within the center. The sundry shop was amazing, and there is a bar there as well to watch sports.

I will continue to come.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank lou_blackstonescafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SteelStacks also viewed

 

Been to SteelStacks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing