We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steel Stacks ....Amazing Renovations And a Must See Happenings”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of SteelStacks

SteelStacks
Ranked #1 of 40 things to do in Bethlehem
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: SteelStacks is a ten-acre campus in Bethlehem, PA, dedicated to arts, culture, family events, community celebrations, education and fun. The campus is in the shadow of the blast furnaces of the former Bethlehem Steel plant.
Bethlehem
Level Contributor
216 reviews
132 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Steel Stacks ....Amazing Renovations And a Must See Happenings”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I always was curious about the Steel Stacks and all the History behind the factory buildings/steel mills. We decided to check it out during Christkindle Mart. At the time they had big tents up for the event. I was in awe of the buildings and steel stacks. Great architecture! They are restoring this wonderful old building and have built one modern building for events and theater called the Arts Quest Center. In it is the Alehouse Cinema, gift shop, cafe with food and drinks, events in the open foyer, comedy night on the second floor and live events there. On the staircase going up a great photos on the railing...interesting. Renovations are still in progress in the whole are but great to see. Outside in front of the Steel Stacks is outdoor Concert Stages. Last event I was at was Peepsfest ...December/New Years. Bethlehem is the home of Just Borne that makes the famous Peeps Candy. They even had the Peeps Mobile and a Relay Race going on at the same time. Steel Stacks is a great place for events. Right down the road is Sands Hotel and Sand Casino so you can stay at the hotel, gamble and check out steel stacks too.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank oceancitylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    130
    25
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
123 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“If you don't know...Go!”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

You gotta check it out. As a local Bethlehem resident, I was excited that someone wanted to do something with the old Steel Mill(That's right, Steel Stacks is appropriately named). The property is great with Levitt Pavillion showcasing live music in front of it's great lawn and industrial back-drop. Steel stacks features live music in the lobby area, on the patio, and in the Cafe for events/shows. There is a movie theater shows some non-conventional stuff like John Hughes night or the Rocky Horror Picture Show. They also have comedy night on the second floor and live events in the theater. We have really enjoyed every piece of this property since it opened. Now with the events center opening, it will give even more options to go out and experience great shows. Remember to visit the Sands casino which is a quick walk down the complex and get some great food/drink and more live music at Molten and St. James Gate.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Aero-Yeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Concert Venue - Musikfest Cafe”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

I see a lot of concerts in a lot of different places, but SteelStacks/Musikfest cafe is the one place where I will choose the band BECAUSE of the venue. Absolutely love it here! A place where you can comfortably lounge and socialize before and after the show without having to scream in the ears of your friends in order to be heard. Good drink selections that can be carried ALL OVER the venue - upstairs downstairs, etc. I don't know what kind of liquor license they have, but I rarely see freedom to walk around with your alcohol as you do in this place.

The stage is nice and high and located so that the performers can be seen from every corner of the room. And the room itself is a nice size - enough to accomodate an enthusiastic crowd, but small enough to maintain that intimate feel

Of course, this would all be for nothing if it were not for the abundance of class musical acts that they attract. Indy acts that one would usually have to travel to Philly or NY to see are making stops now in Bethlehem - I love it. Best of all, I have seen at least 5 shows here and without fail, every single time, the artist comments about how much they love the place as well.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank CKay87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
361 reviews
152 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Urban Cool”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

This is a very very very urban cool type venue. Just attended an event on the second and third floors. The food was nicely presented and fine. The staff was very efficient and courteous. The location had a feel which I believe is unusual in the Lehigh Valley. It is a kind of modern urban rough edged sophistication. The rooms' view of the Bethlehem Steel Furnaces was dramatic and artfully done. The rooms were spacious and airy - if appropriately cold. The sound system was top notch. The whole facility was unique, functional and complimented the setting in a thoughtful and effective way. It is a real Bethlehem Steel signature arrangement. The ambient music was sophisticated. Kudos to the designers.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BBBBTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“AWESOME HIDDEN GEM”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Saw a a great show in artsquest musikfest. and christmas market and light show on the steel stacks was great. Fun time DON'T MISS THIS LITTLE HIDDEN GEM IN TOWN.,, FUN FOR ALL AGES.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Robby7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SteelStacks also viewed

 

Been to SteelStacks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing