We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay at a Pet Friendly Historic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2014

We had a nice evening at the Hotel Bethlehem. We were excited to be upgraded at check in to a corner suite. We had our dog staying with us we were so impressed with the pet-friendly facilities. The hotel put a dog bed, bowls, treats, and poo bags in the room for us - a very nice touch to welcome our pup to the hotel. The staff, from bellmen to check in counter were friendly and professional. It looked like our room was cleaned after the last use, probably a few days prior to our arrival, and wasn't checked on as there were some dead fruit flies on the counter in the bathroom. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Hotel Bethlehem and should we find ourselves back in Bethlehem PA will likely return to the hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2014

Hi David W,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am glad we were able to upgrade you to one of our Corner Suites. They have fantastic views of Bethlehem. We are pleased to hear that you both enjoyed your stay. It is also nice to know that your pup enjoyed the amenities that we put in the room. I would like to apologize for the housekeeping issue that you encountered. I have shared this with our Executive Housekeeper and she in turn is reviewing it with her staff to ensure this does not happen in the future.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,021)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

524 - 530 of 1,021 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2014

Through ancestry.com, I learned my forefathers settled in Lehigh County, PA. I stayed at the beautiful Hotel Bethlehem. The service was impeccable. The staff was attentive and the room was lovely !! The hotel is located where the original first town structures were. The hotel and the city of Bethlehem have a history that should be explored. The dining room at the hotel is pricey and if you're alone, you're sometimes forgotten. Not comfortable having to motion for my waiter every time I needed something. Food was delicious though. I walked the cobblestones and visited the many Moravian museums and cemeteries. I traveled the Bethlehem Historic Trail route. I also drove to Allentown, Nazareth and through the surrounding countrysides to see 7 covered bridges. The Moravian Bookstore is the oldest continuous bookstore in the U.S. It was right across the street from the hotel. Also the Colonial Industrial Park is right outside the hotel. It features many old homes and businesses from an earlier time. Most of the Moravian museums are only open on the weekends. I loved my time there. It was peaceful and serene. I could imagine my forefathers living there. A block away is the Bethlehem Visitor Center. They were happy to assist me in any way. Make sure you have a GPS. Much easier to get around. :)

Room Tip: Ask to face the "Star of Bethlehem".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Musictchr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2014

Hi Musictchr2,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel while you explored the Lehigh Valley. It sounds like you were able to do quite a bit of sightseeing and were able to connect with your forefathers as well. We are happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. I would like to apologize for the service shortfall that you experienced while dining in one of our restaurants. We appreciate the feedback. I have shared your comments with our Director of Restaurants so she may review it with her team to prevent this from happening in the future.

Thank you again! We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to experience the high standard of service that we have become known for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2014

My husband and I had our wedding reception at Hotel Bethlehem on Aug 16 2014. I had always dreamed of having my wedding there since I was a little girl. It was everything I had dreamed of! The ballroom looked beautiful! The staff was so friendly and helpful. The wedding ran like a well oiled machine. If anything went wrong, no one was able to tell. The following morning, the staff helped us load everything into the car. It was a wonderful experience and I couldn't have asked for a more perfect wedding day!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Cassie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2014

Hi Cassie R,

Congratulations to you and your Husband! It was truly an honor to share your special day with you. We are thrilled to hear that we were able to provide you with the wedding of your dreams. Weddings are one of our many specialties. It is our job to make sure your day is worry free!

Thank you for choosing us! We hope to see you soon…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2014

We were coming to Bethlehem to visit the Universities in the area. We booked this hotel at the almost last minute. We then arrived during Musikfest, which was quite a shock. First off the street was jammed with people, but luckily the police pointed the way and the hotel had two staff on the street directing us into the entrance (thanks!). On entering the hotel we felt like we were on the set of 'The Grand Budapest Hotel'. Beautiful turn of the century lobby, complete with the 'bell hops' and the old elevators. Given the party atmosphere outside I was a bit concerned, but inside was calm, even though they had a live performer playing as well. The staff were all very pleasant and informative. Somehow despite our late booking we were given a corner suite room on the top floor which had a great view of the city and the action below. Thankfully (amazingly?), it had non of the noise. The room was very comfortable and pleasantly furnished. The bathroom was of more modern vintage. And the WiFi worked... at least in the separate suite area... bit of a stretch to the bed though. My only negative would be that the ceiling was cracked and needing a fresh coat of something...it brought down the overall feel of the room a bit, but that is really just finding fault...Keeping up with repairs in an old hotel must be a bit of a nightmare and I give full credit to the management and staff for what they have done with this grand old lady. Looking around, there were at least two function rooms off the lobby, which were quite lovely.... I can see why people have their weddings there. We had breakfast in the dining area, which was very nice... very pleasant service. I can say that I never expected to find such a property in Bethlehem. Not taking time to search, we almost stayed at a chain hotel... what a mistake that would have been. We would go back... I'd even consider a special trip if I lived relatively near-by.

On a related note, we took the opportunity to attend some of the Musikfest events and I really have to give the City full credit for their organization; crowd control; and clean-up. On the first item, there really was a lot of people and a lot of alcohol... usually this will spell disaster eventually and I saw in the newspaper that they do have some issues. That said,the crowd that I saw was friendly and just out to have a good time listening to music... either as a result, or maybe because of that, the police presence is mostly off on the side (people do not mess with mounted police), or at the end of the street, consequentially it all has a good vibe. The street in front of the hotel on that night must have attracted every teenager for a hundred miles... but kids gotta have fun too and they seemed well behaved for the most part. Amazingly, the next morning, the entire main city area was spotless... no trash, no smells, no nothing... really amazing. Well done Bethlehem! And great job Hotel Bethlehem.

Room Tip: Corner suite was great... and no street noise on teh high floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EricW4555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2014

Hi ErichH45,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to the local Universities. We are pleased to hear that everyone enjoyed their stay. As you mentioned we are in the located in the heart of MusikFest. It is nice to know that you and your family were able to enjoy and take part in the festival.

Thank you again! We hope you chose a University in the area. We look forward to welcoming you back…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2014

My new husband and I stayed here for our mini-Honeymoon and plan on making this an anniversary tradition! The hotel is a 20-minute drive to Dorney Park, and within walking distance to some great restaurants. What we love about this place is that it brings the grandeur and luxury of the old turn of the century hotels to guests at an affordable rate. The bathrooms have real marble, the towels are soft, and the beds are comfortable. They even provide bath robes!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Hi Rachael H,

Congratulations to you and your husband! We are honored that you chose to stay with us for your mini-Honeymoon! Thank you for sharing your experience. We are happy to hear that you both enjoyed your time with us.

We are looking forward to being a part of your Anniversary tradition! Until next time...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Giving this establishment 5 stars would be like calling California kitchen a gourmet Restraunt. Consistently great food, never disappointed but not top of the line. When we visit our daughter at Lehigh univ. We always prefer to stay here. The service is great and the ambiance is warm and quaint. The rooms are spacious and we'll appointed. The bathrooms are top rate and recently renovated. This is the best of Bethlehem but the hotel Hershey is 5 stars.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank StevenPhillipson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Hi Steven P,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. Our staff strives to provide a great experience for each and every guest. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next trip to see your daughter at Lehigh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014

I have been going to Musikfest for eight years and this year decided to stay at the Hotel Bethlehem. I have been in the hotel many times before and was VERY excited to stay there. Above all, I was satisfied, very comfortable bed, great blackout curtains. Wonderful night of sleep. The only advice I would give is to avoid ordering food late night at the bar, I ordered two courses of food at midnight and it was not brought out until 1:30, after the lights were turned on!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Hi Valerie C,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for letting us know about your experience. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room and had a great night sleep. I would like to apologize for the service shortfall you experienced while you were a guest at our bar. I have shared your comments with our Executive Chef and Director of Restaurants so they can prevent this happening in the future.

Thank you again! We hope to welcome you back next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethlehem hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
#4 of 14 in Bethlehem
947 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bethlehem
1.2 mi away
Sands Casino Resort
Sands Casino Resort
#8 of 14 in Bethlehem
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Courtyard Bethlehem Lehigh Valley/I-78
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bethlehem
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#13 of 14 in Bethlehem
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Hotel Bethlehem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Hotel Bethlehem

Address: 437 Main St, Bethlehem, PA 18018-5808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Price Range: $185 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Historic Hotel Bethlehem 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Historic Hotel Bethlehem in downtown Bethlehem PA in the heart of the Lehigh Valley, just minutes from Allentown and Easton, Pennsylvania, Lehigh University, Moravian College, Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem and a 10 minute drive from the Lehigh Valley International Airport (ABE). We are conveniently located in the heart of the historic district that surrounds our hotel in Bethlehem Embrace our beautifully decorated and newly renovated historic Bethlehem hotel. Come experience world-class service, charming guest accommodations, elegantly appointed lobby and common areas, beautiful yet efficient banquet and meeting facilities, and Award winning cuisine. We proudly continue the tradition of Bethlehem hospitality that began by the Moravians who first settled here in 1741. Come experience this hospitality at our Historic Hotel Bethlehem.Restored to its original 1922 grandeur, Historic Hotel Bethlehem's floor-to-ceiling palladium windows provide dramatic views of the historic shopping district just outside our front doors. Seven large murals were painted by George Gray in 1937 to depict the history of Bethlehem. These beautiful murals currently adorn the walls of the Mural Ballroom. One of the larger murals retells the story of how Count Zinzendorf and other early settlers named the city of Bethlehem on Christmas Eve in 1741. This event took place in a crude cabin on the site now occupied by our Award winning hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Historic Hotel Bethlehem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing