We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Musikfest Heaven!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Historic Hotel Bethlehem

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Certificate of Excellence
Fogelsville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Musikfest Heaven!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

Just experienced Musikfest 2014 at its best! Stayed two nights at The Historic Hotel Bethlehem right in the heart of the festival. Total convenience plus total quality equals a fantastic experience! Not cheap but definitely worth the indulgence.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JHACBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Hi Jeff A,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us while you attended MusikFest. Our location can’t be beat if you want to take advantage of everything the festival and Hotel has to offer. We are happy to hear that you had a great time during your stay.

We hope to welcome you back for MusikFest 2015!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    652
    194
    53
    18
    14
See reviews for
247
309
33
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

What a wonderful weekend we had. We arrived and Cameron at the Front Desk was so professional and very welcoming. He is a great asset to the hotel. Brunch was great - really an impressive display of food. We sat at the Tap Room (1741 Restaurant was full). Francois and Nina were absolute delight. Very attentive to all guests. Suite upgrade was so much appreciated. Thank you, Alice. The town itself was a discovery. If you are a history buff, there is so much to learn and see in this town from the Moravians who established this town to Bethlehem Steel. Very relaxing weekend.

Room Tip: Corner Suites will let you see the views of the hills and parks farther out and rooms facing the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thelma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Hi Thelma L,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us! We truly appreciate the wonderful review and are pleased that you truly enjoyed yourselves. There is so much to see and do just steps from the Hotel. We are located in the heart of Historic Moravian Bethlehem, A National Historic Landmark District. Thank you for mentioning our Musical Sunday Brunch. We were named one of the top 100 brunches in the country by OpenTable. I have also shared your comments with Cameron, Alice, Francois, and Nina. They are all great assets to our team.

Thank you! We hope to see you soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

Unknown to us, we had reserved our room at the Historic Hotel Bethlehem for the first weekend in "Musikfest", an annual mega-event, by Lehigh Valley standards. This is one of those events where people carry large mugs from venue to venue, refilling the mugs with beer as they go. So we expected quite a bit of drunken revelry, with the attendant loud parties in neighboring rooms, beer bottles left lying around the premises, etc. However, we had no problems whatsoever. I was very impressed with the way the hotel was able to gently remind guests about "quiet hours", kept the entire place clean, and managed the hoards of people streaming through the lobby through most of the day. (The hotel hosted some events associated with Musikfest.) The fact that we had no issues over a weekend when the hotel was certainly stressed to its limits is testament to the fact that this is a very well-managed establishment. In addition, the rooms were lovely, and the restaurant very good. We were on a discount rate from Hotwire, so I wasn't surprised that our room was a little small, but it was perfectly adequate, well-appointed and clean. The bathroom is finished in marble and period fixtures. Robes were provided in the room. Downtown Bethlehem is charming - and would probably have been even more so on a less crowded weekend. For those either looking to attend or avoid Musikfest, it starts the first weekend in August and runs for 10 days.

Room Tip: Upper floors have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillH_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Hi GillH_MD,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We appreciate your comments and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you mentioned you were here during MusikFest. Every year we have several meetings leading up to the festival to ensure that we are prepared (it is all hands on deck) and able to ensure that everything runs smoothly with little to no impact on our hotel guests. We are a Historic Hotel. Some of our rooms are cozier than others. I assure you that we do not assign rooms based on where the reservation is coming from.

I would highly recommend staying with us again. There is so much to see and do right here in the Downtown area.

Thank you again! We hope to see you soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

This hotel is so quaint and stunning. The ambiance is second to none. The hotel has character galore. The only reason I am giving it a four store instead of a five star is because it does have some deferred maintenance around the building which is a shame because this hotel has the potential to be more than stunning. The rooms are very comfortable, the beds are comfortable and most of all they are very clean. The staff is very friendly and always available. They never seem understaffed. The hotel offers the Tap Room which has fantastic food and is lots of fun. The hotel also offers an ATM right in the building and a gift shop. Apparently they are remodeling on the lower level to include an ice cream shop. The location is fabulous because it is right in the center of a quaint town that boasts tons of shopping, restaurants and taverns! We have stayed here during Musikfest for the past 4 years and just love it. I would recommend it for anyone who is having a special venue like a wedding.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank O2968HZjcmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Hi O2968HZjcmc,

Thank you for staying with us and for being a loyal guest! We are in the perfect location for MusikFest, a good majority of the festival is just steps away. It is great to hear that overall you enjoy the hotel and everything that we have to offer. I would like to apologize for the maintenance issues that you encountered during your stay. Our General Manager is reviewing your comment with our Chief Engineer and Executive Housekeeper. They will be personally inspecting the rooms and taking care of any issues. Thank you for recommending us for weddings. We love hosting events for any occasion.

Thank you for sharing your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back for MusikFest 2015!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

This was our first experience staying at Historic Hotel Bethlehem in Bethlehem Pennsylvania! The hotel itself is simply stunning but yet it is also very warm and welcoming! Our room was cozy and elegant! It is located right in the heart of downtown with so many restaurants and taverns! There are darling shops to browse! The Tap Room is a fantastic restaurant and bar! Such lovely people at every turn within this hotel! We were greeted by a lovely lady and the grand time began there! I cant say enough good things about this hotel! We will look forward to our next stay in the future!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Hi Kay F,

Welcome to the Hotel! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased to hear that you both enjoyed your stay. It is our goal to ensure that you feel welcome and at home from start to finish. I am happy that we did just that.

Thank you! We cannot wait to welcome you back…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmaus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

We got married at Hotel Bethlehem over the weekend. We had a large wedding of 200, and brought in a large amount of items for the reception. The staff at Hotel Bethlehem was more than accommodating. Their efforts made for an absolutely perfect wedding.

The hotel rooms were immaculate and all of our guests enjoyed their stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lomalley32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Hi Lomalley32,

Congratulations! Thank you for choosing us to host your Wedding. We were honored to share in your special day. It is nice to hear that everything was perfect. Our staff takes great pride in ensuring that your day is as worry free as possible.

Thank you again! We hope to see you soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, NJ
Level Contributor
86 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

I have mixed feelings about writing this review. We got married there and have spent countless nights there during Musikfest. As such, this hotel holds a special place in our lives.

My wife and I just returned to the hotel to celebrate our 1 year anniversary and stayed in the same room as our wedding night. We stayed in an Executive Star View Suite for about $200 a night. While the room was clean, the room had some obvious signs of wear and tear that were also there the year before. Nothing had been done to fix it. As we walked around the room, we're like: "Oh yea, there's the missing wallpaper from last year", "there's that hole in the wall behind the shower." etc. I've attached pictures of the deferred maintenance. It includes stained couches and chairs, peeling paint throughout the ceiling, peeling, stained or torn wallpaper, and a bathroom door that won't open easily (Due to the lack of ventilation in the bathroom, the wood expands and won't open). When we had our wedding there in 2013, I visited my relatives in other rooms throughout the hotel and the standard rooms are in far worse in shape. I specifically remember my parent's room had a broken lamp and areas of missing wallpaper. All of the rooms that I've seen are generally clean but need some basic maintenance updates.

At $200 a night in a sleepy (yet beautiful) town like Bethlehem, you expect better quality that this hotel offers. Yes, we enjoy exploring the town, having a drink at the bar, and the lobby is very nice. However, any other hotel would have addressed the maintenance issues long ago. This is probably the most expensive hotel in town and it could be the nicest.

The other annoying thing is the parking. They charge $7/night for parking which we were not aware of until we checked out. The best part is that I couldn't actually park at the hotel on Saturday night as the lot was full. I parked on the street in front of the hotel.

To summarize, we love this hotel, but its going down the tubes. All they need to do is apply some fresh paint and fix some of maintenance issues to restore it to the quality that their reputation demands and deserves.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are closets. Upgrade to a suite to receive a normal sized hotel room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BobAdams111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Hi BobAdams111,

Happy Anniversary! I would like to start by apologizing for your experience with your room. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope to keep you on as our loyal guest. Our General Manager is reviewing your feedback with our Chief Engineer and Executive Housekeeper. They will be personally inspecting the rooms and taking care of any issues. We are also sorry that you were not able to park in the Hotel’s parking deck during your stay. This has been addressed with our Front Office Manager and Bellman to prevent this from happening in the future. We are a Historic Hotel and some of our guest rooms are cozy and our suites offer more space with a living room.

Thank you again for your feedback. Our General Manager Dennis Costello would like the opportunity to discuss your stay in more detail. If you would like to speak with him he may be reached at 610-625-2201 or DCostello@hotelbethlehem.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethlehem hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
#2 of 14 in Bethlehem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bethlehem
1.2 mi away
Sands Casino Resort
Sands Casino Resort
#8 of 14 in Bethlehem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bethlehem
5.4 mi away
Courtyard Bethlehem Lehigh Valley/I-78
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#13 of 14 in Bethlehem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Hotel Bethlehem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Hotel Bethlehem

Property: Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Address: 437 Main St, Bethlehem, PA 18018-5808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Historic Hotel Bethlehem 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Historic Hotel Bethlehem in downtown Bethlehem PA in the heart of the Lehigh Valley, just minutes from Allentown and Easton, Pennsylvania, Lehigh University, Moravian College, Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem and a 10 minute drive from the Lehigh Valley International Airport (ABE). We are conveniently located in the heart of the historic district that surrounds our hotel in Bethlehem Embrace our beautifully decorated and newly renovated historic Bethlehem hotel. Come experience world-class service, charming guest accommodations, elegantly appointed lobby and common areas, beautiful yet efficient banquet and meeting facilities, and Award winning cuisine. We proudly continue the tradition of Bethlehem hospitality that began by the Moravians who first settled here in 1741. Come experience this hospitality at our Historic Hotel Bethlehem.Restored to its original 1922 grandeur, Historic Hotel Bethlehem's floor-to-ceiling palladium windows provide dramatic views of the historic shopping district just outside our front doors. Seven large murals were painted by George Gray in 1937 to depict the history of Bethlehem. These beautiful murals currently adorn the walls of the Mural Ballroom. One of the larger murals retells the story of how Count Zinzendorf and other early settlers named the city of Bethlehem on Christmas Eve in 1741. This event took place in a crude cabin on the site now occupied by our Award winning hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Historic Hotel Bethlehem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing