We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Certificate of Excellence
Allentown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

Our staff recently had an event at the the Historic Hotel Bethlehem. Upon arrival we were greeted with courtesy and professionalism. Brian was the door man on staff who greeted us with a smile and very helpful information. To our surprise, he assisted us in loading in our equipment. Our event service coordinator "the captain" was also extremely helpful, courteous, and professional. Brandon the bartender displayed an equal amount of professionalism. He has a sixth sense on knowing what you would like to drink. The manager Debbie, was equally as impressive as her staff. After traveling and working in various venues throughout the world I cannot write a stronger, more favorable review for any facility world wide. From the Four Seasons in Manhattan to The Monte Carlo in Monaco, the Historic Hotel Bethlehem is one place you will not want to miss!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Hi Robert H,

Thank you for this glowing review! We are humbled by your accolades and honored to be compared to the Four Seasons in Manhattan and The Monte Carlo. We are thrilled to hear that everyone had a great experience. Our Staff strives to ensure that we exceed our guests’ expectations each and every time. Brian, Brandon, and Debbie are the best at what they do and each of them brings their own unique talents to their specific positions.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We hope to see you soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    200
    54
    18
    14
See reviews for
251
315
33
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

I booked a room as a surprise overnight for our 24th wedding anniversary. We only live 1/2 hour away so we have had cocktails here but never stayed. The front desk staff, especially Cindy could not have been better! So nice, so excited for us and even upgraded us to a lovely suite. We decided to try the "fine dining" restaurant for dinner. The food was very good but the service was far from acceptable. We waited for a long time for a waiter, then waited even longer to order our food. We decided to split a salad and an entree after our appetizers. After the salad came with no extra plate for sharing, I asked that they please split the entree in the kitchen. With our salad plates still on the table, they brought out our entree and another share plate for our pasta. I asked again that it be split in the kitchen which eventually they did. Very long wait for the check. Now sitting at breakfast, 10 minute wait to order and now 20 minutes waiting for food. The man at the next table left before his food came he had been waiting so long. The morning manager seems to care greatly but the service is SLOW. A lovely spot in a great town but food service management needs to get this place up to the level of the front desk staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Carrieyoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Hi Carrieyoga,

Happy Anniversary! Thank you for sharing your recent experience. I am happy to hear that Cindy was able to upgrade you to one of our suites when you arrived. I would like to apologize for the service shortfalls that you experienced in our restaurant. I have shared your comments with the Executive Chef and our Director of Restaurants who in turn shared it with their staff. They are now in the process of retraining the staff to help prevent this from happening in the future. We truly appreciate you bringing it to our attention.

If you would like to discuss this further our General Manager Dennis Costello may be reached at 610-625-2201 or DCostello@hotelbethlehem.com.

We hope to see you again soon so that we may gain back your confidence in our Restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delanco, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

We attended a wedding at this hotel and booked a room for the night. The hotel staff could not be more helpful.

The room was beautiful, very comfortable, The hallway did not have have that hotel smell.

The food was delicious , the bartender Brandon was great , and Nelson our waiter was a sweetheart, service could not have been better.

We will be back again. Thanks

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barb g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Hi barb g,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to review the Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the Wedding that was hosted here. Our entire staff takes great pride in ensuring that everyone enjoys themselves while they are with us. Brandon and Nelson are huge assets to our team. Thank you for saying so, they were thrilled that you mentioned them.

We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth, New Jersey
Level Contributor
125 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

This historical hotel takes you back in time. Beautiful lobby with bar and restaurant. The rooms are clean and comfortable with the most amazing views. Our room overlooked the mountains where at night a giant star of Bethlehem is lit. Very magical!! Had a wonderful time at night having drinks with our great bartender Gary listening to a wonderful piano player.What we thought was going to be a quick drink before we went out to dinner turned into 3 hours because we couldn't bring ourselves to leave!! Can't wait to go back for another weekend!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chetndeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Hi chetndeb,

Thank you for this wonderful review! We are thrilled to hear that you both had a fantastic time. The view of the Bethlethem Star on South mountain is one of kind. Gary is a great part of our team and has been with the Hotel for several years. We offer live music almost every night of the week and we Feature live Jazz every Thursday.

Thank you! We can’t wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Hotel Bethlehem is a perfect weekend getaway from the jersey shore, quaint town, great restaurants and plenty to see. The hotel was clean, had a great feel to it and rooms were accomodating, will come back! I didn't get to eat at the restaurant, but I did have a drink at the bar and it was good. The firness room has a couple of machines, good for off peak exercising.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank amplexusomnium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Hi amplexusomnium,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your weekend getaway! As you mentioned there is so much to see and do just steps away from the Hotel. We are centrally located in heart of Historic Bethlehem. You will have to join us in one of our restaurants on your next visit. Our Executive Chef Michael Adams will be releasing his new menus very soon with some exciting new additions.

Thank you choosing to stay with us. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown PA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

The historic hotels atmosphere is unmatched! The grandeur of this hotel is evident throughout and the tile bathrooms are exquisite. We marvelled at the workmanship. The best soft and comfortable and the view into the city are breath taking!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Hi Andrea K,

Thank you for sharing your experience! We are thrilled to hear that we are your “all time favorite place”. The marble in our bathrooms was taken from the same vein in Italy that Michelangelo used for his sculpture of David and all of our mattresses are Serta Perfect Sleepers. We are fortunate that the Hotel offers some of the best views of Historic Bethlehem and the Bethlehem Star on South Mountain.

Thank you again. We hope to see you soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

I recently had my wedding at Hotel Bethlehem and I could not have asked for a better weekend. Kathy was our wedding coordinator and made planning easy and enjoyable. The wedding weekend went amazingly well without any problems and we were really able to enjoy it because we knew Kathy would take care of everything. Our guests stayed at Hotel Bethlehem and are still telling us how beautiful everything was and how much they loved staying at the historic hotel. Our bridal suite was beautiful and everyone was so accommodating. Shannon at the front desk helped my parents with various things and was very pleasant.

We are all even more in love with Hotel Bethlehem than when we started planning the wedding. We will definitely be going back to celebrate many anniversaries to come!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Hi Caitlin M,

Congratulations! We were honored that you chose the Hotel for your special day! Kathy is the best at what she does and ensures that every detail is taken care of during her events so everything runs smoothly. It was our pleasure to make sure that your Wedding day was a success.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We look forward to welcoming you back for your first Anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethlehem hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
#2 of 14 in Bethlehem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sands Casino Resort
Sands Casino Resort
#8 of 14 in Bethlehem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bethlehem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bethlehem
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#13 of 14 in Bethlehem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
5.4 mi away
Courtyard Bethlehem Lehigh Valley/I-78
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Hotel Bethlehem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Hotel Bethlehem

Property: Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Address: 437 Main St, Bethlehem, PA 18018-5808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Historic Hotel Bethlehem 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Historic Hotel Bethlehem in downtown Bethlehem PA in the heart of the Lehigh Valley, just minutes from Allentown and Easton, Pennsylvania, Lehigh University, Moravian College, Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem and a 10 minute drive from the Lehigh Valley International Airport (ABE). We are conveniently located in the heart of the historic district that surrounds our hotel in Bethlehem Embrace our beautifully decorated and newly renovated historic Bethlehem hotel. Come experience world-class service, charming guest accommodations, elegantly appointed lobby and common areas, beautiful yet efficient banquet and meeting facilities, and Award winning cuisine. We proudly continue the tradition of Bethlehem hospitality that began by the Moravians who first settled here in 1741. Come experience this hospitality at our Historic Hotel Bethlehem.Restored to its original 1922 grandeur, Historic Hotel Bethlehem's floor-to-ceiling palladium windows provide dramatic views of the historic shopping district just outside our front doors. Seven large murals were painted by George Gray in 1937 to depict the history of Bethlehem. These beautiful murals currently adorn the walls of the Mural Ballroom. One of the larger murals retells the story of how Count Zinzendorf and other early settlers named the city of Bethlehem on Christmas Eve in 1741. This event took place in a crude cabin on the site now occupied by our Award winning hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Historic Hotel Bethlehem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing