We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love Hotel Bethlehem.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel. It makes me feel like I am one of the rich and famous every time I step foot through the door. I feel like I step back in time and should be wearing a magnificent gown from the 1800's.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parker5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Hi Parker5555,

Thank you! We appreciate the kind words. Your experience is important to us while you are our guest. We are pleased to hear that you enjoy yourself each time you are here. You are more than welcome to wear that gown the next time you are here.

We look forward to seeing you again soon…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,022)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

596 - 602 of 1,022 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2014

Spent 2 weeks at Hotel Bethlehem for a training, and it was FANTASTIC! The hotel room was very comfortable, food was excellent (our group never tired of the food, which states volumes especially when you stay somewhere for 2 weeks) and the banquet staff was very attentative with pleasant dispositions. Bell Men greet you upon arrival, which is a very nice touch, and the Front Desk staff has a warming welcome. Had the pleasure of meeting daily with the Banquet Manager and Catering Manager as well as frequent meetings with Director of Events, General Manager, and Owner. They went above and beyond to exceed our group's expectations, which was very much appreciated. Perfect hotel and location of conferences, trainings, meetings, weddings, social functions, etc. You will NOT be disappointed!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NantucketKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Hi NantucketKate,

Thank you for this glowing review! It was our pleasure to host your training! Our team strives to exceed our guests’ expectations. We are pleased to hear that we did just that. All of us at the Hotel are looking forward to working with you and your group during the next training session. We will work to make this one just as successful.

Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stayed for one night only when visiting local colleges. Wanted to stay somewhere that was not a cookie-cutter chain hotel like a Hampton Inn.This area of Bethlehem is the nicest locale compared to the surrounding area. There's quite a few restaurant choices for dinner within walking distance. (We ate at Mama Nina's which was reasonably priced Italian fare with larger than expected portions.) Inside of the hotel is beautiful and the lobby area and Tap Room superb. Loved that there was live music at the Tap Room (Sunday night). Our room was nice and the beds super comfortable. Room had a mini-fridge which was great because we had to be up early and wanted some OJ, milk, and cereal in the room so that we could get up, eat quickly, and get right out. (Breakfast is available downstairs at the restaurant but is not included. There is a deli/coffee shop across the street if you want something informal and less expensive.) Negatives -- although it was 20 degrees outside, the room was a bit warm for us. The AC didn't seem to adjust to cool us down. Room could also use more outlets. Had to go under the desk to unplug the Kerig machine in order to plug in my blow dryer. Overall, a nice boutique-y place to stay if you have a reason to stay in Bethlehem.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Hi SueNYC,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us while you were visiting the local colleges. We are in a great location and very close to most of the Colleges & Universities in the area. I am sorry to hear that the room was a bit to warm and you were not able to adjust the temperature. I have passed your comments about this and the outlets along to our Chief Engineer so he can look into and correct it. We offer live music in the Tap Room Wednesday through Sunday, I am glad that you had the opportunity to stop in and enjoy it.

Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope you choose a college in Bethlehem so we have the opportunity to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Yet again a most wonderful stay at the Hotel Bethlehem. I can't say enough good things about the staff, the food, the rooms, the hotel in general. The rooms are excellent, bed are comfortable, cleanliness is topnotch. The staff are the friendliest, kindest you will ever find.
We were in attendance this past weekend for the GhostBreakers Paranormal Weekend Event, the event was great, very informative and 'active' and the weekend ended with the most incredible Sunday brunch I have ever seen! Very much looking forward to returning in the very near future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dlb620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Hi dlb620,

Thank you for attending our annual GhostBreakers weekend! It is great to hear that you and your friends had a great time! I have heard that it was an “active” weekend. I have to agree with you our Musical Sunday Brunch is incredible. Thank you for saying so!

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are awaiting your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Attended the Paranormal Weekend event and had a wonderful time. Enjoyed the stay, the activities, the people, the staff and topped off the weekend with the best Sunday Brunch around. I will definitely be returning often.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally nice with marble baths. A little trivia: The marble for the baths was quar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GhostBreakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Hi GhostBreakers,

Thank you for joining us during our annual GhostBreakers Weekend! We look forward to this event each year and are pleased to hear that you had such a good time. Stay tuned for next years dates!

Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to see you soon…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We are here now and what a terrible mistake. We arrived here to visit family and see the area so decided to stay in a recommend historic hotel. It was not inexpensive but convenient to the church and concert we are to attend. We arrived around noon and noticed large groups of people decked out in St.Patrick 's green. We got the last parking place in the lot behind the hotel and went inside knowing we were a bit early for check in. Realizing the lobby was filled with people celebrating we asked to be on the back of the hotel and were told to check back in an hour so were made our way to the cafe to have lunch. It was so loud that we had a problem hearing one another and it took almost an hour to get a sandwich and salad. We left and did a tour returning at 3:50 P.M. And were told that they needed 15 more minutes to clean the room. We left walked around and when we came back and got our keys and got to the room and found out that we were given a room with a window facing the air conditioning shaft that has a loose piece of metal that flaps in the breeze on irregular intervals it made us think perhaps we will not only NOT COME BACK BUT NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL EITHER. Room 401 is NOT a good way to experience the ambience and classic opulence of a Historic hotel.
Sadly the little blonde at the desk seemed to not be happy with the noise or us.
I hate doing negative anything but in years and years of travel all over the world I think this room rates right there with the worst one yet.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Hi Donna S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We truly appreciate the feedback. We would like to apologize that your experience with us during your stay over St. Patrick’s day weekend did not meet your expectations. We are a community hotel and as such play a big part in the celebration parade that took place on Main Street in front of our hotel. Needless to say the lobby and restaurant were busy and apologize that you had no warning of such festivities when you made your reservation.

While we tried to offer you a room with a view of Lehigh University and the Star of Bethlehem, you requested a room in the back of the hotel traditionally reserved for those that want quiet and privacy-- room 401 is such a room. We apologize for the loose metal that blew in the heavy winds that day and have fixed that problem.

We hope you will give us another try and come back to experience the great views and peaceful ambiance of our historic hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

The accommodations are clean and comfortable. The lobby is very welcoming with relaxing furniture. The preservation of history while sustaining the modern needs is spectacular. But the icing on the cake is the impeccable service due to an amazing staff. They are all clearly working together to an end goal! Great place to stay for a short stay, or an extended stay as I have done for two weeks.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank Boater1325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Hi Boater1325,

Thank you so much for the kind words! We work very hard to preserve as much of the hotels history as possible all while offering the modern amenities that our guests have come to expect. We have to agree with you about our staff. We have a great team whose number one goal is ensuring that all of our guests have a wonderful experience from start to finish.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Bethlehem. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethlehem hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
#4 of 14 in Bethlehem
946 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bethlehem
1.2 mi away
Sands Casino Resort
Sands Casino Resort
#8 of 14 in Bethlehem
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Courtyard Bethlehem Lehigh Valley/I-78
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bethlehem
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#13 of 14 in Bethlehem
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Hotel Bethlehem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Hotel Bethlehem

Address: 437 Main St, Bethlehem, PA 18018-5808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Price Range: $185 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Historic Hotel Bethlehem 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Historic Hotel Bethlehem in downtown Bethlehem PA in the heart of the Lehigh Valley, just minutes from Allentown and Easton, Pennsylvania, Lehigh University, Moravian College, Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem and a 10 minute drive from the Lehigh Valley International Airport (ABE). We are conveniently located in the heart of the historic district that surrounds our hotel in Bethlehem Embrace our beautifully decorated and newly renovated historic Bethlehem hotel. Come experience world-class service, charming guest accommodations, elegantly appointed lobby and common areas, beautiful yet efficient banquet and meeting facilities, and Award winning cuisine. We proudly continue the tradition of Bethlehem hospitality that began by the Moravians who first settled here in 1741. Come experience this hospitality at our Historic Hotel Bethlehem.Restored to its original 1922 grandeur, Historic Hotel Bethlehem's floor-to-ceiling palladium windows provide dramatic views of the historic shopping district just outside our front doors. Seven large murals were painted by George Gray in 1937 to depict the history of Bethlehem. These beautiful murals currently adorn the walls of the Mural Ballroom. One of the larger murals retells the story of how Count Zinzendorf and other early settlers named the city of Bethlehem on Christmas Eve in 1741. This event took place in a crude cabin on the site now occupied by our Award winning hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Historic Hotel Bethlehem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing