We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A historically beautiful hotel w/great staff ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

The accommodations are clean and comfortable. The lobby is very welcoming with relaxing furniture. The preservation of history while sustaining the modern needs is spectacular. But the icing on the cake is the impeccable service due to an amazing staff. They are all clearly working together to an end goal! Great place to stay for a short stay, or an extended stay as I have done for two weeks.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank Boater1325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Hi Boater1325,

Thank you so much for the kind words! We work very hard to preserve as much of the hotels history as possible all while offering the modern amenities that our guests have come to expect. We have to agree with you about our staff. We have a great team whose number one goal is ensuring that all of our guests have a wonderful experience from start to finish.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Bethlehem. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,022)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

602 - 608 of 1,022 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2014

After a dreadful experience in an hotel in Allentown due to Hotel Bethlehem being booked out, it was a pleasure to arrive at this elegant and charming place. The rooms were wonderfully luxurious and comfortable. As we were attending a conference at the hotel we thoroughly enjoyed this historic hotel with a feel of by-gone elegance. Situated in the delightful historic centre of Bethlehem during harvest festival was wonderful for a South Africa. glitch was the lengthy time it took to resolve a credit card error.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snowgooose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Hi Snowgoose,

Thank you for sharing your experience. I’m sorry to hear that we were not able to accommodate you on your previous trip to Bethlehem. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourself while attending your conference at the Hotel. We are located in the heart of Historic Bethlehem and there is always something to see or do while you are here. Harvest Fest is one of my favorite festivals.

Thank you for staying with us! We hope to see you again soon…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night for a business trip (you know the sort of trip .... Defined by airports Heathrow Chicago Cleveland Chicago San Francisco Newark Heathrow in 5 days).

Have to confess I picked the hotel rather than let the company travel agent pick the usual dross. This is a great hotel. Avoid if you want Ikea blandness but if you want character it's great. The food too is really good too. I ate in the Tap Room. Alligator tail for starter ... not had that before as there aren't many alligators in Cambridge. And I'm pretty sure that you wouldn't be allowed to eat any that there are. It was excellent. Perhaps we should introduce them to the fens.......

Live jazz. Full restaurant.

Great place. My only criticism is that I ordered fries with my main course steak ( as opposed to mash stipulated on the menu). The fries did not materialise. Why do waiters in the US think it is good to try to remember the order rather than write it down?

But this was a minor blip on a great experience. Just wish my partner was here. She would love it.

If you find yourself in Bethlehem (Pennsylvania) id urge you to go for it

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Hi GB,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! I have not personally tried the Alligator tail however I do hear it is very popular. I’m glad that you enjoyed it! We have live music in the Tap Room Wednesday through Sunday and we Feature Jazz music every Thursday. We appreciate all of your feedback. I would like to apologize for the service shortfall with your dinner. I have shared your comments with our Director of Restaurants and her team. They are working to ensure that it does not happen in the future.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us. We hope your partner has the opportunity to join you should you travel to Bethlehem in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed at HHB for a business stay of 4 days. The hotel really has character and very friendly staff. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated and very powerful heating - very nice after a day out in the cold.

A dawback is the lack of healthy varieties at breakfast. There is a "healthy" option, but it is pretty plain. A workaround for Europeans is a bowl of berries, yoghurt and orange juice, ordered separately. The muesli is sugar crusted and doesn't work ;)

Room Tip: x33 is far away from WiFi, 620 is very close to a quite noisy fridge, for 720 it's an ice machin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sprudu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Hi Sprudeldudel,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your comments. We are currently reviewing the healthy selections on our breakfast menu and will be improving upon them very soon.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us while you were in Bethlehem. We hope to see you soon…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

As a surprise get away for my Mothers Birthday, my sister, daughter and myself reserved the Presidential Suite for the weekend at the Hotel Bethleham. I have had the opportunity to visit the Hotel several times before, and was so excited for my Mom and Sister to have a wonderful expereience. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this Hotel. It is not like any other Hotel I have visited and staying in a room at the hotel is an experience of its own when visiting Bethleham. The beds are cozy, comfortable, that you hate when morning arrives....the rooms are immacuately clean, a must for me at all times!! The staff are pleasant, helpful and very courteous. We had the Sunday brunch that was outstanding, and they nver ran out of any food item, replacing as soon as they needed to do so.The town itself is charming with many shops to visit, too many resturants to try, its hard to decide, and truely a great time away at anytime of the year.I will be returning in April for business and cannot wait!! my family made many special memories this weekend and hope to return next year for another Birhtday!1 (its better a better gift than a sweater!!!)

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view, the top floors give a great view of not only the surrounding buildings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Hi Sharon R,

Happy Birthday to Mom! Thank you for choosing to celebrate her Special day with us. We are thrilled to hear that everyone had a great time! I’m glad you all had a great night sleep on our Serta Perfect Sleepers and were able to join us for our Musical Sunday Brunch. There is so much to see and do right outside our doors you could certainly fill a few days exploring everything Historic Bethlehem has to offer. The Presidential Suite offers you unique dual views of Historic Main St, Historic Moravian Bethlehem, and the Bethlehem Star on South Mountain.

Thank you! We look forward to welcoming you back in April and again for the next Birthday celebration!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Hotel Bethlehem is THE place to be. Everything is done with class and courtesy. Great attention is given to pleasing their customers. It has a good location for walking historic Bethlehem and it's shops and easy to access from major roads in the area.
We go there for special occasions and when we need a treat.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Hi Nancy S,

Thank you so much for saying we are “THE place to be”. Our goal is to exceed our guests’ expectations and to make sure that everyone enjoys themselves while they are here. We are happy to hear that we did just that during your stay.

Thank you again! We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you need a treat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This is my second affair at the hotel. My daughter had her bridal shower there in 2012 and on March 1st, 2014 we just had her baby shower at the hotel. The food at the shower was excellent, everyone commented on just how good it was. The staff especially RoseMarie and Martin were wonderful, they were always there helping you. Of course, the Terrace Room is a favorite of mine with stunning views of the town and a very intimate feeling in the room. I would again have another affair there, I give them a A+. Kathy C

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Hi Kathleen C,

Thank you so much for choosing us to host your daughters’ bridal shower in 2012 and her baby shower in 2014. We are happy to hear that everyone enjoyed themselves. The ambiance in 1741 on the Terrace just can’t be beat. Rose Marie and Martin are two of our best and Rose Marie was just named our associate of the month.

Thank you! We look forward to hosting your next event!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethlehem hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
#4 of 14 in Bethlehem
946 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bethlehem
1.2 mi away
Sands Casino Resort
Sands Casino Resort
#8 of 14 in Bethlehem
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Courtyard Bethlehem Lehigh Valley/I-78
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bethlehem
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#13 of 14 in Bethlehem
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Hotel Bethlehem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Hotel Bethlehem

Address: 437 Main St, Bethlehem, PA 18018-5808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Price Range: $185 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Historic Hotel Bethlehem 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Historic Hotel Bethlehem in downtown Bethlehem PA in the heart of the Lehigh Valley, just minutes from Allentown and Easton, Pennsylvania, Lehigh University, Moravian College, Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem and a 10 minute drive from the Lehigh Valley International Airport (ABE). We are conveniently located in the heart of the historic district that surrounds our hotel in Bethlehem Embrace our beautifully decorated and newly renovated historic Bethlehem hotel. Come experience world-class service, charming guest accommodations, elegantly appointed lobby and common areas, beautiful yet efficient banquet and meeting facilities, and Award winning cuisine. We proudly continue the tradition of Bethlehem hospitality that began by the Moravians who first settled here in 1741. Come experience this hospitality at our Historic Hotel Bethlehem.Restored to its original 1922 grandeur, Historic Hotel Bethlehem's floor-to-ceiling palladium windows provide dramatic views of the historic shopping district just outside our front doors. Seven large murals were painted by George Gray in 1937 to depict the history of Bethlehem. These beautiful murals currently adorn the walls of the Mural Ballroom. One of the larger murals retells the story of how Count Zinzendorf and other early settlers named the city of Bethlehem on Christmas Eve in 1741. This event took place in a crude cabin on the site now occupied by our Award winning hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Historic Hotel Bethlehem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing