We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Piece of history in the center of town!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Certificate of Excellence
Middletown, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Piece of history in the center of town!”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on Sunday with one nights reservation and it was all that and more. The hotel is a visit back in history with a wonderful lobby steeped in old time beauty. The room was wonderful on the eighth floor with a view of the star of Bethlehem and a great comfortable bed with modernized bathroom. After check in which was very easy and the front desk very attentive, we walked the shops up and down Main Street. At 6 we had reservations for the bus ride through historic Bethlehem which was very enlightening. We picked up the bus a few doors up Main Street from hotel at the visitors center. The location of the hotel is perfect for walking to everything in the neighborhood. After the bus tour which is about 50 minutes we had dinner at mama Nina's on Main Street. (BYOB). Excellent food. Monday morning we had breakfast at Joe's bagel shop across from the hotel which was reasonable and delicious. Monday we took the tour of the Germaine House which gave a good historical account of the Moravain people. I would certainly recommend this trip and hope to return to enjoy a different season in Bethlehem. Only complaint was the hourly blast of the train horns as they traversed through the town.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kmc1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hi kmc1021,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are happy to hear that you both had a great time during your visit to Bethlehem. The hotel does offer the best views of the Star on South Mountain. There is so much to see and do while in Bethlehem and it sounds like you were able to enjoy some of it. As you mentioned we are located in the heart of Historic Bethlehem and within walking distance of several Historic sites and shops right here on Main st. There is always something to do here in Bethlehem. If you are able to visit in October or early November I would highly recommend the Moravian Book Shops Ghost Tours℠—Historic Haunts of Downtown Bethlehem.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    210
    55
    18
    13
See reviews for
260
329
36
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is a beautifully kept and well run historic hotel. The room was spotless; the beds were fantastic. The bathroom was redone but kept to the older decor with plenty of wonderful, thick white towels and 2 types of drinking glasses provided. With only 2 elevators we never waited long. Reception was wonderful and we took advantage of free shuttle to the casino. The lobby was beautifully decorated for Christmas and alive with restaurant goers and a wedding celebration. Live piano karoake was a welcome surprise upon returning at night. The hotel is located in the town and it's a perfect location to shop and wander about.

The only negative experience was the low water pressure in the shower.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pattycakesnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hi pattycakesnyc,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us. It is very good to know that you enjoyed the amenities in your room and that you found the beds to be fantastic! We had the elevators completely redone in 2013 which has made them faster and more efficient. We offer nightly entertainment in the Tap Room during the Christmas Season. There is always something to see and do here at the Hotel. I have also shared your comments in regard to water pressure with our Chief Engineer so that he may look into it to ensure that it was an isolated incident.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us. We hope to see you again soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a perfect place to stay over the Christmas season. The lobby is decorated so beautifully and it just invites you to sit and enjoy the ambiance. The staff was very accommodating especially the hostess Hannah she made sure our party of 15 was taken care of during our family visit in the lobby. The rooms are elegant, beds are comfortable, and the bathrooms are spacious and new. We will definitely stay again.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank JanelleEbaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hi JanelleEbaugh,

Thank you for joining us during the Christmas season! We are pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time with us. The Hotel is fully decorated each year by Thanksgiving and we typically keep the decorations up until the second or third week of January. We appreciate you recognizing Hannah, she is a wonderful employee.

Thank you! We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottstown, PA
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Terrific location, especially around Christmas. Very pretty hotel. Well appointed room with Keurig, awesome TV and refrigerator. Only minor downside was room was really small. Didn't hear much from room next door but could hear everything going on in the hall.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NeuTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hi NeuTeam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are very fortunate to be in the heart of the Christmas City especially during Christmas. We will be replacing all of the doors for our guest rooms with new Mahogany doors this year which will eliminate any hallway noise.

Thank you again. We hope to see you soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We spent our 50th wedding anniversary at the hotel in November and loved it. The hotel had a special package including room, dinner and breakfast. The hotel is a landmark and is kept in excellent condition. The room was updated with two large flat screen TVs and was very comfortable. Christmas decorations were up in the lobby area and were beautiful. We had dinner at the 1741 restaurant and it was one of the best we ever had. Overall, if you want to celebrate a special event or just have a great experience at landmark hotel in a great area of PA., this would be a good choice. This will be an annual event for us.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hi Richard B,

Happy Anniversary! Thank you for choosing to celebrate your special occasion with us. We appreciate you taking the time to share the experience. Our Romance package is very popular and a perfect way to celebrate a special occasion. It is great to hear that you enjoyed both the Hotel and dinner in our award winning 1741 on the Terrace.

Thank you for joining us! We look forward to welcoming you back in November!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2013

If you are looking for the best accommodations in a beautiful historic hotel, you will find none finer than the Historic Hotel Bethlehem. There is a pub area with music, a fine dining room for elegant dinners and a staff that is the most helpful and friendly ever. This is better than a Marriot, more beautiful than a Hyatt - It is the old school feeling you want with the modern conveniences of current hotels. Big comfortable beds, modern bathrooms, and a lobby that harkens back to a simpler time. Each meal is unique and worth the wait - the chefs really know how to prepare great meals. The front desk staff greets you with a smile and helps you in any way possible. Amble parking on site. Bethlehem itself has a great historic feel and some of the best shops, restaurants and sites. Plan for that special weekend here - you will be back again and again.

Room Tip: Pick a package if you expect to stay the weekend - it's a good value and gives you something to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CliffRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Hi CliffRoberts,

Thank you for the accolades! We are truly humbled that you consider us one of the best Historic Hotels in the Northeast. It is great to hear that you enjoyed everything the hotel has to offer. We preserve the Hotels history all while providing the modern amenities that our guests need today. As you mentioned we do have two distinct restaurants both with award winning cuisine and wine lists. The entire Hotel staff enjoys what they do. They strive to exceed your expectations every day. We have several packages that fit any occasion.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I have held numerous events at the hotel over the years and each year they continue to improve their service. The staff is extremely attentive and informed. The managers are quick to reply to emails or additional requests. The customer service it key for me when seeking out locations, this hotel definitely is at the top of the list.

Our clients are equally pleased with the location and the atmosphere. I will once again be returning for the holidays in 2014.Many thanks to all those that make each and every event memorable!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferD63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Hi JenniferD63,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We truly appreciate your loyalty to the Hotel. We continue to learn and grow so we can improve our service standards each day. Our staff takes great pride in providing exemplary service to our guests each and every time.

Thank you for choosing us! We look forward to welcoming you back in 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethlehem hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
#3 of 14 in Bethlehem
846 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bethlehem
1.2 mi away
Sands Casino Resort
Sands Casino Resort
#8 of 14 in Bethlehem
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#13 of 14 in Bethlehem
240 reviews
5.4 mi away
Courtyard Bethlehem Lehigh Valley/I-78
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bethlehem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Hotel Bethlehem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Hotel Bethlehem

Property: Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Address: 437 Main St, Bethlehem, PA 18018-5808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Historic Hotel Bethlehem 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Historic Hotel Bethlehem in downtown Bethlehem PA in the heart of the Lehigh Valley, just minutes from Allentown and Easton, Pennsylvania, Lehigh University, Moravian College, Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem and a 10 minute drive from the Lehigh Valley International Airport (ABE). We are conveniently located in the heart of the historic district that surrounds our hotel in Bethlehem Embrace our beautifully decorated and newly renovated historic Bethlehem hotel. Come experience world-class service, charming guest accommodations, elegantly appointed lobby and common areas, beautiful yet efficient banquet and meeting facilities, and Award winning cuisine. We proudly continue the tradition of Bethlehem hospitality that began by the Moravians who first settled here in 1741. Come experience this hospitality at our Historic Hotel Bethlehem.Restored to its original 1922 grandeur, Historic Hotel Bethlehem's floor-to-ceiling palladium windows provide dramatic views of the historic shopping district just outside our front doors. Seven large murals were painted by George Gray in 1937 to depict the history of Bethlehem. These beautiful murals currently adorn the walls of the Mural Ballroom. One of the larger murals retells the story of how Count Zinzendorf and other early settlers named the city of Bethlehem on Christmas Eve in 1741. This event took place in a crude cabin on the site now occupied by our Award winning hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Historic Hotel Bethlehem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing