We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed here for only one night. Nice room and staff was courteous and capable. Room was clean and bed comfortable. We ate in restaurant for both dinner and breakfast. Decent food and not too expensive. Service could have been a bit quicker but not that bad overall. Would recommend to others to stay here. Parked in attached parking structure. Think they tacked on an extra fee of $5 for this. Hotel is very historic and in a great location. Beautiful area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gandoff22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Hi Gandoff22,

Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are pleased that you and your family enjoyed yourselves while you were here. It is great to hear that you were able to join us for both breakfast and dinner. Our new menu items have been receiving very good feedback. I have shared your comments in regard to the speed of service with our Director of Restaurant Operations to assist us in preventing that in the future.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope you have the opportunity to stay with us in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,001)
There are newer reviews for Historic Hotel Bethlehem
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

647 - 653 of 1,001 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

I was here for a business conference and was impressed by the attention to every detail the staff provided during our meetings and stay. Small, clean and cozy rooms, nicely appointed an in a convenient location. Food and service were impeccable! Would stay again,

Room Tip: Avoid room 932, which is apparently haunted,
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackiB0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Hi JackiB0312,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. It was our pleasure to have you and the other attendees here with us during the conference. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed everything while you were here. Our staff enjoys what they do and pays close attention to every detail. Room 932 is affectionately known as our “Room with a Boo”. There is a friendly spirit who from time to time likes to make its presence known. I assure you there is nothing to fear.

Thank you for staying with us. We hope you have the opportunity to join us again…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I am formerly from the Lehigh Valley. We recently stayed at the Hotel Bethlehem. I was more than surprised by the level of service and quality!

I travel extensively for work and stay at many of the nicer hotels (i.e. Four Seasons, Ritz Carlton, Mandarin, etc). The Hotel B was as good as most of these hotels. The lobby was warm and inviting and the service was exceptional. While the hotel is smaller than some of the others, they more than compensated for this with the staff and decor and warmth of a boutique hotel. The room was very nicely appointed. Had a great experience. Will go back when we are in Bethlehem again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASJthereviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Hi alopez212,

Thank you so much for this glowing review! Our staff strives to ensure that we exceed your expectations throughout your stay with us. We are honored to be compared to the other hotels that you mentioned. In many areas of the hotel we adhere to 5 diamond/ 5 Star levels of service and design.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope to see you soon…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

My experience in this hotel was just excellent, the food was great, the staff at this hotel are excellent and very help.
The staff were very helpful especially with the use of their shuttle, they would come pick you up anywhere.

Room Tip: Want to stay in a great hotel and a great value. This is it.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davgibbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Hi Davgibbons,

Thank you for the accolades! It is an honor to be considered the “Best Hotel in the World”. Our number one priority is you our guest. We take great pride in meeting and then exceeding your expectations. We are pleased to hear that you were able to dine with us during your stay. We recently updated our menus featuring Prime Grade Beef and Fresh Seafood. Our complimentary shuttle is available to our guests and runs on demand.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope to welcome you back soon…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I recently stayed 1 week at The Hotel Bethlehem in PA and I had one of the best hotel experiences of my life! My co-workers and I were there for a conference and we never wanted to leave the hotel. The guest service providers, concierge, shuttle bus drivers, room maintenance employees and attendants were Super Fantastic! I felt welcomed each moment I was there. The rooms we're immaculate! The food was Scrumptious! The employees were friendly and professional! I would recommend this hotel to everyone and I can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Hi Leslie C,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We were happy to be your home away from home during your weeklong visit for the conference. Our staff works together to ensure that everyone feels welcome and has a great time while they are here. We are very fortunate to have the best associates in the Lehigh Valley. They take pride in everything they do. We truly appreciate you taking the time to recognize them in your review.

Thank you again for staying with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

we spent 3 nights here. the service was outstanding -- every staff member had a smile, most asked us whether all was well, requests for help were immediately met (also with a smile), all events went as planned, nothing broke, nothing was dirty, there were no surprises. there was free fiberoptic wireless, free parking and very reasonable pricing. and it's on main street, convenient to a variety of restaurants and across the street from an excellent chocolate shop (which may or may not be a good thing, depending on one's goals). the only complaint i am able to dredge up is a bolt was missing from the bathroom doorknob. the missing bolt made no difference, but i thought i should complain about something!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joebobbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Hi joebobbilly,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is our goal to make sure every guest has an exceptional experience while they are here with us. We are carrying on the tradition of welcoming hospitality that the Moravians started in 1741. As you mentioned we do provide complimentary fiber optic wi-fi throughout the hotel. We have a fantastic location that is conducive to walking around and taking in all of the sites in Historic Moravian Bethlehem. I have shared your comment about the bolt on the Bathroom door with our engineering department. They are going through all of our guest rooms to ensure that everything is in order with the doors.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your business trip. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I stayed here with my son and a friend while visiting colleges in the area and the Hotel Bethlehem made for a more memorable visit. I enjoy historic properties and this hotel does not disappoint in that regard; the decor is lovely, well-maintained, and the sense of history pervades. The room was not particularly large, but it was certainly ample for the three of us, nicely furnished, and with a great view of the downtown area. We really wanted to be able to walk around downtown Bethlehem - it was a lovely night - which was one of the reasons for which we booked here. Indeed, we walked around an chose a restaurant with a tables out on the sidewalk, but I think next time I would just eat at the hotel, because the restaurants is so appealing. For breakfast, we went across the street (on the advice of other TripAdvisor reviews) and got bagels and coffee. Great, cheap breakfast (and fun to listen the the student study groups) but I suspect breakfast at the hotel is top-notch, although more expensive. Even though this is more expensive than other Bethlehem hotels, for our family, it was worth it, as it certainly added to an overall pleasant experience - more so than if we just stayed at a generic chain.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K_Alice_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Hi K_Alice_11,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us while looking at colleges for your Son. We appreciate you taking the time to share this wonderful review with us. We are very proud of the Hotels history. It is always nice to hear from guests like yourself that appreciate history as much as we do. Our downtown location is perfect for walking around and taking in the sites of Historic Downtown Bethlehem. I highly recommend dining with us the next time you are in town. We recently updated our menus for breakfast, lunch, and dinner focusing on a true farm to table dining experience. We have something for everyone.

Good luck with the college visits! If he chooses a school around here we would be honored to be your home away from home when you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethlehem hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
#3 of 14 in Bethlehem
867 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bethlehem
1.2 mi away
Sands Casino Resort
Sands Casino Resort
#8 of 14 in Bethlehem
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#13 of 14 in Bethlehem
246 reviews
5.4 mi away
Courtyard Bethlehem Lehigh Valley/I-78
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bethlehem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Hotel Bethlehem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Hotel Bethlehem

Address: 437 Main St, Bethlehem, PA 18018-5808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Price Range: $185 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Historic Hotel Bethlehem 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Historic Hotel Bethlehem in downtown Bethlehem PA in the heart of the Lehigh Valley, just minutes from Allentown and Easton, Pennsylvania, Lehigh University, Moravian College, Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem and a 10 minute drive from the Lehigh Valley International Airport (ABE). We are conveniently located in the heart of the historic district that surrounds our hotel in Bethlehem Embrace our beautifully decorated and newly renovated historic Bethlehem hotel. Come experience world-class service, charming guest accommodations, elegantly appointed lobby and common areas, beautiful yet efficient banquet and meeting facilities, and Award winning cuisine. We proudly continue the tradition of Bethlehem hospitality that began by the Moravians who first settled here in 1741. Come experience this hospitality at our Historic Hotel Bethlehem.Restored to its original 1922 grandeur, Historic Hotel Bethlehem's floor-to-ceiling palladium windows provide dramatic views of the historic shopping district just outside our front doors. Seven large murals were painted by George Gray in 1937 to depict the history of Bethlehem. These beautiful murals currently adorn the walls of the Mural Ballroom. One of the larger murals retells the story of how Count Zinzendorf and other early settlers named the city of Bethlehem on Christmas Eve in 1741. This event took place in a crude cabin on the site now occupied by our Award winning hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Historic Hotel Bethlehem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing