We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sister's Get-A-Way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Certificate of Excellence
Monkton, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sister's Get-A-Way”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This was the second time we've stayed at this hotel. The room was clean and well maintained. The room was nicely decorated and the staff exceeded our expections. The cinnamon buns for breakfast were an added plus! We will be repeat customers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wearytraveler0111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hi wearytraveler0111,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your Sister’s Get-A-Way! We appreciate you being a loyal guest. The entire staff truly enjoys what they do and it is their goal to exceed your expectations. We are pleased to hear they did just that for you and your sister. The cinnamon bread on our breakfast menu is a very popular item. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed it.

Thank you again. The next time you have a “Sister’s Get-A-Way” I would highly recommend our spa package. The masseuses at Healing Hands are wonderful! We look forward to your next stay with us and cannot wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    683
    207
    54
    18
    13
See reviews for
258
319
36
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband was in town on business and I came along and worked out of the hotel and spent time in downtown Bethlehem. The hotel is a beautiful, historic hotel sitting on a great little street of shops and restaurants. There were a ton of places in walking distance for me to get food or explore. The hotel staff was extremely kind and helpful. I have never met kinder cleaning staff, the lady on my floor went over and above. And a huge perk for me was they were gracious enough to allow me a late checkout since I was waiting for my husband to be done with work.

Rooms were clean and nice (with a frig, which is important to me.. and a nice blowdryer, not one of those mini ones that don't work).

I would absolutely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldenlove7112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hi Goldenlove7112,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. It is great that you were able to join your husband while he was in Bethlehem. Since you did some work while you were at the hotel, you must have been able to take advantage of our complimentary fiber optic wi-fi. We are located in the heart of Historic Moravian Bethlehem a National Historic Landmark District, which does offer a lot to see and do right outside of the hotel. Our housekeepers are one of a kind and the best at what they do. They truly enjoy ensuring that all of our guests have a wonderful experience. They also take great pride in making sure that the hotel is spotless. We recently added refrigerators to all of our guest rooms. It was our pleasure to accommodate a late check out for you.

Thank you again. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome both you and your husband back in the future. Perhaps you can explore Bethlehem some more…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washingtonville, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My wife and I had our daughters wedding in the Grand Ballroom, the whole experience went fantastic. Our daughters wedding plans were handled by Kathy at the hotel. She was a dream to work with from start to finish. My wife and I could not have been more pleased. The Hotel staff could not have been more professional and courteous. Our guests, who most spent one to two nights at the hotel as well, had nothing but compliments for the whole weekend. Our thanks to Kathy and her staff at the hotel for a job well done!! Also, the food for the wedding was fantastic. Just a great experience from day one to the wedding day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mktny10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hi Mktny10001,

Congratulations on your daughter and son in laws wedding! Thank you for writing such a glowing review. We were honored to host their wedding in our Grand Ballroom. Our Grand Ballrooms is an elegant room to have your reception in, with the cocktail hour on the mezzanine overlooking the lobby then dinner and dancing in the ballroom. We appreciate your kind words about Kathy, we are truly lucky to have her. She is the best at what she does. It is great to hear that you had a great experience beginning to end, from having your first appointment with Kathy all the way through to the reception. Everyone involved with your wedding including Kathy your Wedding specialist to your Maître d’ who was with your daughter and her husband from beginning to end during the reception, the banquet staff that performed the service, and our award winning culinary team, all took great pride in making sure that everything was perfect. We are pleased to hear that you, your family, and your friends also enjoyed their overnight stays with us. We have shared your comments with our team.

Thank you! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County New York
Level Contributor
117 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I was shocked how good this hotel is. Our rooms were big and spacious, with all the amenities one expects in a first class hotel. The beds were right in the modern luxury hotel sweet spot in terms of size, comfort etc. The windows open!!! Everything smelled fresh. The bar and restaurant were fine.

It reminded me a lot of the Hotel du Pont in Wilmington. Both were built in the early 20th c. in a company town where the company was at its peak. Both are big stone buildings with lots of ornate touches and lots of room. Both are well maintained and function at a high level into their 2d century.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Armonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hi Armonk,

Thank you for your kind words. We are humbled by your review title alone and delighted to hear that we exceeded your expectations. Our team strives to exceed our guests’ expectations every time. I am thankful for your feedback on our beds. You hit the nail on the head. Our goal for our new Serta perfect sleepers and bed linens in all of our rooms was to be on par with other modern luxury hotels and of course give you a great night’s sleep. Your review confirms that we made the right choice when upgrading our bedding. I am assuming you were in one our suites during your stay. They do offer more spacious floor plans than some of our traditional rooms. As you mentioned the windows in your room opened. The windows in all of our guest rooms open, to allow for some fresh air when you want it. We have two restaurants in the hotel. It is great to hear that you were able to enjoy them.

Comparing us to the Hotel du Pont is a great honor. The Hotel du Pont is a AAA Four Diamond Hotel. We are currently working toward becoming an AAA Four Diamond Hotel as well. It is one of our goals for the future.

Thank you choosing to stay with us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your friends back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The charm and beauty of Hotel Bethlehem provided the perfect setting for our daughter's recent wedding ceremony and reception in the Mural Ballroom at the hotel. From the initial appointment to the last dance, every detail exceeded our expectations!!! The expertise and professionalism of the staff made the day beautiful and elegant in every way. Our out-of-town guests were very pleased with their accommodations and enjoyed being within easy walking distance to restaurants and other sights. We could not be happier!!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank tambam1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hi tambam1983,

Congratulations on your daughter’s wedding! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We were privileged to host her ceremony and reception in our Mural Ballroom. The Mural is a beautiful room for a ceremony and reception. It is home to seven large murals, painted by George Gray, retelling the history of Bethlehem. In particular, the story of how Count Zinzendorf and other early settlers met on Christmas Eve in 1741 in a crude cabin on the site now occupied by the hotel, and named the city of Bethlehem. We may be a little biased in saying that our team are experts when it comes to weddings, however your glowing review helps to reinforce that they in fact are. Everyone involved with your wedding from Kathy your Wedding specialist who planned your event with you to your Maitre d’ Andrea who was with your daughter and her new husband from start to finish during the reception and the banquet staff that executed it, all took great pride in ensuring that you had a flawless event. Our goal is to not only meet your expectations it is to exceed them. We are elated to hear that we did just that. We are also pleased to hear that your guests enjoyed the wedding and their stays with us.

Thank you! We hope you are able to join us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed here with our family in a suite with an adjoining room and had a wonderful time. The hotel has great character, the rooms are older but updated. Bed was surprisingly very comfortable. Our windows overlooked the street, which can be a little noisy but nothing terrible. The town is adorable, not much to do but some cute shops and restaurants. The breakfast in the hotel was delicious. The staff was very helpful and had our rooms ready ahead of time as they knew we were coming with kids.

Room Tip: Corner suite is tucked away but the door to the room next door was almost flush with ours so we coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMY17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hi Amy17,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your families visit to Bethlehem. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We appreciate your feedback on the bed in your room and are happy that you found it very comfortable. All of our mattresses are Serta Perfect Sleepers which we put in in 2012 as well as the bedding that features down filled duvets and pillows. We do have several shops and restaurants right outside the hotel. We also have two restaurants in the Hotel. One of which you were able to enjoy for breakfast in the Tap Room, it is a very popular breakfast spot among our guests and the locals. We are in the heart of Historic Moravian Bethlehem a National Historic Landmark District that encompasses 14 acres and is home to the original Moravian settlement which also has several museums. Should you visit Bethlehem again and time allows we highly recommend taking a guided tour or visit some of the museums. Not only are they educational, they are fun and entertaining as well.

Thank you again! We hope you choose to stay with us in the future…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwin, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My wife and I had our wedding here in the Grand Ballroom. The hotel was perfect and the staff was courteous and accommodating. All of our guests enjoyed their stay. The Hotel Bethlehem helped make our wedding day special

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Hi Brian W,

Congratulations! Thank you for choosing to share that special day with us! We were honored to be a part of it. We are pleased to hear that you and your guests enjoyed the wedding and your stay with us. Everyone involved with your wedding from the Wedding specialist who planned your event to the Maitre d’ who was with you from start to finish and the banquet staff that executed it, all took great pride in ensuring that you had a night to remember. Our Grand Ballrooms is a beautiful place to have your reception, with the cocktail hour in the balconies overlooking the ballroom and then dinner and dancing in the ballroom. Thank you again for choosing us.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethlehem hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
#3 of 14 in Bethlehem
792 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sands Casino Resort
Sands Casino Resort
#8 of 14 in Bethlehem
744 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bethlehem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#13 of 14 in Bethlehem
236 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bethlehem
5.4 mi away
Courtyard Bethlehem Lehigh Valley/I-78
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Hotel Bethlehem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Hotel Bethlehem

Property: Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Address: 437 Main St, Bethlehem, PA 18018-5808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Historic Hotel Bethlehem 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Historic Hotel Bethlehem in downtown Bethlehem PA in the heart of the Lehigh Valley, just minutes from Allentown and Easton, Pennsylvania, Lehigh University, Moravian College, Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem and a 10 minute drive from the Lehigh Valley International Airport (ABE). We are conveniently located in the heart of the historic district that surrounds our hotel in Bethlehem Embrace our beautifully decorated and newly renovated historic Bethlehem hotel. Come experience world-class service, charming guest accommodations, elegantly appointed lobby and common areas, beautiful yet efficient banquet and meeting facilities, and Award winning cuisine. We proudly continue the tradition of Bethlehem hospitality that began by the Moravians who first settled here in 1741. Come experience this hospitality at our Historic Hotel Bethlehem.Restored to its original 1922 grandeur, Historic Hotel Bethlehem's floor-to-ceiling palladium windows provide dramatic views of the historic shopping district just outside our front doors. Seven large murals were painted by George Gray in 1937 to depict the history of Bethlehem. These beautiful murals currently adorn the walls of the Mural Ballroom. One of the larger murals retells the story of how Count Zinzendorf and other early settlers named the city of Bethlehem on Christmas Eve in 1741. This event took place in a crude cabin on the site now occupied by our Award winning hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Historic Hotel Bethlehem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing