We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“take the road less travelled”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Certificate of Excellence
upstate ny
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“take the road less travelled”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

If you are looking for the "charm" of your local holiday inn or marriott this is not the place for you. If you appreciate our ancestors attention to detail, plaster walls, marble floors, hidden rooms, heavy wood doors, and very friendly staff you might be comfortable here. Built in 1922 the Bethlehem has hosted the Dalai Lama, JFK, Eisenhower and many more! This hotel gets the details right, big thick towels, magnifying mirror. Quiet halls, no slamming doors. Happening bar, live jazz band on thursday, the night we were there. There are bits that are tired, but the experience far outweighs the cellophane wrapped apples at the breakfast bar at your local fast food hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momwifesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hi momwifesq,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We have had several distinguished and famous guests stay with us throughout our history. It is great to hear that you were able to join us for our Thursday night Jazz.

We hope you choose to stay with us again the next time you are in Bethlehem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    205
    54
    18
    14
See reviews for
256
318
33
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
213 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

If you need to stay in Bethlehem this is one of your only good choices.

Well located in the center of this small city.

Service is nice.

Rooms are very small but quiet at night since this is not New York!

Very little amenities and a parking lot that's often full.

Slow internet speed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vorsoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hi vorsoni,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us and for choosing to stay with us during your families’ recent trip to Bethlehem. We wanted to let you know that we have had our wired and wireless internet connections tested to ensure that the slow speed you experienced does not occur again in the future. We have fiber optic lines which allow us to provide our guests with the fastest internet speeds in the area.

We look forward to welcoming you back should you visit Bethlehem in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley Heights, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My friend and I just spent a night at the Historic Hotel Bethlehem. The hotel lobby and the 1741 Terrace dining are very elegant and our room was charming. We were very impressed with the hospitality and kindness of all of the staff, from the friendliness of the individual at the entrance to the parking area (who checked with the desk to see if our room was ready and gave us information on the hotel’s shuttle service), to the front desk receptionist, the hostess and waiters, and the drivers of the shuttle service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoAnn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hi JoAnn D,

Thank you for your kind words. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. It is nice to hear that you and your friend enjoyed yourselves and were also able to dine in our newly redecorated 1741 on the Terrace.

Thank you again. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This was a lovely hotel, beautifully decorated to 1920's era decadence. The room was spotlessly clean, the service was genuinely friendly, parking was easy and the food in the hotel tasted great. I was there for business and would very much like to return for pleasure. The area was on a street with unique little shopping boutiques and specialty restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hi Eileen S,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your business trip. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our associates take great pride in everything they do.

We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

What a pleasant change of pace from having to stay in the all-too familiar chain hotels. This is how people used to lodge "in the good old days" - a beautifully restored historic hotel located in the heart of a quaint town - with sidewalks, shops, restaurants galore (again, REAL restaurants, not TGI Fridays, Outback, etc), all right outside your front door. Stop for breakfast right across the street at the bagel shop that makes freshly scrambled eggs, home fries, bagels - not that pre-manufactured garbage that the chains serve you for your pre-paid "continental breakfast". Yes, they charge an extra $5 per night for parking, but it's well worth the price. Once you park your car, you can walk/shop/eat for hours and never have to go anywhere. Also, shuttle to casino provided if you are into that sort of thing. The rooms were of the same quality as $400 per night hotels in NYC and Philadelphia. Reminded me somewhat of trips to Alexandria, VA or even Georgetown (without the cost or pretense). There were 3 weddings at the hotel on the Saturday that I stayed, so it got pretty crazy at night - that was part of the fun, however, watching everyone come in and out in their tuxes and gowns. Step outside your comfort zone and give it a try. Overall, a great experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jcav08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hi jcav08,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and recognizing that we are set apart from the chain hotels.

We hope you choose to stay with us again. I would highly recommend visiting us during the Holiday season. The Hotel and Bethlehem are a site to be seen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I stayed here one night last week while on a college tour with my teenage son. It is charming in so many ways. The room was a decent size and had nice furnishings. Bathroom was nice period look, and up to date. Hotel is located in a nice neighborhood with lots of little shops and restaurants - great area for a stroll or a vigorous walk. We did not eat in the restaurant, but it looked nice. A big plus for me, you can open the window and get fresh air! Trains do go by at all hours, which didn't bother me, but if you are a particularly light sleeper, keep the window closed at night. I found the bed to be very comfortable. I would definitely recommend this over the chain options. There is a lot of history in the building, it was fun to read about all the famous people who have stayed here. Even my son thought it was cool.

Room Tip: I was on the eighth floor, out of nine. We had a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shieldsprior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hi shield65,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us while you and your son were on your college tour. We are delighted that you both enjoyed your stay. As you mentioned we have had several famous guests stay with us. The Hotel is rich with history and we just had a book printed on the history of the hotel. I highly recommend checking it out the next time you are with us.

Thank you again. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

My wife and I live just minutes from the hotel, but we love getting away from the kids and staying at The Hotel Bethlehem. First, the hotel has a great historic feel. It makes me forget i'm just down the road. The rooms have always been clean and quiet. The linens are excellent. We have plans to purchase them in the future (yes, you can buy them). One time, I had strawberries and champagne delivered to the room for our arrival. They were in our room, plump and juicy, still chilled as if someone had just placed them. We used the hotel transportation to take us to the casino. Don't want to drink and drive. The driver was courteous and prompt. I have waited much longer for a taxi at the casino. Returning, we stopped at the bar for one last drink but stayed all night. Our bartender made perfect suggestions and never kept us waiting.

My biggest complaint, if you can call it, is the hotel is sometimes difficult to get a reservation. During Musikfest is impossible unless you plan well in advance. Homecoming, Graduation, and any other festival is also booked. However, if you're just looking for a great night away or business in town, I highly recommend a relaxing stay at the Hotel Bethlehem!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the South have a great view of the historic buildings and the "star of Bethlehem&q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LifeInER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Hi LifeInER,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are pleased with the response from our guests since we upgraded all of our linens last year. If you are interested in purchasing the linens please call Angie in our Gift Shop. Many of our guests such as you have found us to be an elegant alternative when visiting the Casino. We regularly use our 13 passenger van and Lincoln Navigator to escort guests to the Casino and surrounding attractions.

We hope you join us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethlehem hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
#2 of 14 in Bethlehem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sands Casino Resort
Sands Casino Resort
#8 of 14 in Bethlehem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bethlehem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bethlehem
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#13 of 14 in Bethlehem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
5.4 mi away
Courtyard Bethlehem Lehigh Valley/I-78
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Hotel Bethlehem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Hotel Bethlehem

Property: Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Address: 437 Main St, Bethlehem, PA 18018-5808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Historic Hotel Bethlehem 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Historic Hotel Bethlehem in downtown Bethlehem PA in the heart of the Lehigh Valley, just minutes from Allentown and Easton, Pennsylvania, Lehigh University, Moravian College, Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem and a 10 minute drive from the Lehigh Valley International Airport (ABE). We are conveniently located in the heart of the historic district that surrounds our hotel in Bethlehem Embrace our beautifully decorated and newly renovated historic Bethlehem hotel. Come experience world-class service, charming guest accommodations, elegantly appointed lobby and common areas, beautiful yet efficient banquet and meeting facilities, and Award winning cuisine. We proudly continue the tradition of Bethlehem hospitality that began by the Moravians who first settled here in 1741. Come experience this hospitality at our Historic Hotel Bethlehem.Restored to its original 1922 grandeur, Historic Hotel Bethlehem's floor-to-ceiling palladium windows provide dramatic views of the historic shopping district just outside our front doors. Seven large murals were painted by George Gray in 1937 to depict the history of Bethlehem. These beautiful murals currently adorn the walls of the Mural Ballroom. One of the larger murals retells the story of how Count Zinzendorf and other early settlers named the city of Bethlehem on Christmas Eve in 1741. This event took place in a crude cabin on the site now occupied by our Award winning hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Historic Hotel Bethlehem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing