We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A real gem!”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I stayed here one night last week while on a college tour with my teenage son. It is charming in so many ways. The room was a decent size and had nice furnishings. Bathroom was nice period look, and up to date. Hotel is located in a nice neighborhood with lots of little shops and restaurants - great area for a stroll or a vigorous walk. We did not eat in the restaurant, but it looked nice. A big plus for me, you can open the window and get fresh air! Trains do go by at all hours, which didn't bother me, but if you are a particularly light sleeper, keep the window closed at night. I found the bed to be very comfortable. I would definitely recommend this over the chain options. There is a lot of history in the building, it was fun to read about all the famous people who have stayed here. Even my son thought it was cool.

Room Tip: I was on the eighth floor, out of nine. We had a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shieldsprior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hi shield65,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us while you and your son were on your college tour. We are delighted that you both enjoyed your stay. As you mentioned we have had several famous guests stay with us. The Hotel is rich with history and we just had a book printed on the history of the hotel. I highly recommend checking it out the next time you are with us.

Thank you again. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    210
    55
    18
    13
See reviews for
260
329
36
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

My wife and I live just minutes from the hotel, but we love getting away from the kids and staying at The Hotel Bethlehem. First, the hotel has a great historic feel. It makes me forget i'm just down the road. The rooms have always been clean and quiet. The linens are excellent. We have plans to purchase them in the future (yes, you can buy them). One time, I had strawberries and champagne delivered to the room for our arrival. They were in our room, plump and juicy, still chilled as if someone had just placed them. We used the hotel transportation to take us to the casino. Don't want to drink and drive. The driver was courteous and prompt. I have waited much longer for a taxi at the casino. Returning, we stopped at the bar for one last drink but stayed all night. Our bartender made perfect suggestions and never kept us waiting.

My biggest complaint, if you can call it, is the hotel is sometimes difficult to get a reservation. During Musikfest is impossible unless you plan well in advance. Homecoming, Graduation, and any other festival is also booked. However, if you're just looking for a great night away or business in town, I highly recommend a relaxing stay at the Hotel Bethlehem!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the South have a great view of the historic buildings and the "star of Bethlehem&q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LifeInER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Hi LifeInER,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are pleased with the response from our guests since we upgraded all of our linens last year. If you are interested in purchasing the linens please call Angie in our Gift Shop. Many of our guests such as you have found us to be an elegant alternative when visiting the Casino. We regularly use our 13 passenger van and Lincoln Navigator to escort guests to the Casino and surrounding attractions.

We hope you join us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Our family enjoyed an extended stay at the Hotel Bethlehem for my niece's graduation. We like historic properties with architectural details and charm. The Hotel Bethlehem delivered. The only shortcoming was weak water pressure in the shower which probably goes with being historic. Many of the staff we encountered were local students and they were all very helpful and enthusiastic.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anncpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Hi anncpdx,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience. We are pleased to hear the you and your family enjoyed your stay. Since restoring our bathrooms in 2007, we have installed a mixing valve in our guest room faucets which assists in water pressure. Thank you for bringing the water pressure to our attention. We are in the process of checking the water pressure in the rooms and adjusting it as needed.

We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This stately hotel is closing in on its 100th birthday. If you are one who appreciates historic properties, the Hotel Bethlehem will suit you fine. Those seeking shiny and new best get clicking.

Not to suggest the Hotel isn't clean. What can shines, does shine; the public areas are more patina-ed than sparkly. The place has a quiet grandeur that hearkens back to voices of a different age when steel industrialists roamed and ruled. I'm sorry I was only there for one night and didn't get to take note of more of its charms or check out many of the older curiosities found throughout.

I had a room on the 9th floor with 2 full sized beds and a nice view of Main Street and nearby Moravian College. I gave the room an average rating because I wasn't wowed by the decor. Others with different tastes could score higher. All the appointments were acceptable. The bed was comfy. I slept well. Many of my compatriots reported exceptional slumber. The best part of the room was the bath which was clad in contrasting marble tiles on the floor and walls. Above the pedestal sink were clear glass shelves that were super clean, which is good because those do show housekeeping slackness. The shower had a rain-style head. Those looking for a forceful flow will have to settle for a good, even spray.

The Hotel is well-sited. Guests can walk to many shops, bars, and restaurants. Beer lovers should head to nearby Bethlehem Brew Works. Strollers might want to head over to Moravian College to see its campus and neighborhood.

The Tap Room bar located in the lobby sports a wall of noted guest photos ranging from Ozzy Osborne to His Holiness, the 14th Dalai Lama. Surely, if the Hotel Bethlehem was good enough for them, it will be good enough for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keymcgrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Hi Keymcgrip,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are happy to hear that you liked the grandeur of our hotel including the marble bathrooms, all of which were restored in 2007. The next time you come to visit us you will notice a change in our room décor. You will hopefully be pleased with our new window treatments in all of our guest rooms that are being upgraded this summer.

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2013

It's taken me a while to write this due to my hectic schedule. This hotel was so great to work with. We were probably the most demanding customers to ever walk through the door. The hotel was responsible to house all our wedding guests. The hotel is beautiful, and captures the spirit of Bethlehem. The staff was great to work with, and they were able to accommodate all our needs. We gave them about 60 welcome bags that they passed out to all our guests. I would stay here over any hotel in the area. The location is great! If you need to go anywhere they can transport via shuttle if it is close by.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AgioNiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Hi AgioNiko,

Thank you for choosing to be a part of our Wedding History. It is nice to hear that our Wedding staff took the extra steps to help make your day exceptional!

Thank you again! We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, VA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Bethlehem for 4 nights while attending a college reunion. I found it to be excellent. It is an interesting historic structure (1922) which has been modernized. Furnishings, decor, elevators, and all electrical items are up to date. The lobby and restaurants are particularaly attractive and it is in the best possible location in the city. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. Kathleen Brown, Director of Restaurant Operations, went out of her way on numerous occasions to accommodate special requests from our large group. Rooms and baths are small but well appointed, many with interesting views of the area. I was thoroughly pleased and will certainly return.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the south side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCF66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Hi MCF66,

We enjoyed hosting reunion attendees. Accommodating special requests is our specialty. It is great to hear that our staff helped you create a memorable experience.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belvidere, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The hotel is beautiful. Like a step back in time, but modern ammenities. The Sunday brunch is fabulous and our server Maris was a sweet heart. I mentioned it was my husbands birthday and se brought him a few cream puffs with a birthday candle. Very nice !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danelle68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Hi danelle68,

Thank you! It's nice to hear that our staff it taking the extra step to help make our Top 100 Nationally recognized Sunday Brunch truly special.

We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethlehem hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
#3 of 14 in Bethlehem
846 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bethlehem
1.2 mi away
Sands Casino Resort
Sands Casino Resort
#8 of 14 in Bethlehem
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#13 of 14 in Bethlehem
240 reviews
5.4 mi away
Courtyard Bethlehem Lehigh Valley/I-78
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bethlehem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Hotel Bethlehem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Hotel Bethlehem

Property: Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Address: 437 Main St, Bethlehem, PA 18018-5808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Historic Hotel Bethlehem 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Historic Hotel Bethlehem in downtown Bethlehem PA in the heart of the Lehigh Valley, just minutes from Allentown and Easton, Pennsylvania, Lehigh University, Moravian College, Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem and a 10 minute drive from the Lehigh Valley International Airport (ABE). We are conveniently located in the heart of the historic district that surrounds our hotel in Bethlehem Embrace our beautifully decorated and newly renovated historic Bethlehem hotel. Come experience world-class service, charming guest accommodations, elegantly appointed lobby and common areas, beautiful yet efficient banquet and meeting facilities, and Award winning cuisine. We proudly continue the tradition of Bethlehem hospitality that began by the Moravians who first settled here in 1741. Come experience this hospitality at our Historic Hotel Bethlehem.Restored to its original 1922 grandeur, Historic Hotel Bethlehem's floor-to-ceiling palladium windows provide dramatic views of the historic shopping district just outside our front doors. Seven large murals were painted by George Gray in 1937 to depict the history of Bethlehem. These beautiful murals currently adorn the walls of the Mural Ballroom. One of the larger murals retells the story of how Count Zinzendorf and other early settlers named the city of Bethlehem on Christmas Eve in 1741. This event took place in a crude cabin on the site now occupied by our Award winning hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Historic Hotel Bethlehem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing