We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I just loved this Historic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Certificate of Excellence
Westlake Village
1 review
“I just loved this Historic Hotel”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

The hotel stands out for its location, history and charm is located in the downtown Bethlehem Historic District.
The building is historic and refurbished. I love the interior and style of the building which is classic of the early 1930's style and has a feel of grandeur.
The restaurant has great food and a Sunday buffet. The lounge routinely has some kind of jazz or soloist playing through the week.
We stayed in an executive King and found it quite spacious, (The bathroom was small, yes but it was charming as well and plenty of nice towels) The furnishing are fitting of the era of the hotel but new. The bed was very comfortable and bed linens luxurious. This is really important to me. The WIFI worked great.
I can’t say enough about the staff, from the time I made our reservation, I spoke with Heather……she couldn’t have been more helpful as well as Alice, the reservation manager. All of the staff was very kind and helpful from the bellmen and parking attendants to the front desk.
We came from California and were there for 3 nights. We arrived on a Thursday evening
and we had a wonderful dinner and enjoyed the jazz music.
We ate quite a few meals at the hotel and the food was outstanding.
I think if you enjoy something unique, meticulously clean, upscale and charming…….
This is the place. I don’t think I would stay any place else if I came to Bethlehem again.

Room Tip: Better views from higher floors. Executive King was a very spacious room.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris132815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Hi Chris132815,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience. It is always nice to see members of our staff mentioned by name. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed yourselves during your visit to Bethlehem. Our Executive King rooms are spacious and offer some nice views. If you visit the Hotel again I would highly recommend our One Bedroom Corner Suites. They offer dual views of Historic Main st. and of the Bethlehem Star on South Mountain.

Thank you again. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    697
    210
    55
    18
    13
See reviews for
260
329
36
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
892 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 676 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

There are many hotels in the Lehigh Valley Area to choose but this one stands out for its location, history, and charm.

The hotel is located in the downtown Bethlehem Historic District. During some special occasions like Christmas or Musikfest there is no better place to be located. Outside of the doors to the hotel are a multitude of places to eat and drink.

During the Christmas season this place has extra charm. True holiday decorations everywhere. It was a great experience to bring my friend here for a stay to experience the magic of the season.

The building is historic and refurbished. I love the interior and style of the building which is classic of the early 1930's style and has a feel of grandeur.

The restaurant has great food and the Sunday buffet is something almost all of the locals know about. The lounge routinely has some kind of jazz or soloist playing through the week.

The rooms are small in size. This is one of the drawbacks of the hotel. The furnishing are fitting of the era of the hotel but new. The beds are very soft and comfortable. The bathrooms are modern and the entire hotel is clean. The WIFI worked well in the room but better in the lobby. The room air conditioning control needs updating but was comfortable.

The staff was very kind and helpful from the bellmen and parking attendants to the front desk.

There are no doubt bigger rooms for purchase and possibly cheaper but this is not just a hotel to stay but an event stay. Whether business or pleasure there are many chain hotels around the country that no doubt you cannot recall anything about them after you have turned in your hotel key card but this hotel will remain in your memory and stand out for its charm.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExplorerXYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Hi Pilotss2001,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during the Christmas season. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with this wonderful review. We strive to provide a unique experience that you are not able to get anywhere else. I am pleased to hear that you and your friend enjoyed yourselves.

We hope you join us again so we may have the opportunity to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killeen Texas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Having retired in Central Texas, my husband and I often return to our beloved Bethlehem, PA, where we lived and were educated before moving to East Africa as a military family. High school, university, and fraternity reunions and family visits are the highlights of our "golden years," during which we fondly recall our wedding reception in the elegant ballroom of this historic hotel.
As elementary students, we toured the Moravian buildings and cemetery just across the street from the hotel, and now, when we have breakfast each morning, we enjoy a watercolor of the bell tower of the architecturally breathtaking Moravian church, where the world-famous Bach Choir sometimes performs. (And where, by the way, my dad played in the brass choir at midnight on Christmas Eve.)

This is the REAL Bethlehem, where even the cemeteries are wondrous places for historical studies. Although some hotels are, undoubtedly, less costly, the Hotel Bethlehem is invaluable and centrally located enough to facilitate access to Lehigh and Moravian Universities. Bethlehem was settled well before the country was the country, and some of the houses within walking distance of the hotel are pre-revolutionary. The home in which I grew up actually has a brass plaque announcing its historical importance, but NOT because I lived there!

Although the city now "boasts" a Sands Casino and hotel, that area is definitely NOT Bethlehem in its true sense. Still, when the industrial museum is finally constructed in the area that once was home to the Bethlehem Steel mills and the houses that sheltered its laborers of multicultural backgrounds, one will be able to drive from the historically preserved old town area of Bethlehem to the industrial educational venue and learn more about the importance of steel making in "my" hometown.

Dining is a gourmet experience at this hotel, and the decor is elegance at its best. Reserving a room during the Musikfest period in August is difficult if one waits too long, and the same caveat applies to the Christmas season, when Bethlehem is at its historical high point; however, I strongly recommend staying at the Hotel Bethlehem whenever possible.

Room Tip: A room on the north side affords a view of the Moravian Church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Hi Deborah S,

Thank you for such a thorough and thoughtful review. I can feel your love of Bethlehem and the Hotel through your words. Thank you for the tips. It is always best to reserve your room as soon as possible especially during MusikFest and the Christmas Season.

Thank you again. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at HB in early December to jump start our holiday season. What a great idea! First, we want to send a shout out to front desk Matt and bellman Robert. They are just a few of the outstanding employees who assisted us before and during our stay. Next to the historic building, the most outstanding feature at HB is customer service. The staff is friendly and attentive in all areas. Housekeeping does a great job in the rooms, especially the marble bathrooms and quickly fulfilled our requests for additional towels and luggage stand.

The executive king room was a nice size with a well coordinated decor, nice bed linens and an elegant marble bathroom. The magnifying makeup mirror was a nice touch as is the free wifi. The lobby was nicley decorated for the season and was a bustling townsquare with many parties over the weekend.

We are looking forward to making this an annual visit.

HELPFUL HINTS:

1. Getting There: Your GPS may direct you to Main St. in Freemansburg. Don't panic when you don't find the hotel. Continue on and look for the signs for the Visitor's Center and Bethlehem or the star. Take a left onto Washington St. and follow the signs to Main St. Bethlehem. Take a left on Main - HB will be on your right just down the street. The directions on google maps were accurate; don't know why we decided to follow the GPS at the last minute.
2. If you have hard water at home like us, avoid over soaping as the water appears to be soft.

Happy Trails!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lily54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Hi Lily54,

Thank you for deciding to jumpstart your Holiday season with us! I have to agree with you Matt and Robert are wonderful. It is always nice to see associates mentioned by name. Thank you for the GPS tip! We are in the process of ensuring that all of the GPS companies have the correct information.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back for your annual visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County NY
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We just spent one night here over the holidays, we love historic hotels. The Hotel Bethlehem was beautifully decorated and the original architecture has been lovingly restored. The lobby, tap room, restaurant and mezzanine are gorgeous and were tastefully decorated for the season. The rooms have all the appropriate updates as far as beds, bedding, bathroom etc. Well done. The staff were all gracious and helpful, reasonable parking in the back. Well located right in the historic district. A little overpriced, perhaps... otherwise a great experience and we will probably be back next holiday season!

Room Tip: Ask for a room above floor 6. If you want a few ask for one of Main Street or a a south facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Hi russrobin,

Thank you for joining us during the Christmas Season and for sharing your experience with us. We started decorating in November and had everything up and ready to view by Thanksgiving. Our Christmas decoration theme changes every year so you will see some different things when you join us again.

We look forward to welcoming you back in December!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landisville, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night in a 5th floor room. There was no view to speak of, but the room was very comfortable and clean. The bed was very comfortable and the bedding was clean and in good condition. I love staying in historic hotels and the Hotel Bethlehem did not disappoint. The lobby and mezzanine were tastefully decorated for the Christmas season and the atmosphere was lively...in the spirit of the season. The front desk staff were helpful and pleasant as were the parking attendants and doorman. My one suggestion for guests who stay during the Christmas season is to make dinner reservations ahead of time as the hotel's restaurants are in demand. We did make breakfast reservations in the Tap Room, which worked out well.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank xelasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Hi xelasi,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during the Christmas Season. It’s great to hear that you prefer Historic Hotels. We strive to provide a unique experience that you are not able to get anywhere else. Your tip is great. It is best to make dinner and breakfast reservations ahead of time in December. Going forward our reservations team will be asking guests that make room reservations during a busy time if they would like to make restaurant reservations.

Thank you again. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Came in for a few days to enjoy the holiday surroundings. Hotel is well decorated and very christmasy. Staff was welcoming and in fact called to make sure before hand that we were set. Rooms are very nice, very clean and comfortable. The hotel is historic from 1922 and well decorated but the room has all the modern amenities to include Kruig coffee, flat screen TV, internet. If you have a choice try to get the even side rooms that way you have a view of the town and river. We were on the odd side and got the backside of bethelhem, not quite as pretty and missing the view of the lit up steel stacks and Bethelhem star. December is busy, need to book early and they Terrace restaruant is pretty much shut down for holiday parties however plenty of other places are nearby, Visit the Moravian Bookstore and Gift Shop across the street, worth it! Experience and location was well worth any small extra cost to be in a great hotel.

Room Tip: Get an even numbered room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biskaduros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Hi Biskaduros,

Thank you for joining us during the Christmas Season. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself. Your room tip is a good one. Some of our even numbered rooms overlook Historic Main St and some overlook the South Mountain and the Bethlehem Star.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethlehem hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
#3 of 14 in Bethlehem
847 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bethlehem
1.2 mi away
Sands Casino Resort
Sands Casino Resort
#8 of 14 in Bethlehem
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#13 of 14 in Bethlehem
240 reviews
5.4 mi away
Courtyard Bethlehem Lehigh Valley/I-78
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bethlehem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Hotel Bethlehem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Hotel Bethlehem

Property: Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Address: 437 Main St, Bethlehem, PA 18018-5808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Historic Hotel Bethlehem 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Historic Hotel Bethlehem in downtown Bethlehem PA in the heart of the Lehigh Valley, just minutes from Allentown and Easton, Pennsylvania, Lehigh University, Moravian College, Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem and a 10 minute drive from the Lehigh Valley International Airport (ABE). We are conveniently located in the heart of the historic district that surrounds our hotel in Bethlehem Embrace our beautifully decorated and newly renovated historic Bethlehem hotel. Come experience world-class service, charming guest accommodations, elegantly appointed lobby and common areas, beautiful yet efficient banquet and meeting facilities, and Award winning cuisine. We proudly continue the tradition of Bethlehem hospitality that began by the Moravians who first settled here in 1741. Come experience this hospitality at our Historic Hotel Bethlehem.Restored to its original 1922 grandeur, Historic Hotel Bethlehem's floor-to-ceiling palladium windows provide dramatic views of the historic shopping district just outside our front doors. Seven large murals were painted by George Gray in 1937 to depict the history of Bethlehem. These beautiful murals currently adorn the walls of the Mural Ballroom. One of the larger murals retells the story of how Count Zinzendorf and other early settlers named the city of Bethlehem on Christmas Eve in 1741. This event took place in a crude cabin on the site now occupied by our Award winning hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Historic Hotel Bethlehem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing