We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I wanted to make our stay in Bethlehem memorable and booked a room with a hot tub. Ideally located in the heart of Old Town Bethlehem, the atmosphere of this place is conducive to romantic getaways. From the friendliness of the staff and patrons, the comfort of the bed, to the perfect location close to alleys and local attractions, Hotel Bethlehem exceeded all our wishes and desires!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 467Frenchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Hi 467Frenchie,

I am happy we could help make your stay in Bethlehem a memorable one. It is always our number one goal to exceed our guests expectations. Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write your wonderful review.

We hope you join us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,015)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

777 - 783 of 1,013 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012

Comfy beds and beautiful bathrooms . Soft pillows and plush towels . Lively lobby , but the guests were quiet . Book in advance to get the Sunday Brunch ( though only if you want someplace that is very busy , if you want something quiet -better options elsewhere ) . The hotel is a great location for walking for some creative shopping .

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helensee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Hi helensee,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during the Christmas season! I’m really happy to hear that you enjoyed our new bedding and linens. Your tip for making reservations for our Musical Sunday Brunch is a good one it fills up very quickly.

We look forward to welcoming you back! Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

My daughter and son-in-law had their wedding reception here in November and the whole weekend was truly a dream come true. Between our family and guests we had 45 rooms booked for the whole weekend. People came from all over the country and some from overseas.
Everything from beginning to end was spectacular. The hotel is gorgeous and inviting. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable. The food was fantastic. The staff was friendly and helpful at every turn. They were like part of the family. The reception was beyond description. Every detail my daughter (who is an event planner) requested was perfect. I could go on and on but will probably run out of space so will stop. You will love this hotel and downtown Bethlehem. I promise!

Room Tip: get a room close to the top - the views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThrilledMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Hi ThrilledMom,

Congratulations on your Daughter and Son-in-laws Marriage! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a glowing review! We have shared your review with our staff. It was truly our pleasure to host your Daughter and Son-in-laws wedding. We are happy to hear that everyone enjoyed themselves.

Thank you again! We hope you visit us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I have stayed here several times and it is now the only hotel I would consider staying at in Bethlehem. It is absolutely beautiful, has the best location, and the staff is top-notch. The rooms are comfortable and clean with great views of the city. You don't get this kind of experience anywhere else you stay in Bethlehem!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views, but you can always ask the staff what room they recommend depending...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Hi Erin L,

Thank you for being such a loyal guest! We truly appreciate you taking the time to write such a wonderful review. The rooms with the best views of Bethlehem are those that face the South Mountain and the Star.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

When I was growing up in the 1960s, every family trip included a stay at a faded dump of a formerly grand hotel (including the Hotel Bethlehem) because, my father said, "they're tearing them all down." How fortunate that this hotel escaped that fate. Its Roaring Twenties decor has been lovingly restored and modern amenities (like a lobby bar) have been added without detracting from the historic character. We were "upgraded" to room 932 (the one with the ghosts), a large, charming room with an expansive view over the city, and no ghosts during our stay. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanne1768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Hi jeanne1768,
Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us. You have a unique perspective in that you were able to see what the hotel was and how far it has come today. We are always working to keep the hotel updated while staying true to our historic roots. It was our pleasure to upgrade you to one of our Starview Suites, they do offer some of the best views of Bethlehem.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We went in for a look at the hotel and were very impressed how nicely it was decorated for the holidays. The atmosphere is relaxed and elegant at the same time. I love how they stil have the bell boys with the long coats and hats. Every one was very nice. They even invited us to look around at the "wall of fame". There are pictures of everyone who visited on the wall by the bar. The restaurant looked so inviting. There was someone playing live music in the lobby. The staff was very knowledgable about the history of the hotel and town. I would come back and dine at this fine hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Hi Angela G,

Thank you for stopping in to see our Christmas Decorations. We certainly hope that you are able to stay with us the next time you visit Bethlehem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Bethlehem for one night during a college visiting trip. I was very impressed by the Hotel itself; it presents as a grand, classic hotel reminiscent of days gone by. I loved the dark wooded elevator, the beautiful and upscale common areas, and the old mail chute and rotary phones in the hallways. What was lacking, unfortunately, was the condition of the rooms. We stayed in a one bedroom corner suite on the 6th floor. After passing through this grand hotel I had high hopes, but what I found was stained carpets, stained furniture, and drab decor. On a positive note, the views of the quaint street outside were very nice, the bathroom was very clean, and the king size bed and linens were comfortable. Some updates, deep cleaning, and attention to detail could bring the rooms (at least the one in which we stayed) up to par with the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvtosing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Hi luvtosing,
Thank you for your comments and for bringing this to our attention. I would like to apologize for the condition of your room during your recent stay with us. I have forwarded this to our Chief Engineer and Director of Housekeeping . They will be inspecting our rooms and facilitating any necessary deep cleanings that need to be done. I would however like to assure you that this is not the typical condition of our guest rooms. Our housekeeping staff takes great pride in providing the cleanest hotel and guest rooms in Bethlehem.

We hope to welcome you back in the future during your next visit to Bethlehem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethlehem hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
#4 of 14 in Bethlehem
911 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bethlehem
1.2 mi away
Sands Casino Resort
Sands Casino Resort
#8 of 14 in Bethlehem
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Courtyard Bethlehem Lehigh Valley/I-78
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bethlehem
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#13 of 14 in Bethlehem
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Hotel Bethlehem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Hotel Bethlehem

Address: 437 Main St, Bethlehem, PA 18018-5808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Price Range: $183 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Historic Hotel Bethlehem 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Historic Hotel Bethlehem in downtown Bethlehem PA in the heart of the Lehigh Valley, just minutes from Allentown and Easton, Pennsylvania, Lehigh University, Moravian College, Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem and a 10 minute drive from the Lehigh Valley International Airport (ABE). We are conveniently located in the heart of the historic district that surrounds our hotel in Bethlehem Embrace our beautifully decorated and newly renovated historic Bethlehem hotel. Come experience world-class service, charming guest accommodations, elegantly appointed lobby and common areas, beautiful yet efficient banquet and meeting facilities, and Award winning cuisine. We proudly continue the tradition of Bethlehem hospitality that began by the Moravians who first settled here in 1741. Come experience this hospitality at our Historic Hotel Bethlehem.Restored to its original 1922 grandeur, Historic Hotel Bethlehem's floor-to-ceiling palladium windows provide dramatic views of the historic shopping district just outside our front doors. Seven large murals were painted by George Gray in 1937 to depict the history of Bethlehem. These beautiful murals currently adorn the walls of the Mural Ballroom. One of the larger murals retells the story of how Count Zinzendorf and other early settlers named the city of Bethlehem on Christmas Eve in 1741. This event took place in a crude cabin on the site now occupied by our Award winning hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Historic Hotel Bethlehem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing