We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great on all facets”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Certificate of Excellence
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great on all facets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

I've stayed here, hosted a wedding reception here, hosted a business event here, had brunch, and drank at the bar over the last 20 years. One of the reviewers nailed it. "You are treated like you are the only one there". Outstanding classic service both in the planning and execution of all their services. The food is excellent. The staff is awesome. All this overlooking historic main st, in a pre-war, completely renovated marble, wood, brass hotel. large windows grace the lobby and balcony. My meeting colleagues stepped in and "wow" was all over their face.

If you are staying, ask for a high room facing south mountain or west for beautiful views.
We had meetings overlooking main st in a quiet room, yet watching all the action in the hotel and main st.

A real pleasure across the years.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sachmogoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Hi sachmogoat,

Thank you for being such a loyal guest! We truly appreciate you taking the time to review the Hotel. Our associates strive to exceed our guest’s expectations each and every time. We want everyone to feel like they are at home while they are with us.

That is a great room tip! The views from our rooms are some of the best in Bethlehem.

Thank you again for choosing the Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    200
    54
    18
    14
See reviews for
251
315
33
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Middleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
242 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

On a recent Saturday, we arrived two hours before usual check-in time. The hotel lobby was filled with people. Apparently, there were two weddings going on that day and also some other events. In addition, we heard there was a problem with the service elevator. Despite all the activity going on, the staff treated you as if you were the only person there. They were always courteous, friendly and efficient. I think every staff member always said hello. The rooms have been updated, but maintain the classic charm of the 1920s hotel that it is. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept on. With two weddings going on, we were concerned about noise. This was never an issue. Then there was the Sunday brunch. Even if you don't stay at the hotel, go to the Sunday brunch. It is exceptional in selection and quality and a pianist only adds to the overall enjoyment. We felt it was also worthwhile to walk through the original Moravian settlement just outside the hotel and also to go through the shops on Main street.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slauth, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Hi JimR0,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for writing this wonderful review. It is our Associates goal to ensure each and every guest such as yourself is afforded the individual attention that you deserve. Thank you for noticing the comfort of the bed. We recently updated the bedding and mattresses in all of our guest rooms. We are also happy to hear that you were able to enjoy our Award winning Musical Sunday Brunch. I also agree with you that taking a walk through the original Moravian settlement is worth it. There is definitely a lot to see and do right outside of our doors.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

This is an old hotel that has been updated. Very improved from the indifferent place it was when I was here years ago. Double room is adequate for two. Bath is well appointed but shelves are too small to hold my toiletries kit. Bed was comfortable. Not sure of value for price since my in-laws were paying on this occasion. Public spaces have character.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Winchestermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slauth, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Hi Winchestermom,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Thank you for mentioning the comfort of the bed. We recently updated all of the bedding and the mattresses in our guest rooms. We also appreciate your comments about the bathroom shelving. We are always working toward updating, improving, and restoring the Hotel.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

I have had the pleasure of dining at this classic hotel. I have never been disappointed. I hve had New York Strip steak all over the country and in a few countries. Hotel Bethleh by far was the best. There Halibut is unbelievable and their jumbo shrimp are the largest and best tasting anywhere. If you are there in the fall try their pumpkin cheese cake you will be hooked or their pumplin tart. The wait staff is on the money with Bob, head of the wait staff, is a pure joy. The man never uses a pad and knows everythig about Hotel Bethlehem's food. If he suggest an item try it you will not be disappointed. He even has the croutons, for Nancy's salad, crushed so it ieseasier for her to enjoy.

Dennis Costello, General Manager, is a man with style and class and a total professional. He runs a tight ship and knows how to have a personal touch. Keep up the great work Dennis.

So if you would great service and excellent food The Historic Hotel Behtlehem is the ticket.

L A Vandever

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Larry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slauth, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Hi Larry,

Thank you for joining us for dinner and for this glowing review. Our Executive Chef and her culinary team take great pride in the food they prepare. Not many people know this but our Cheesecakes and Tarts are made in house. I have to agree with you about Bob, he is a great asset for the Hotel.

Thank you again for joining us. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

I would rate this property highly under any circumstances, but my recent experience as coordinator of a group that experienced three medical emergencies sends my rating to ten stars. The hotel is gracious and modern without having lost its historic charm. Winston Churchill may have stayed there, but there is free wi fi! Front desk staff may be busy at times, but each individual gets personal and courteous attention. Our special needs were met with efficiency and kindness. Every staff member from chambermaids up was friendly, cheerful, and helpful. Warm kudos to this establishment.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dracaena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slauth, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Hi Dracaena,

Thank you for choosing the Hotel for your group. Ten stars is quite an honor, thank you! We truly enjoy what we do and always strive to give each and every guest the personal attention they deserve.

Thank you again for your kind words. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

The room was nice and clean, I liked the bathroom, We felt comfortable in our room.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slauth, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Hi John,

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us while you were in Bethlehem. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

We just enjoyed another excellent stay at the Hotel Bethlehem.
The facility is charming and the staff is excellent.
Everything from the two Matts at the front desk to Cameron in the parking lot.
The room service, the restaurant, the maids everything was perfect.
When we departed at 4am Sunday morning the staff on duty was equally friendly and helpful.
I will continue to recommend Hotel Bethelehem highly and I look forward to our next stay.
A word about the hotel. It was built in the 1920s and was the height of excellence at the time.
Marble bathrooms and brass details. A lot has changed since then.
If you want a large spacious suite go to a Four Seasons or maybe try across the river at the Sands Casino Hotel.
If you want classic 20th Century comfort the Hotel Bethlehem is perfect.

Room Tip: Rooms fronting the Lehigh river (south) have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RKL3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slauth, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Hi RKL3,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and mentioning our associates. We share all of the Hotels TripAdvisor reviews with our staff. They strive to ensure that every guest has a memorable experience. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethlehem hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
#2 of 14 in Bethlehem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sands Casino Resort
Sands Casino Resort
#8 of 14 in Bethlehem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bethlehem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bethlehem
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#13 of 14 in Bethlehem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
5.4 mi away
Courtyard Bethlehem Lehigh Valley/I-78
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Hotel Bethlehem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Hotel Bethlehem

Property: Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Address: 437 Main St, Bethlehem, PA 18018-5808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Historic Hotel Bethlehem 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Historic Hotel Bethlehem in downtown Bethlehem PA in the heart of the Lehigh Valley, just minutes from Allentown and Easton, Pennsylvania, Lehigh University, Moravian College, Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem and a 10 minute drive from the Lehigh Valley International Airport (ABE). We are conveniently located in the heart of the historic district that surrounds our hotel in Bethlehem Embrace our beautifully decorated and newly renovated historic Bethlehem hotel. Come experience world-class service, charming guest accommodations, elegantly appointed lobby and common areas, beautiful yet efficient banquet and meeting facilities, and Award winning cuisine. We proudly continue the tradition of Bethlehem hospitality that began by the Moravians who first settled here in 1741. Come experience this hospitality at our Historic Hotel Bethlehem.Restored to its original 1922 grandeur, Historic Hotel Bethlehem's floor-to-ceiling palladium windows provide dramatic views of the historic shopping district just outside our front doors. Seven large murals were painted by George Gray in 1937 to depict the history of Bethlehem. These beautiful murals currently adorn the walls of the Mural Ballroom. One of the larger murals retells the story of how Count Zinzendorf and other early settlers named the city of Bethlehem on Christmas Eve in 1741. This event took place in a crude cabin on the site now occupied by our Award winning hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Historic Hotel Bethlehem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing