We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ruined Week-End”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2008

I’ve stayed at the Hotel Bethlehem 4 or 5 times. Given the Hotel’s history and location, it should be fun and elegant. It’s neither. But I keep trying. The staff is always aloof and condescending and they act as if the hotel is the Oriental or the Ritz. My last stay was a disaster. They advertise that they are pet friendly, but the $125.00 pet fee seems to contradict that. When I made the reservation I was advised of only a $25.00 fee and the hotel web site Pet Policy states, “Room fee for pet guest is $25.00 per day.” The rooms they have blocked as pet rooms are the worst rooms in the hotel. At check-in my reserved King Executive Room became a tiny room with 2 doubles next to the noisy elevator. My complaint was countered by an offer to reduce my rate by $20.00. Seemed fair until I realized that even after the $20.00 discount, I was still paying more than the rack rate for the smaller room. Being treated poorly is one thing… being gouged is another. My family – and our dog – got back in the car and drove the 4 hours home. I won't try again!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank RLPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,001)
There are newer reviews for Historic Hotel Bethlehem
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

963 - 969 of 1,001 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2008

We tried to book via phone and was told to wait [ for 5-6 minutes] then was told leave a number ,we will call back, they didn't .Because this was a last minute plan and we were close by we just stopped in . the reception desk personel took great pains to ignore us, finially condescendingly inquireing "what can we do for you"We were offered a choice of three rooms the best being a suite, which we took [$207.00} On arrival at the room thing s got even incredibly worse . Dirty carpets with cigarette burn holes , dusty tables ,poor tv reception , and a thick smoke smell .and this was a suite!! The next morning we attempted to have breakfast seeing the steamer trays and no coffee avaible. I said to my wife ,lets stop the bleeding we're out of here. Our own fault was not taking the hint of things to come,reservation problems, poor reception and the crazed lobby atmosphere,and by not asking for a non-smoking room, though non was offered.I've been to Motel 6's [$49.95] that are superior

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank potcake8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2007

What a wonderful visit we had at the Hotel Bethlehem just a few days before Christmas. The hotel was beautiful and the staff so pleasant. .

Special thanks to Jen (I think) at the front desk who pointed out a really neat walking route for us to take through town. The homes and shops along historic Main Street were decorated absolutely stunning and set us in the holiday spirit.

What a great way to enjoy the holiday! Thanks all.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank hockeygirl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2007

With our Holiday shopping completed, we decided to spend a night in "the Christmas City" at the Hotel Bethlehem, a grand hotel located in the enter of the Historic District.

We were greeted by doormen in "Dicken's period garb" and entered into a wonderful lobby filled with holiday decorations and cheer.

Although the hotel was extremely busy with a wedding party and numerous guests in the tavern, we were welcomed by a charming desk attendant who educated us about the hotel's vibrant history....and present!

My wife & I were both impressed with the staff's entheusiasm, warm hospitality and fine appointments throughout the hotel. We knew this was a well run operation.

Later we strolled the Main Street and wandered through many shops and galleries neighboring the Hotel Bethlehem and returned for a nightcap in the lobby bar.

We had a wonderful experience in the Christmas City and at the Hotel Bethlehem and look forward to returning next year. Or sooner!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ConventionGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2007

Just returned from a 2-night stay. The hotel was beautifully appointed with Christams decorations and the rooms were more than adequate. Unfortunately, the staff is less than friendly. There is always a rushed atmosphere conveyed by the staff. The quasi-restaurant is actually part of the lobby which causes some issues of its own, but the issues are compounded by a very hurried and confused atmosphere among the hostesses, waiters and bus persons. Over the two day period the hotels General Mgr passed our table 3 times without ever even a smile. He was always "on a mission." This attitude trickles down to the rest of the staff. We were told by the hostess on our first night that we could not sit at a table near the bar (which is all part of the lobby) until after 9 pm if we only wanted drinks because all the tables are needed for dinner. There is no place to sit near the bar for a drink with friends. Worst of all, we went down to the lobby at 10:20 am on our last day, Sunday morning, and asked for a table for 4 to eat breakfast. The hostess informed us breakfast was just getting over with and their Brunch was just beginning, but they were completely booked through1 pm and could not accomodate us. She explained they had been booked for over a month. Certainly this should have been brought to our attention at check-in (that we wouldn't be able to eat at the hotel Sunday morning. When we checked-in we had asked for adjoining rooms with another couple. We called the week prior to our arrival and confirmed this again. When we arrived we were told we would be on 2 different floors. After some pointed discussion, another check-in clerk who overheard the conversation agreed to help us out. Our clerk was steadfast that nothing could be done.
The hotel is very centrally located, nicely appointed and the rooms are very adequate, but the staff needs a lesson in customer service !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2007

I was so disappointed in this hotel. The staff is rude and uncaring. It is obvious from management on down that there is no emphasis or training on customer service. The lock on my room did not work for two days. It was finally repaired on the third day. Both elevators were down for two days. The front desk would not accept any responsibility and follow up on problems. When trying to make dinner reservations in person, the staff would totally ignore you. The doormen would just look at you while you were struggling with your bags and not offer any help whatsoever. What a shame - because this could have been a wonderful experience. The town is fabulous at Christmas. Take my advise and stay somewhere else.

Stayed: December 2007
2  Thank janeohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2007

We just got back from a weekend stay at the Hotel Bethlehem which has become a tradition in our family. First of all the few negatives. The room was a bit small and the carpet a bit worn and stained. The view from our 4th story window was of the pipes on the roof with only a peek of the beautiful snowy scenery. When first arriving we were greeted by very professional but kind bellhops who carried all our luggage straight to our room. Check in was quick but I agree with some of the other reviews not very welcoming. Sunday brunch was wonderful and would recommend this to anyone visiting. Of course we come to experience all the wonderful christmas activities. The "Bethlehem at Night" bus tour was the highlight as we had an experienced local giving us lots of history and personal stories about the town! Overall a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank masttrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethlehem hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
#3 of 14 in Bethlehem
867 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bethlehem
1.2 mi away
Sands Casino Resort
Sands Casino Resort
#8 of 14 in Bethlehem
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#13 of 14 in Bethlehem
246 reviews
5.4 mi away
Courtyard Bethlehem Lehigh Valley/I-78
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bethlehem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Hotel Bethlehem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Hotel Bethlehem

Address: 437 Main St, Bethlehem, PA 18018-5808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Price Range: $185 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Historic Hotel Bethlehem 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Historic Hotel Bethlehem in downtown Bethlehem PA in the heart of the Lehigh Valley, just minutes from Allentown and Easton, Pennsylvania, Lehigh University, Moravian College, Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem and a 10 minute drive from the Lehigh Valley International Airport (ABE). We are conveniently located in the heart of the historic district that surrounds our hotel in Bethlehem Embrace our beautifully decorated and newly renovated historic Bethlehem hotel. Come experience world-class service, charming guest accommodations, elegantly appointed lobby and common areas, beautiful yet efficient banquet and meeting facilities, and Award winning cuisine. We proudly continue the tradition of Bethlehem hospitality that began by the Moravians who first settled here in 1741. Come experience this hospitality at our Historic Hotel Bethlehem.Restored to its original 1922 grandeur, Historic Hotel Bethlehem's floor-to-ceiling palladium windows provide dramatic views of the historic shopping district just outside our front doors. Seven large murals were painted by George Gray in 1937 to depict the history of Bethlehem. These beautiful murals currently adorn the walls of the Mural Ballroom. One of the larger murals retells the story of how Count Zinzendorf and other early settlers named the city of Bethlehem on Christmas Eve in 1741. This event took place in a crude cabin on the site now occupied by our Award winning hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Historic Hotel Bethlehem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing