We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Stayed here on a recent business trip and overall the hotel was very good. Rooms very clean & comfortable and the hotel was beautifully & teastefully decorated for Christmas. I will have to travel back to this region & I will definitely stay here. Only fault I could find is the service at breakfast - the food is good but the service is very slow

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jande1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slauth, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2012

Hi Jande,

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. I would like to apologize for your breakfast experience. I have shared your review with our Restaurant team and are taking the proper measures to ensure that we prevent it from happening again in the future.

We are looking forward to your next visit! See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,037)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

880 - 886 of 1,037 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2012

We went to the Hotel Bethlehem with another couple for a quick overnight getaway for Valentine's Day and were impressed from the very beginning. The staff is incredibly polite and helpful, the rooms were extremely clean and well appointed, and the town is so quaint. Unfortunately the weather was a little on the cold side so we didn't get to enjoy the outdoors as much as we would have liked, but we did go in and out of most of the shops. The chocolate shop across the street won't disappoint! The only negative thing I can say is that the 1741 Room was overpriced for the quantity of food, though what we got was quite delicious. There are several good restaurants that I wish we had the time to try, especially the Italian cucina down the block. I would absolutely stay at this hotel again, and have already recommended it to some friends at work.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors have a great view. We were on the 8th and overlooked the whole valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank profesora_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slauth, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2012

Hi Profesora,

Thank you for choosing to spend your Valentines getaway with us. Our associates truly enjoy taking care of our guests. You will have to visit us again when it is a little warmer so you can really experience and enjoy all that the Hotel and Historic Bethlehem has to offer.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

spent the weekend at the hotel to celebrate my friends (twins) 55th birthday. we had perfect rooms modern, clean and i cant say enough about the staff, we where treated very well. lots of great shopping and dining and sightseeing all with in main st.we will stay there again next year.thank you hotel bethlehem for making this weekend very speical.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slauth, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2012

Hi Barbara,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us from your Girls Weekend. Our Associates take great pride in making sure all of our guests have a wonderful experience while they are here. Thank you for choosing our Hotel to come and celebrate your friends Birthdays. We are looking forward to your return visit next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

After looking at several hotels in the area, I was attracted to the location of the hotel in the heart of the historic district of Bethlehem, PA. Although we were in town for the birth of our granddaughter, I knew we would have some time to relax and explore and wanted to make the most of our week in the the area. I was pleasantly surprised when we arrive to check in on Sunday. The hotel is grand in the style of classic hotels of the 20's, and the location was central to many of the highlights of the city. Accomodations were first class, we were upgraded to King suite, and the setup of the room was attactive and functional with a love seat, chair, king size bed, 3 drawer chest and a desk. Although the view was not particularly interesting, the bed was top notch with comfortable oversized down pillows and comforter. A coffee machine and supplies is in the room, and coffee is provided in the lobby every morning until 11AM. There is a decent bagel store across the street from the hotel, if you decide not to eat at the hotel restaurant for breakfast. The area restaurants are very good, with a fantastic Spanish Tapas restaurant across the street, and a beer brewery down the block, as well as Thai, Italian, Turkish, and other nice restaurants in close proximity. The hotel is in the historic district which has houses and buildings with historical interest in easy walking distance of the hotel. We ate at the Tap Room (one of the two hotel restaurants) on Thursday, and listened to live Jazz as we ate. The food was fantastic. Directly behind the hotel is the Lehigh Canal tow path which runs between Easton and Allentown, and is good for easy bike riding or walking. Also in close proximity (5 mins via car) is the south side which includes the new Sands Resort as well as Steel Stacks, the preserved site of the former Behtlehem Steel Corp, which is an new art and culture space for the city. I rate the hotel very high for elegance, comfort, location, and price. The service is very good. Note that closet space is limited with the rooms, and there is a $5 parking fee per day added to your bill. Oh! I forgot to add the nice gym on the third floor, and most rooms have a Jacuzzi bath.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drewman07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slauth, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2012

Hi Drew,

Congratulations on the Birth of your Granddaughter! Thank you for your thoughtful and thorough review of our Hotel and Historic Bethlehem. The Tap Room features live Jazz every Thursday. I am glad you were able to enjoy that while you were here. We hope you choose to stay with us again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Gorgeous and romantic and soooo "Christmas-y". The atmosphere is of the good old days, people are very nice and helpful. The restaurant is great but gets fully booked in the weekend so make sure to have your reservation in time.
My colleagues from my parent company in Italy, loved it. It is a real experience, I would highly recommend it especially during the winter holiday season

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chiccager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slauth, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2012

Dear Chiccager,

Thank you for joining us during the Christmas season! I am happy to hear that you and your colleagues got to enjoy the hotel during the Holidays. Your restaurant tip is very good as well. They do fill up quickly and reservations are very helpful.

Thank you again for choosing the Hotel Bethlehem and taking the time to share your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

I had decided to reserve several rooms for our guest speakers for a workshop at Lehigh University. It was a positive experience from the get go. The hotel staff was amazingly cooperative, detail oriented, accommodating, flexible, and pleasant. The shuttle service was an extra benefit as it took the guests back and forth from the airport AND the workshop! This was really appreciated by our guests and by the university. The faculty wanted to take the speakers out to dinner and I suggested The Tap Room in Hotel Bethlehem to avoid the cold evening temperatures. It turned out to be the perfect atmosphere. The Tap Room was able to accommodate the dietary needs of all our guests and that was wonderful. All in all I must say this was the perfect arrangement for our needs and I am sure to use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing Lehigh University or Main Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaku J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slauth, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2012

Dear Shaku,

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and we are looking forward to working with you in the future!

Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Got a very nice room. Went down to eat dinner and was told there was no way we could eat there that night. Private party book the room. We were disappointed and in a way annoyed. Save some room for hotel guests.
All was not lost. We had a great dinner at a place very close by.
The next morning the same thing. No breakfast without reservations. "Reservations for breakfast!"
Indeed. Again private party but looking around the room there were empty tables and not very many people with coats. My guess is that they were understaffed that morning.
I lost my temper with the hostess and told here they had to make provisions of hotel guests. She found us a table right away. A lot of other guests were still standing there as we ate. My guess about staff was right. Service was not great and food took a very long time to come out.
Not the hotels fault but the town was dead the week before Christmas. So much for word of mouth.
May not ever go back to Bethlehem.

Room Tip: Do not take the basic room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TtravelerJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slauth, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2012

John,


Thank you for taking the time to offer us feedback from your recent stay at our Historic Hotel Bethlehem. I would like to apologize for the service shortfalls that you experienced while you were here. I have shared your comments with our Restaurant team and we are already putting a new plan in place to ensure that our hotel guests are being accommodated in our restaurants during the Christmas Season when we are in high demand.



Thank you again for writing your review and choosing to stay with us. My hope is that you choose to stay with us if you visit Bethlehem again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethlehem hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
#4 of 14 in Bethlehem
968 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bethlehem
1.2 mi away
Sands Casino Resort
Sands Casino Resort
#8 of 14 in Bethlehem
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bethlehem
5.4 mi away
Courtyard Bethlehem Lehigh Valley/I-78
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#13 of 14 in Bethlehem
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Hotel Bethlehem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Hotel Bethlehem

Address: 437 Main St, Bethlehem, PA 18018-5808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Price Range: $184 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Historic Hotel Bethlehem 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Historic Hotel Bethlehem in downtown Bethlehem PA in the heart of the Lehigh Valley, just minutes from Allentown and Easton, Pennsylvania, Lehigh University, Moravian College, Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem and a 10 minute drive from the Lehigh Valley International Airport (ABE). We are conveniently located in the heart of the historic district that surrounds our hotel in Bethlehem Embrace our beautifully decorated and newly renovated historic Bethlehem hotel. Come experience world-class service, charming guest accommodations, elegantly appointed lobby and common areas, beautiful yet efficient banquet and meeting facilities, and Award winning cuisine. We proudly continue the tradition of Bethlehem hospitality that began by the Moravians who first settled here in 1741. Come experience this hospitality at our Historic Hotel Bethlehem.Restored to its original 1922 grandeur, Historic Hotel Bethlehem's floor-to-ceiling palladium windows provide dramatic views of the historic shopping district just outside our front doors. Seven large murals were painted by George Gray in 1937 to depict the history of Bethlehem. These beautiful murals currently adorn the walls of the Mural Ballroom. One of the larger murals retells the story of how Count Zinzendorf and other early settlers named the city of Bethlehem on Christmas Eve in 1741. This event took place in a crude cabin on the site now occupied by our Award winning hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Historic Hotel Bethlehem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing