We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel for a business trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Certificate of Excellence
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Perfect hotel for a business trip”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

I had decided to reserve several rooms for our guest speakers for a workshop at Lehigh University. It was a positive experience from the get go. The hotel staff was amazingly cooperative, detail oriented, accommodating, flexible, and pleasant. The shuttle service was an extra benefit as it took the guests back and forth from the airport AND the workshop! This was really appreciated by our guests and by the university. The faculty wanted to take the speakers out to dinner and I suggested The Tap Room in Hotel Bethlehem to avoid the cold evening temperatures. It turned out to be the perfect atmosphere. The Tap Room was able to accommodate the dietary needs of all our guests and that was wonderful. All in all I must say this was the perfect arrangement for our needs and I am sure to use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing Lehigh University or Main Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaku J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slauth, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear Shaku,

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and we are looking forward to working with you in the future!

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    683
    206
    54
    18
    13
See reviews for
257
319
36
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Level Contributor
192 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Got a very nice room. Went down to eat dinner and was told there was no way we could eat there that night. Private party book the room. We were disappointed and in a way annoyed. Save some room for hotel guests.
All was not lost. We had a great dinner at a place very close by.
The next morning the same thing. No breakfast without reservations. "Reservations for breakfast!"
Indeed. Again private party but looking around the room there were empty tables and not very many people with coats. My guess is that they were understaffed that morning.
I lost my temper with the hostess and told here they had to make provisions of hotel guests. She found us a table right away. A lot of other guests were still standing there as we ate. My guess about staff was right. Service was not great and food took a very long time to come out.
Not the hotels fault but the town was dead the week before Christmas. So much for word of mouth.
May not ever go back to Bethlehem.

Room Tip: Do not take the basic room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TtravelerJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slauth, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
John,


Thank you for taking the time to offer us feedback from your recent stay at our Historic Hotel Bethlehem. I would like to apologize for the service shortfalls that you experienced while you were here. I have shared your comments with our Restaurant team and we are already putting a new plan in place to ensure that our hotel guests are being accommodated in our restaurants during the Christmas Season when we are in high demand.



Thank you again for writing your review and choosing to stay with us. My hope is that you choose to stay with us if you visit Bethlehem again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaisir, France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Since change of management this hotel has returned to its former glory. Very pleasant rooms with lovely bathrooms. Huge lobby. Great cocktail bar. We did not sample the restaurant which is fast gaining a very good reputation. If you want to wander around Historic Bethlehem during Musicfest or during the run up to Christmas this is the place to be. With your car safely parked in the garage you can go everywhere you want to on foot. Other restaurants very near.

Room Tip: Ask rof a room igh up overlooking the Star!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saucon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slauth, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Thank you for noticing all of the positive changes we have been making in the Hotel. We make every effort and take great pride in ensuring all of our guest’s have a great experience.

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We hope you join us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We stayed here last minute and they gave us a room for $100 if we agreed to take it right away. It is a great, old hotel with tons of charm and great service. If you can, stay for the Sunday Brunch because it is an incredible hotel. It was a great last minute find that will make us come back again and again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLAV143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slauth, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Thank you! Our associates take great pride in ensuring that each and every guest has a wonderful stay. I am happy to hear that you were able to join us for our Award winning Sunday Brunch. We look forward to your return.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackettstown, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2012

I took my husband for a romantic get away and was delighted! The hotel is beautiful, clean, charming and perfect. All of the meals we ate there were delicious. The hotel was beautifully decorated from the holidays and I loved the warmth and ambiance from the hotel. This is my new favorite location to runaway to. We will be back again.

Room Tip: We were in room 729 and it was very quiet and peaceful. We never heard anyone in the adjoining room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slauth, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Hotel for your Romantic Getaway. We are happy to hear that you and your Husband had a wonderful time. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perkasie
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2012

My daughter was just married on Jan 7th, 2012 and I wanted to share what a wonderful experience it was for our family. The staff made it easy to prepare, were very helpful as we went thru the preparations, and on the wedding day everything was as planned. The food was wonderful,the room looked beautiful and the wait staff most helpful.Bethlehem is a wonderful place to go, especially for the holidays, the whole town is decorated and it's a great place to shop, dine and gamble if you so desire. My thanks to all at the Hotel Bethlehem for a great job!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slauth, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Hotel for your Daughters Wedding! We are happy to hear that you and your family had a wonderful experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Just stayed at the Hotel Bethlehem and enjoyed it very much. There is much old world charm here - very pretty, very classy and everyone was friendly and helpful. Our room was on the the 6th floor and provided a beautiful view in the evening - just superb. The bed was very comfortable the pillows were superb! Check in and out was quick. Parking is provided but suggest you arrive via car vs a full size truck - difficult to navigate the corners. Also recommend making dinner reservations - we didn't know and had eat dinner at a very small high top table in the crowded and loud bar. Service was great up until the food was served - then it was very difficult getting our check - felt forgotten about at this small table. Make reservations for a table if you plan on eating in the lounge area!!! Food was very good! The decorations - just after the holidays - were still up and were stunning - very beautiful and very old world surroudings. Enjoy !

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatielynnCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slauth, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience with us. I would like to apologize for the slow service you experienced in the Tap Room after your meals were brought to the table. That is not how we typically handle guests’ at any table in one of our restaurants.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the new bedding in your room and were able to see the Christmas Decorations in the Hotel.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us while you were in Bethlehem. We hope you choose to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethlehem hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
#2 of 14 in Bethlehem
790 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sands Casino Resort
Sands Casino Resort
#8 of 14 in Bethlehem
743 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bethlehem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#13 of 14 in Bethlehem
235 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bethlehem
5.4 mi away
Courtyard Bethlehem Lehigh Valley/I-78
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Hotel Bethlehem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Hotel Bethlehem

Property: Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Address: 437 Main St, Bethlehem, PA 18018-5808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Historic Hotel Bethlehem 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Historic Hotel Bethlehem in downtown Bethlehem PA in the heart of the Lehigh Valley, just minutes from Allentown and Easton, Pennsylvania, Lehigh University, Moravian College, Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem and a 10 minute drive from the Lehigh Valley International Airport (ABE). We are conveniently located in the heart of the historic district that surrounds our hotel in Bethlehem Embrace our beautifully decorated and newly renovated historic Bethlehem hotel. Come experience world-class service, charming guest accommodations, elegantly appointed lobby and common areas, beautiful yet efficient banquet and meeting facilities, and Award winning cuisine. We proudly continue the tradition of Bethlehem hospitality that began by the Moravians who first settled here in 1741. Come experience this hospitality at our Historic Hotel Bethlehem.Restored to its original 1922 grandeur, Historic Hotel Bethlehem's floor-to-ceiling palladium windows provide dramatic views of the historic shopping district just outside our front doors. Seven large murals were painted by George Gray in 1937 to depict the history of Bethlehem. These beautiful murals currently adorn the walls of the Mural Ballroom. One of the larger murals retells the story of how Count Zinzendorf and other early settlers named the city of Bethlehem on Christmas Eve in 1741. This event took place in a crude cabin on the site now occupied by our Award winning hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Historic Hotel Bethlehem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing