We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kismet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Certificate of Excellence
Ramsey, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Kismet”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We were lucky enough to book the last room in the Hotel Bethlehem, the weekend before Christmas this year. It was like stepping back in time, to a grander, gentler era. Everyone was wonderful at the hotel. It was our first trip to Bethlehem, but we will be going back next year, with friends. The street in front of the hotel has it all. Cute shops, delicious restaurants and history. For history buffs this city is a gem. We took the Christmas lights bus tour that was also a lesson on the Moravians, who settled Bethlehem. I do have one question however. In order to get reservations at the hotel as well as dining reservations,next December, when should we book? Thank you for a wonderful Christmas getaway, complete with snow flurries.

Room Tip: A room in front of the hotel offers a view of the holiday scene.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slauth, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We appreciate your choosing to stay with us.

I am happy to hear that you would like to stay with us again next December. I will see what we can do about having snow flurries for you again. :-)

I would suggest making your reservations for the hotel and our restaurants in early to mid October. Our Christmas Decorations are officially up by Thanksgiving every year.

Thank you again for staying with us and we are looking forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    683
    206
    54
    18
    13
See reviews for
257
319
36
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Bethlehem Dec 28th. It was still decorated for the holidays and it was just Beautiful . We were upgraded from a king room to an executive king room without even asking. Everyone we came in contact with was so freindly , begining with making the reservations to checkout. The price was very reasonable and the breakfast in the hotel was amazing, our waitress Ellen was fun and attentive. we will go back for sure .












k

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emags50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slauth, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Thank you for staying with us! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We will actually have our Christmas Decorations up until January 22, 2012. Let us know when you are ready for your next visit!

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

My husband and I got married on December 18th, 2011. Our ceremony was at the Lehigh Packer Chapel and the reception at the Hotel Bethlehem. My experience working with the Hotel Bethlehem to coordinate the reception was fantastic. Cathy the wedding coordinator was extremely responsive and professional. I always received a quick answer to any questions I sent through email. i felt confident in her and her staff's abilities. She made sure all the requests I asked for were accommodated. The whole night went very smoothly and we didn't have any issues. The food was delicious (Filet mignon, Chicken francaise, and eggplant napoleon) and the entire hotel was beautifully decorated for Christmas. They also did a great job putting the reception room together. I couldn't have asked for a better venue for our wedding. My husband and I were extremely satisfied. Additionally, the room they booked for us in the hotel was beautiful as well- tastefully decorated and clean. All my guests seemed to enjoy the venue and the hotel. i would definitely recommend this venue for a wedding or any special event.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPo520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slauth, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your Wedding and Hotel Experience with us. We are pleased to hear that you and your Husband had a great time and were happy with everything from start to finish.

Thank you for choosing the hotel for your Wedding Reception and trusting us to make it all happen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Every year my family and I stay at the Hotel Bethlehem and always enjoy ourselves. We have been coming to Bethlehem for over 10 years now during the holiday season. We started staying at the Hotel Bethlehem about 4 years ago when a family member recommended it to us. We couldn't have been happier with our stay and keep going back each year. The restaurants are wonderful! It's hard to eat there at this time of year but if you get a chance its great to sit in the lobby with the Christmas decorations. The staff is beyond excellent too! When our nephew needed some "medicine" the front desk staff, Brynn, was very helpful in giving us directions to the closest CVS. It's also nice to see a familiar face when we return and to be greeted by last name every morning. We haven't stayed at the hotel any time besides Christmas but are hoping to attend one of the festivals in Bethlehem this summer. There is a lot to do in the downtown area during the month of December and the staff at Hotel B was very helpful in providing different information on what was available each day. If traveling with a family, I recommend to ask for an "oversized" double so that you have enough room for everyone's suit case! My family enjoys staying there each year and we can't wait to return this summer!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slauth, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Jason,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with everyone. Thank you to you and your family for choosing to stay with us during the Christmas Season. It is nice to hear that we are a part your families Christmas Tradition when visiting Bethlehem. I do have to agree with you, it is nice to sit in the Tap Room amongst all the Christmas Decorations.

We are looking forward to your visit this summer and again in December. Have a Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asbury, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

I took a quick trip with my wife and four children. We traveled with two other couples and their children as well, and I did not get to pick the hotel. I was told we were staying the the Hotel Bethlehem and didn't give it much more thought. When we arrived, I was totally surprised by how beautiful it was! The hotel has an old historic charm and shows the abundance of wealth from a time past. The lobby was enormous and elegant. Everything about the hotel was terrific, and a pleasant surprise to me. The rooms were spacious and beautifully appointed, and the location of the hotel was ideally suited for shopping, touring, and dining. I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our rooms were absolutely beautiful. Could not have been better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slauth, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
Paul,

Thank you for this wonderful review. Please thank whoever chose the Hotel Bethlehem for us. I hope you choose to stay with us again in the future.

Have a Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Stayed for one night. The reviews are a bit too much for the hotel. Guess for the area it is good but overall its not the best. The door to the bathroom had cracks and the hotel needs a renovation. the lady in the reception was not the most pleasant either.The room was too cold and you could hear the train pass by which was not the best.
Good thing is its close to the airport, free internet, 24h roomservice.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank t0309999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slauth, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I would like to apologize for the service missteps that occurred during your stay. I am happy to hear that you did appreciate the complimentary Wi-Fi and 24 hr room service.

We will be replacing the existing guest room doors with new Mahogany Doors in 2012. We will also have our engineering department check all of the heating units in our guest rooms to ensure that they are all working properly so we may prevent this from happening in the future.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we truly hope that you choose to stay with us again in the future.

Have a Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
73 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

I usually do not write a second review but the staff at the Hotel Bethlehem are superb. They go out of their way to accomodate their guests. The packages are great, the location perfect and the overall area and the hotel lobby are lovely during Christmas time! The hotel and the town is a real gem, don't miss out!

Room Tip: stay on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swiftlysaid38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slauth, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write not one but two wonderful reviews for the Hotel. Thank you for recognizing our staff. They take great pride in not only meeting our guests’ needs but exceeding them as well. Also keep an eye out, we will have some new packages coming out in the New Year.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us when you are in Bethlehem and we are looking forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethlehem hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
#2 of 14 in Bethlehem
790 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sands Casino Resort
Sands Casino Resort
#8 of 14 in Bethlehem
742 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bethlehem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#13 of 14 in Bethlehem
235 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bethlehem
5.4 mi away
Courtyard Bethlehem Lehigh Valley/I-78
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Hotel Bethlehem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Hotel Bethlehem

Property: Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Address: 437 Main St, Bethlehem, PA 18018-5808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Historic Hotel Bethlehem 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Historic Hotel Bethlehem in downtown Bethlehem PA in the heart of the Lehigh Valley, just minutes from Allentown and Easton, Pennsylvania, Lehigh University, Moravian College, Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem and a 10 minute drive from the Lehigh Valley International Airport (ABE). We are conveniently located in the heart of the historic district that surrounds our hotel in Bethlehem Embrace our beautifully decorated and newly renovated historic Bethlehem hotel. Come experience world-class service, charming guest accommodations, elegantly appointed lobby and common areas, beautiful yet efficient banquet and meeting facilities, and Award winning cuisine. We proudly continue the tradition of Bethlehem hospitality that began by the Moravians who first settled here in 1741. Come experience this hospitality at our Historic Hotel Bethlehem.Restored to its original 1922 grandeur, Historic Hotel Bethlehem's floor-to-ceiling palladium windows provide dramatic views of the historic shopping district just outside our front doors. Seven large murals were painted by George Gray in 1937 to depict the history of Bethlehem. These beautiful murals currently adorn the walls of the Mural Ballroom. One of the larger murals retells the story of how Count Zinzendorf and other early settlers named the city of Bethlehem on Christmas Eve in 1741. This event took place in a crude cabin on the site now occupied by our Award winning hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Historic Hotel Bethlehem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing