We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I loved it!”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

It was amazing to see the beautiful marble floors, marble staircases. The ball room was exquisite. The rooms were comfortable and updated bathrooms with marble were a nice feature. The food was wonderful. The only bad thing was the parking was below the hotel and no

Room Tip: During Music Fest (August) you will want a room as high as possible because of the late nite noise o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank W0nderfulLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slauth, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    689
    210
    54
    18
    13
See reviews for
260
325
36
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

This hotel makes me feel like I have taken a journey back to the days of Sinatra. Or at least how I picture those days- I'm not old enough to have been around when Sinatra was around. But you get the picture- very old world glamorous. The people are super nice, and I think this is just characteristic of the people you'll meet in Bethlehem. The location is fantastic- right in the cutest part of town. I highly suggest walking across the street to the cute chocolate shop, and also to the Apollo grill, which has really great food. The only reason I am witholding one star is that there are some quirky things that need to be fixed- doors that don't close well, etc. Oh- and you can bring pets for a $75 fee! That was a perk for me.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dragonlady15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slauth, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to bring your furry friend along for the trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkins Park, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2011

A Beautiful Hotel in a Great Location! Accomodations are attractive and super clean. Wonderful Views from Guest Rooms, Comfortable Bedding, Superior Bathroom Facilities. Cozy Terry Robes provided. All Common Areas are expansive and inviting. Excellent Staff and Great Food. Had drinks/food delivered to our Suite/Guestrooms. Delightful Breakfast out on the patio in front of hotel. Festive atmosphere for Musikfest with stages right along Main Street. Easy parking, although there is a parking fee, but well worth it as the cost per night for this level of luxury and service is far below what similar hotels would cost in New York or Philadelphia. Quite possibly my best stay ever. Will return for business and pleasure. From the time we arrived until we reluctantly departed, all eight in our party agreed: Hotel Bethlehem is a gem, and we had a perfectly enjoyable experience staying there for Musikfest!

Room Tip: Book a Suite if you can...the suite is delightful and the bathroom incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shorethangcapemayNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slauth, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Thank you for joining us during MusikFest. It is great to hear that you were able to enjoy our 24hr rooms service and our new outdoor dining. Thank you again for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

My family and I stayed here during hurrican Irene because we were evacuated from our neighborhood in NYC. We are very familiar with Bethlehem because my husband went to one of the colleges in town. We usually stay at the Comfort Suites, but this time we chose Hotel Bethlehem.

The hotel was built in 1922 and because of that has a grand feel about it. We stayed in a bridal suite, while smaller than most bridal suites it was nice, clean and had upgraded plumbing fixtures. The bathroom was decorated with white carrara marble and wallpaper. The pedestal sink was pretty but storage was an issue for bath items. Luckily the closet was large and we were able to store lots of things there.

The hotel is on a quaint street with many boutiques, and some restaurants. There is even an old blacksmith building next door. Make sure you stop by the Moravian Bookstore and the french linen boutique (can't remember the name).

All staff were very accomodating and friendly. Can't say anything bad about Hotel Bethlehem. I would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Ask for a Bridal Suite upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phillycww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slauth, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Thank you for staying with us. We hope everything was ok when you returned home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

At night, this hotel retains the majesty of its youth as it sparkles and shines from the lobby to the top floor transporting guests back to an era of glamour and glitz. But, when daylight hits, the inevitable wear and tear of the years peeks out.

Our room was booked a few days in advance and cost $133.01 with all taxes and fees. It was cozy with a queen size bed on the top (ninth) floor. The décor reminded me of the hotel rooms in New York City that I used to stay in as a child in the 1980s. The furniture was standard, if not slightly worn. The technology was mixed with a pot-bellied TV and an iPod dock. But despite its age, the room exuded warmth with classic standards softly playing upon our arrival. The luxurious linens and the phenomenal view of Bethlehem (including the star on the hill at night) made the room noteworthy.

The bathroom was small, but well-appointed. The products were from the Bath and Body Works collection and there was as much marble per square foot as in the lobby. While I am partial to bathtubs, the full shower complete with a marble bench was a standout. The water pressure and oversized shower head made me want to stay in the shower indefinitely. Our friends’ room had a bathtub and we felt like we got the better end of the deal.

The hotel is centrally located in the quaint downtown area of Bethlehem. Steps from the hotel are an array of locally-owned shops, cafes, and restaurants making it an ideal location for a weekend getaway. As an added bonus, the hotel is surrounded with Moravian history including buildings dating back to 1745 and the iconic church which is footsteps from the front door.

In addition to the central location, the hotel offers a full range of amenities. The hotel features 24-hour room service, a gorgeous terrace dining room and several other dining rooms with a lobby bar. There is also a fitness room (which is closed at night). Additionally, there are many meeting rooms and ballrooms. While I am not a fan of hotel weddings—the grandeur of the hotel made me wish I was invitee. However, the volume of events (there were two weddings and a baby shower on the day we were there) made it feel a bit like an event factory. I was also surprised that the hotel did not cordon off space for the wedding party who formed a receiving line in the open lobby.

The check-in situation is a bit odd in that the bellhops wait by the entrance to the parking garage. As you pull in, they radio ahead to the front-desk and can take your luggage at that point. We had only overnight bags as we were brought to Bethlehem for a funeral, so we continued to the detached parking ramp (in the back of the hotel) without utilizing this service. Our friends who joined us at the hotel a few hours later (around 9:00pm) were upset because the bellhops were not present at that time and they had to walk from the detached garage around to the hotel to get baggage assistance. Again, this hotel was designed for a bygone era where luggage likely would have been dealt with differently. True to the era, however, all of the bellhops wear full uniforms (despite the August heat).

While the hotel was kind enough to allow us an additional hour after noon check-out due to the fact the funeral we were attending was at 2:00pm, we were a bit put off by the fact the front desk called our room a few minutes before 1:00pm to make sure we were leaving. (Granted, they were doing us a favor in the first place.) Also, the too-obvious fake plants throughout the hotel add nothing and must go.

Despite those minor issues, this hotel is a must if staying in Bethlehem and we hope to go back one day under happier circumstances. It is a rare step back in time perfect for a weekend getaway. If you love history and can accept the toll of time and use, you may enjoy this hotel as we did.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room with a view of the star and the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenMountainLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slauth, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
We are sorry for your loss. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We have just finished replacing all of the Televisions in our guest rooms with New 42" Flat Screen TV's. We are now making sure that we do have Bellman stationed at our side entrance day and night to assist guests with their luggage, and I apologize for the desk calling you to make sure that you were checking out at 1pm. Thank you for bringing these to our attention.

We hope you choose to stay with us again when you are traveling to Bethlehem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2011

My family and I stayed here in June for a wedding held at the hotel. We had never been to Bethlehem before, and the staff there was beyond helpful with our needs. When we called to make reservations the young man we spoke with us not only made a reservation for us, but also gave us a list of restaurants in the area and things our children could do while we were in Bethlehem. I was very surprised to see how nice the hotel was, it is absolutely beautiful for a historic hotel. The rooms were very clean, a little small, but that was expected with it being an old hotel. The staff was great from checking in, to the turn down service we received nightly! (The chocolate on the pilliow was a great touch!) The wedding was one of the best times I ever had, and the hotel was perfect in every way for it. The downtown area is very pretty with a lot of fun shops around. I know that we will definitely be returning in December to see their Christmas decorations. We had a wonderful stay, and can't wait for our next one!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slauth, Manager at Historic Hotel Bethlehem, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Thank you! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the wedding you attened. We take great pride in our Hotel and our wonderful Staff. We are looking forward to your next stay with us during Christmas. We will be completely decorated by Thanksgiving! Make sure you get a Christmas Brochure at the front desk when you arrive. It will take you on a self guided tour of the Hotel's decorations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Stayed at Hotel Bethlehem August 11 with a group of high school friends during the last weekend of Musikfest. Had a wonderful time, the hotel staff was courtesy and attentive. The room was extremely clean and up to date. We enjoyed all of the different entertainment they had during the festival, and will definitely be back! Being able to park in the middle of downtown during Musikfest was more than helpful, the front desk staff, Bryn, was very helpful and more than accommodating when we needed directions to find things downtown. It was a great stay, and we definitely recommend staying at this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a nice view of Bethlehem
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa and Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethlehem hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
#3 of 14 in Bethlehem
813 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sands Casino Resort
Sands Casino Resort
#8 of 14 in Bethlehem
755 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bethlehem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#13 of 14 in Bethlehem
236 reviews
5.4 mi away
Courtyard Bethlehem Lehigh Valley/I-78
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bethlehem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Hotel Bethlehem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Hotel Bethlehem

Property: Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Address: 437 Main St, Bethlehem, PA 18018-5808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Historic Hotel Bethlehem 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Historic Hotel Bethlehem in downtown Bethlehem PA in the heart of the Lehigh Valley, just minutes from Allentown and Easton, Pennsylvania, Lehigh University, Moravian College, Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem and a 10 minute drive from the Lehigh Valley International Airport (ABE). We are conveniently located in the heart of the historic district that surrounds our hotel in Bethlehem Embrace our beautifully decorated and newly renovated historic Bethlehem hotel. Come experience world-class service, charming guest accommodations, elegantly appointed lobby and common areas, beautiful yet efficient banquet and meeting facilities, and Award winning cuisine. We proudly continue the tradition of Bethlehem hospitality that began by the Moravians who first settled here in 1741. Come experience this hospitality at our Historic Hotel Bethlehem.Restored to its original 1922 grandeur, Historic Hotel Bethlehem's floor-to-ceiling palladium windows provide dramatic views of the historic shopping district just outside our front doors. Seven large murals were painted by George Gray in 1937 to depict the history of Bethlehem. These beautiful murals currently adorn the walls of the Mural Ballroom. One of the larger murals retells the story of how Count Zinzendorf and other early settlers named the city of Bethlehem on Christmas Eve in 1741. This event took place in a crude cabin on the site now occupied by our Award winning hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Historic Hotel Bethlehem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing