We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Overnight Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sands Casino Resort
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
new jersey
Level Contributor
196 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Wonderful Overnight Experience”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We live in New Jersey and have been on many day trips to The Sands, but this was our first overnight. If you are a player, they do offer a great Casino Rate. The staff and service is excellent and the premises is very clean and secure. The rooms are large, well-appointed, comfortable bed and everything works. We stayed on the 15 floor with a front view which was excellent. Security is wonderful and the hotel is Eco-friendly---also a great idea and nice touch. The indoor pool had a perfect temperature and the outside patio was lovely, relaxing and with nice piped-in music. If you stay overnight they charge $7.00 for Valet Parking, which I feel should not be charged for overnight guests. The Sands offers a wonderful selection of Outlet Stores which is a large plus for the visitor. Another great feature is that the Casino offers smoking and non-smoking sections.

The Sands has a Food Court, but the prices are outrageous and this should be adjusted accordingly. There are a good assortment of places to eat and in affordable price ranges. There is only one Gourmet Restaurant the Emeril Steakhouse which is nice and comfortable but the prices are outrageous. The Sands could use another romantic, elegant Gourmet Restaurant with piano music. If they had one or two more restaurants, you would not venture off-premises as there are a great variety of good restaurants on Main Street and the surrounding area of Bethlehem.

The Hotel and Casino is "happening" and exciting, like a mini-Vegas. They have entertainment in the St. James which is good if you sit in the Bar, but if you are in the Restaurant, you really can't see it or hear it very well. Visions is very busy, but geared to the youth. Molten also has a DJ and live entertainment but this is also geared to the younger set. What would be ideal, especially on Friday and Saturday nights, if they kept Vision for the younger and Molten with an appropriate DJ and groups that appeal to more of an older group with songs spanning from the 40's to the 90's with perhaps a variety of good singing and dancing music. This way all ages can enjoy the nightlife as they have in Las Vegas. Even great Jazz would be a plus. There are many younger people who enjoy Sinatra and 50's music. Something for every one and every age. My mate and I have been in the entertainment field for 50 years and have played all over the world, so this suggestion comes from years of experience.

All in all, The Sands is way better than Mount Airy. The rooms, restaurants, nightlife far superior. In addition, Mount Airy now has a fantastic new pool, but they have turned it into a Disco, which is not very appealing if you want to relax, swim and enjoy the pool area. The addition of finally adding a pool is great, and the fact that you can go for the day is also good, but it is like a hangout.

We would definitely go back to the Sands for an overnight or two again.

Room Tip: Pick an Upper floor, front of Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsGuestServicesPA, Public Relations Manager at Sands Casino Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive experience with us on TripAdvisor! I am pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy the various amenities on property and that you were able to enjoy the free live entertainment at St. James Gate and Molten Lounge.

I appreciate all of the constructive comments you provided us, and I will be sure to pass them along to the appropriate departments for review. It is through comments from loyal guests, such as yourself, that we can improve our property and the service we offer.

Again, thank you for your encouraging review on TripAdvisor and I look forward to exceeding your expectations during your next trip to Sands Bethlehem!

Kindest Regards,
Kellie S.
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    315
    124
    51
    42
See reviews for
119
328
38
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful accommodations...Great food. Attentive staff. Casino has sonething for everyone. I'm not a gambler but my husband is. I loved thr mix of people...the bars...the entertainment too. Truly enjoyed our quick get away. We will be back!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsGuestServicesPA, Public Relations Manager at Sands Casino Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
On behalf of all of us at Sands Bethlehem, I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent trip to Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem! We appreciate your kind words and we're honored that you made Sands Bethlehem your top choice when it comes to Pennsylvania casinos/resorts.

We look forward to hosting you in the near future!

Kindest Regards,
Kellie S.
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights. Room was excellent. On site restaraunts where very good. What makes this property different is that it's built on the site of the old steel mill. They have left the blast furnaces and parts of the old mill standing. This gives the area a unique look and feel. Also has a small outlet mall attached. Enjoyed my stay here. The staff where very friendly and accommodating.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsGuestServicesPA, Public Relations Manager at Sands Casino Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us on Trip Advisor! I am so happy to hear that Sands Bethlehem exceeded your expectations and I am truly glad that you had such an amazing stay.

I hope that we have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future and all of us at Sands Bethlehem look forward to your return trip!

Kindest Regards,
Kellie S.
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Valley, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We live in the Lehigh Valley and have been to the Sands Casino many times, but decided to celebrate our anniversary by spending the night in Bethlehem. We were impressed with the king size bed, spacious room and cleanliness . We also liked the added security by needing a room key to access the elevator and the complimentary continental breakfast. There is also a walking/running path along the river. The only recommendation is to supply guests with more comfortable pillows.

Room Tip: Request a king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelmom707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsGuestServicesPA, Public Relations Manager at Sands Casino Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
On behalf of Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your special anniversary! We know you have many options when it comes to staying in Bethlehem, PA, but we know our commitment to customer service is just one of the many reasons that keeps customers coming back. We truly appreciate you taking the time to write to us after your stay.

I will pass your comments about the pillows along to hotel management for review so they may be able to address this situation immediately.

We hope to host you again and continue to amaze you with our unmatched customer service!

Kindest Regards,
Kellie S.
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Small group of 16 people and we were all very impressed with the accommodations, the meeting space, meals, and most of all the service - professional, friendly and efficient! Last minute requests were filled graciously and effectively. The staff could not have been better.

Room Tip: corner suites are large with wonderful views of the area and river. But the standard rooms are much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsGuestServicesPA, Public Relations Manager at Sands Casino Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for providing feedback about your recent meeting at Sands Bethlehem - It was a pleasure reading your review! I am also delighted to hear that there were so many pleasant highlights about your stay and I appreciate you sharing them with us.

On behalf of all of us at Sands Bethlehem, we look forward to hosting your meetings at Sands Bethlehem again in the near future!

Kindest Regards,
Kellie S.
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had a concert to attend in Bethlehem. We're from NYC, so it was a drive and figured we could stay nearby. Casino resorts are generally expensive if you're not a player. Imagine our surprise when we spotted some fall offers right near Thanksgiving on their site! We got a double queen room that was clean and tidy. It was great to go from the room to the concert (leaving all our stuff) and back to the room afterwards. Really convenient for these events. I spotted some restaurants in the hotel also, not to mention the casino. Fun gambling added to the experience. We would go back. Only drawback was if you need little convenience store items, the convenience store in the casino does close by 11 I believe? So, you would need to venture out. I would just pick up what you need along the way, so you don't have to leave the resort.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macjewels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsGuestServicesPA, Public Relations Manager at Sands Casino Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you very much for reviewing Sands Bethlehem on TripAdvisor - We appreciate your positive review! I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations at the Sands Hotel and that you found your room to be clean and tidy. I am also pleased to hear that you enjoyed the other amenities on property, such as the Event Center, casino, and restaurants.

I will pass your comments about the convenience store along to hotel management as we are always open to suggestions.

Again, thank you for reviewing Sands Bethlehem on TripAdvisor. We enjoyed having you as our guest and we are excited for your return in the near future!

Kindest Regards,
Kellie S.
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dennis,NewJersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Check in was a breeze. We have stayed here several times before but usually in December. We stayed in a king suite which was very roomy and very clean.It was a smoking room but there was not a strong smell of previous smokers. There is a pool area which we didn't use but there were quite a few people enjoying it. There are outlet stores attached to the resort and also a food court. The casino is a short walk from where check in is .There are a few restaurants in the casino area so we made reservations for Emeril's Italian when we booked our room,and the food and atmosphere was awesome.We would definately eat there again. The Sand's offers a continental breakfast which my sister and brother in law ate at and they said it was very good. The casino is nice and has a few different bars but last call is around 130-2 oclock which we thought was a little early but not a big deal. Will definately go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjglasslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsGuestServicesPA, Public Relations Manager at Sands Casino Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your positive review of Sands Bethlehem. It is our goal to make sure that our guests are treated with the best service from check-in to check-out, so I am pleased that you were able to experience just that. Also, I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed the various amenities around the property, so thank you for sharing your insight and feedback with us and fellow Trip Advisor travelers.

Again, I am grateful for your positive review and all of us at Sands Bethlehem look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kindest Regards,
Kellie S.
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethlehem hotels
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
#2 of 14 in Bethlehem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
1.2 mi away
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
#1 of 14 in Bethlehem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bethlehem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bethlehem
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#13 of 14 in Bethlehem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
4.5 mi away
Courtyard Bethlehem Lehigh Valley/I-78
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Casino Resort

Property: Sands Casino Resort
Address: 77 Sands Blvd, Bethlehem, PA 18015-7705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Bethlehem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sands Casino Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem designed its hotel to set a new standard for luxury and style. Complimentary Continental Breakfast and Wireless Internet are included. The 302 rooms include 16 Executive Suites and 6 Presidential Suites, each of which has the latest in modern amenities like wireless internet, media-hubs and high-definition flat-screen televisions. When you select the Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem you are assured an extraordinary experience. Each of the resort's spacious guest rooms is elegantly decorated in a stylish combination of rich dark woods and neutral tones - the perfect choice for a weekend escape or business retreat. Luxury, Style and Class come together to create an unparalleled hotel in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania. The Sands offers a wide array of dining from casual to upscale at five distinct locations and the convenience of a food court. Savor a tender cut of prime steak or fresh seafood at Emeril's Chop House. Visit Chef Emeril Lagasse's newest restaurant, Emeril's Italian Table, with its rustic Italian-inspired fare including antipasti, cured meats and artisanal cheeses, fresh made pastas and more. Enjoy a distinctive twist on all-American favorites at Burgers And More by Emeril. Stop by St. James Gate Irish Pub and Carvery for an authentic Irish meal. The Sands is home to a New York City iconic eatery, Carnegie Deli - the perfect stop for something quick and delicious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Sands Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem Hotel Bethlehem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing