We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and small hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sands Casino Resort
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
116 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice and small hotel”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We used the hotel valet and were surprised to see such a small area for drop off. The hotel is small and is within range for pricing. We usually get comped in avenges and AC, so we are not used to paying for a casino hotel. The check in is a single desk and you will wait to check out a long time when everyone is leaving. The hotel itself is nice, the casino I felt was very smokey and packed and I didn't get to enjoy the shopping that this property has to offer. I need to return another time. The room was great, clean and standard for a casino hotel. The location seems to be in the middle of nowhere, so we came, we saw, and we were back on the road.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GianGrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsGuestServicesPA, Public Relations Manager at Sands Casino Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sands Bethlehem. I am pleased to hear that you found the hotel and casino to be tidy and clean, however I am disappointed to hear that you found the casino area to be smoky. On behalf of Sands Bethlehem, I apologize for the smokiness you experienced, however I am glad that this did not deter you from planning another visit! Please note that I will pass your comments along to the appropriate department for review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sands Bethlehem in the near future!

Kindest Regards,
Kellie S.
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    315
    124
    51
    42
See reviews for
119
328
38
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Sands. We were there for a convention that was being held at the hotel. No problems to note. The rooms were very nice and our floor was very quiet, even though the hotel was sold out for the weekend. Walking through the casino, I didn't find it to be overly smokey at all.

It's in perfect walking distance to the Steel Stacks, and we found a great local bar with a hockey rink attached right down the street.

Overall, great experience staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsGuestServicesPA, Public Relations Manager at Sands Casino Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive review with us at Sands Bethlehem! I am glad that you had a great time during your convention, and I'm pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations. All of us at Sands Bethlehem look forward to having you back again soon.

Kindest Regards,
Kellie S.
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaska, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I really enjoyed the Sands in Bethlehem. It is a very nice hotel with good amenities! The location is great too. Venture west into the city of Bethlehem too! Nice town! The staff and valet parking attendants were very attentive. The casino is nice too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregH106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsGuestServicesPA, Public Relations Manager at Sands Casino Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience and your satisfaction with us at Sands Bethlehem! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our amenities and all that Bethlehem, PA has to offer. Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review, and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Kellie S.
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malden, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2013

As a visitor to over 50 casinos around the U.S. - this casino is unlike anything I have ever seen. It is in the old Bethlehem Steel plant building - a blend of old and new - the inside is clean and luxe and huge - lots of slots, plenty of tables, shopping outlet stores on -site and many choices of food. I did not stay at the hotel. This review is about the casino area only.

Room Tip: did not stay at resort - only visited casino
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CityGirl66boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsGuestServicesPA, Public Relations Manager at Sands Casino Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
I am so glad that you enjoyed your visit to Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem! The old SteelStacks property definitely provides some awe-inspiring views, and I am happy to know that you were able to enjoy the scenery. Also, I'm very happy that you noticed all of the great additions to our property, including the Sands Outlets and various dining options.

Thank you for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back to Sands Bethlehem in the near future!

Kindest Regards,
Kellie S.
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed here beginning of September, price was good for the quality we received.
The room we stayed in was spacious and clean.
Only part that was a bit annoying was key card had to be swiped in elevator, had to be in room for electricty/AC to work - just needed getting use to.
Convenient for Casino, restaurants and shopping located inside.
Sign up for the Sands casino card and you will receive a better rate for hotel rooms.
Would definitely stay again as check in to check out was very smooth! Also offer basic continental breakfast

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swt85tiners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsGuestServicesPA, Public Relations Manager at Sands Casino Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sands Bethlehem! I appreciate you taking the time to write a review for your fellow travelers on Trip Advisor. I am so glad that you had a great time, however I apologize for the difficulties you experienced with the key card in your hotel room - I hope that this did not dampen your stay.

Again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kindest Regards,
Kellie S.
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I saw a comedian last year at the Event Center. The seats were literally right behind a structural column. I couldn't believe they'd even sell those seats. My husband and I ended up standing the who time. I'm seeing the same comedian this year, and made sure to get front row seats this time to avoid looking at cement the whole time. I would stay at the hotel, but if last year's seats are any indication of how this hotel is run, I think I'll just stay somewhere else.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Angie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsGuestServicesPA, Public Relations Manager at Sands Casino Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback on your experience at the Sands Event Center. I am disappointed to hear about your seating mishap, and apologize on behalf of the Sands Event Center.

Again, I extend my apologies and hope that this mishap does not deter you from visiting Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem. It is my sincere hope that you will give us another chance to exceed your expectations on a future visit. If you would like to contact us directly, please email us at guestservices@pasands.com.

Kindest Regards,
Kellie S.
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, MA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed here because we thought it might be fun for a quick one night stop before visiting colleges in the area. An interesting idea to renovate the old steel factory but in essence just an ugly hotel with low end amenities and facilities. The only bright spot was the choice of restaurants. We ate at Emeril's Italian Table which was quite good. The outlet mall was pathetic with very few stores. The casino was packed so for those that like to come and smoke themselves to death and gamble their money away it must be fine. When walking to check out the restaurants, we were enveloped in the smoke which ruined the experience. Maybe a fine place for smoking gamblers but not for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krispy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsGuestServicesPA, Public Relations Manager at Sands Casino Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for allowing Sands Bethlehem to be your host during your recent visit to the Lehigh Valley. Your feedback is very much appreciated and is very valuable to us. I am very disappointed to hear that your visit was not a complete success, and I am sorry for the negative impact the smoke had upon your well-being, and overall experience here.

I would like to extend my sincerest apologies and I invite you to get in touch with our guest relations department as I would like an opportunity to gather more details of your visit and to do what it takes to earn your future loyalty. Please contact us at guestservices@pasands.com so we may be able to learn more about your experience at Sands Bethlehem.

Kindest Regards,
Kellie S.
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethlehem hotels
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
#2 of 14 in Bethlehem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
1.2 mi away
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
#1 of 14 in Bethlehem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bethlehem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bethlehem
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#13 of 14 in Bethlehem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
4.5 mi away
Courtyard Bethlehem Lehigh Valley/I-78
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Casino Resort

Property: Sands Casino Resort
Address: 77 Sands Blvd, Bethlehem, PA 18015-7705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Bethlehem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sands Casino Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem designed its hotel to set a new standard for luxury and style. Complimentary Continental Breakfast and Wireless Internet are included. The 302 rooms include 16 Executive Suites and 6 Presidential Suites, each of which has the latest in modern amenities like wireless internet, media-hubs and high-definition flat-screen televisions. When you select the Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem you are assured an extraordinary experience. Each of the resort's spacious guest rooms is elegantly decorated in a stylish combination of rich dark woods and neutral tones - the perfect choice for a weekend escape or business retreat. Luxury, Style and Class come together to create an unparalleled hotel in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania. The Sands offers a wide array of dining from casual to upscale at five distinct locations and the convenience of a food court. Savor a tender cut of prime steak or fresh seafood at Emeril's Chop House. Visit Chef Emeril Lagasse's newest restaurant, Emeril's Italian Table, with its rustic Italian-inspired fare including antipasti, cured meats and artisanal cheeses, fresh made pastas and more. Enjoy a distinctive twist on all-American favorites at Burgers And More by Emeril. Stop by St. James Gate Irish Pub and Carvery for an authentic Irish meal. The Sands is home to a New York City iconic eatery, Carnegie Deli - the perfect stop for something quick and delicious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Sands Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem Hotel Bethlehem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing