We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sands Casino Resort
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
jacksonville, nc
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

I stopped here for a night at the casino. After several hours of playing cards I decided to stay for the night. I was very surprise to know how affordable the rooms were. I was also offered an additional discount for having a casino player’s card which I got that same night.
The room was very nice, modern, and clean. The staff is extremely helpful and attentive. There are several restaurants in the hotel; there are also a few places to get a quick bite. There are also a few outlet stores beyond the lobby. This place has something for everyone!
The spread for the continental breakfast, included, was the best I've had, ever.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsGuestServicesPA, Public Relations Manager at Sands Casino Resort, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to review and submit your comments about the Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant experience here and we invite you to return as we appreciate your patronage. On behalf of Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem, thank you for being our customer!

Kindest regards,
Kellie S.
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    314
    121
    51
    42
See reviews for
117
326
37
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
105 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

I'll start by saying that I'm not a casino person and only stayed here because I was part of a conference. If I were a gambler, I would probably enjoy the proximity to the casino and shops to be a plus, but instead found it to be no value added. Subtracting the casino, it was a higher end Holiday Inn type hotel.
Pros: nicely decorated rooms that were large and nice bathroom, free parking that was close and well lit, friendly staff
Cons: reception area more set up for a small boutique hotel than a large hotel-- there were two desks and then self-registration kiosks, but unclear directions that you could access the kiosks instead and I suspect the lines could get quite long at the desks at peak times-- plus it felt funny standing over the registration clerk, that's why they're usually behind raised counters. My room was a bit chilly and the heat slow to respond and there were no blankets. I couldn't get the wireless to work-- I could have called downstairs but didn't want the hassle-- my fault. The dining options were all in the casino and it was a zoo down there, so I ended up grabbing take-out and retreating to my room.
I'm glad that Bethlehem is undergoing renewal by doing something with the old steel mills and this property is well integrated within that. If it's going to be a destination for something other than gambling, there's going to need to be some work done though.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhillyVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsGuestServicesPA, Public Relations Manager at Sands Casino Resort, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to review the Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem - your feedback is very valuable to us. We are working to improve and your suggestions and remarks will help us provide the best customer experience possible.

We apologize for your less than average experience, however we would appreciate it if you would contact us directly at guestservices@pasands.com. On behalf of Sands Bethlehem, thank you for your patronage and feedback and we look forward to hearing from you soon!

Kindest regards,
Kellie S.
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila
Level Contributor
108 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is a nice, new hotel with a very modern flair. The rooms are large and nicely decorated. Its strange though that there is only one comfortable chair and one desk chair and no table in the room even though there is plenty of room for them. We didn't order room service, but if we did there is no place other than the desk to eat at.
The hotel is attached to the casino and a shopping mall so you don't have to go outside at all. The casino is large and separated into two halves, one half smoking and one half non-smoking. Unfortunately, In order to get to some of the restaurants you have to pass through the smoking area and the smoke smell immediately hits you in the face.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sirbuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsGuestServicesPA, Public Relations Manager at Sands Casino Resort, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for your review on the Sands Bethlehem Casino Resort! Your feedback will help us improve the service that we provide to our customers. We appreciate you taking the time to offer your suggestions and we'd like to extend you an invitation to contact us directly at guestservices@pasands.com. We apologize for your average experience at the Sands- We constantly strive to provide excellent customer service and a safe, friendly, and exhilarating atmosphere on our property.

Kindest regards,
Kellie S.
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
252 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

The lobby is a disappointment..where's the counter ? And the pool is off the lobby with no changing facility/bathroom IN the pool area. And the equipment in the exercise room overlooks the pool. How uncomfortable is that for females in bathingsuits??? Where's the spa?

Breakfast was moved to the other side of the world. Why not off the lobby ? Pretty bad when you ask a waiter at the breakfast buffet for a cereal bowl and he says it's not his job! If you arrive after 10 o'clock to the breakfast buffet ( allow 30 minutes travel time from room )..you will NOT get bananas, bagels, hot coffee, cold milk, silverware or service. WORST BREAKFAST EVER. Send your staff to the Hampton inn for training.

The shining star was the Jamaican (?) gentleman who boarded our bus to thank
us for staying at the hotel. Maybe he should manage the kitchen also ?

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chocoholicjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsGuestServicesPA, Public Relations Manager at Sands Casino Resort, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback on your stay at Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem - We appreciate your suggestions for improvement! I wanted to take the time to personally apologize, on behalf of Sands Bethlehem, for your experience during your stay.
I have forwarded your comments to hotel management, which always welcomes suggestions for improvement.

Again, we are very sorry to hear about your less than average experience during your stay and we invite you to contact us directly at guestservices@pasands.com

Kindest Regards,
Kellie S.
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

I last stayed at this hotel in January of 2012 and had some service problems. I was offered a free night to make up for those problems and I just finally got back there recently. Things have improved.
The lines to check in are still long but the people are nice and helpful. Service was much better this time. The rooms were the same.. big and everything you need. It was nice to see they had mini fridges now.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glen65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsGuestServicesPA, Public Relations Manager at Sands Casino Resort, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for your continued patronage to the Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem - your feedback is always being used to improve our customer service. We appreciate you taking the time to review us again and we are thrilled to hear that your experience has improved! If you have any further comments or concerns, you can email us directly at guestservices@pasands.com. Again, thank you for your continued patronage and we would love to have you stay again!

Kindest regards,
Kellie S.
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sellersville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
309 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Just got back from Sands resort where we stayed last night! Room was very nice and big, only problem was the shower. Water pressure was a little low and the water leaked under the glass door and onto the bathroom tile floor making it slippery! Needed your room key to acess elevators which was nice for security. Casino was very smokey and even though there was a non smoking section, who knew because it wasn't like you had to open a door to get to it, it wax in the middle of the floor surrounded by the smoking section. Save ur cash and don't waste it on the fri, or sat night seafood Buffett! 2 of us with tax was $127.09. Limited items, even though it was all you can eat whole lobsters, it seemed like they were boiled and not steamed, cause as I was tearing them apart, water was running every where! Waitress was a total jerk and only added to my disappointment. Shopes are awesome. Wife won enough to but Coach purse and I bought really nice DKNY jeanes and a sweater! Over all we had a good time!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heaterguy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsGuestServicesPA, Public Relations Manager at Sands Casino Resort, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for recently visiting the Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem. We appreciate your patronage to all of the vendors on our property and thank you for taking the time to post your kind reviews and suggestions for improvement. We are always working to make sure our customers have the best experience possible and we hope to have you stay again soon!

Kindest regards,
Kellie S.
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

I can't say I've stayed in the new hotel, but the casino itself is very charming. Yes, it saddens me that we've transferred a great shrine of industry into a casino, but at least they've remained true to that theme-right down to the lighting that resembles molten steel. The dealers are pleasant and friendly and Emeril's Burgers is affordable for a meal between gambling. But the new shopping area leaves a lot to be desired. You're better off sticking to downtown Bethlehem.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Padraic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsGuestServicesPA, Public Relations Manager at Sands Casino Resort, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for providing feedback on your recent trip to the Sands Casino Bethlehem. We are working hard to add more stores to the Outlets and our casino is always growing so check back often to see what's constantly arriving. As always, customer service remains our #1 priority so we are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant experience with our staff. Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to hosting you again!

Kindest regards,
Kellie S.
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethlehem hotels
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
#2 of 14 in Bethlehem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
1.2 mi away
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
#1 of 14 in Bethlehem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bethlehem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bethlehem
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#13 of 14 in Bethlehem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
4.5 mi away
Courtyard Bethlehem Lehigh Valley/I-78
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Casino Resort

Property: Sands Casino Resort
Address: 77 Sands Blvd, Bethlehem, PA 18015-7705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Bethlehem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sands Casino Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem designed its hotel to set a new standard for luxury and style. Complimentary Continental Breakfast and Wireless Internet are included. The 302 rooms include 16 Executive Suites and 6 Presidential Suites, each of which has the latest in modern amenities like wireless internet, media-hubs and high-definition flat-screen televisions. When you select the Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem you are assured an extraordinary experience. Each of the resort's spacious guest rooms is elegantly decorated in a stylish combination of rich dark woods and neutral tones - the perfect choice for a weekend escape or business retreat. Luxury, Style and Class come together to create an unparalleled hotel in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania. The Sands offers a wide array of dining from casual to upscale at five distinct locations and the convenience of a food court. Savor a tender cut of prime steak or fresh seafood at Emeril's Chop House. Visit Chef Emeril Lagasse's newest restaurant, Emeril's Italian Table, with its rustic Italian-inspired fare including antipasti, cured meats and artisanal cheeses, fresh made pastas and more. Enjoy a distinctive twist on all-American favorites at Burgers And More by Emeril. Stop by St. James Gate Irish Pub and Carvery for an authentic Irish meal. The Sands is home to a New York City iconic eatery, Carnegie Deli - the perfect stop for something quick and delicious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sands Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem Hotel Bethlehem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing