We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cigarette Smoker's Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sands Casino Resort
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Cigarette Smoker's Paradise”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I spent one night on business at this hotel. It is certainly admirable what has been attempted here: taking a former industrial site and transforming it into a resort. The hotel itself is nice enough and reasonably priced. But something went wrong in the engineering as the place stinks of cigarette smoke in every area including the non-smoking hallways, rooms and casino floor. I don't have any problem with people smoking in designated areas and have enjoyed several trips to Las Vegas casino hotels where smoking is permitted. Those hotels somehow manage to keep the smoke out of the hallways, the hotel rooms and even the non-smoking sections of the casino floor. Here, the smoke was prevalent everywhere to the point of eye irritation. The room itself was nice with modern furnishings, neutral designs/colors and a nice flat screen. Nothing remarkable but nothing offensive. Other than the (hack) smoke. I would also add the hotel elevators are exceptionally distant from the casino itself. There were also multiple problems with the three elevators: one did not work at all and the other two worked erraticaly, making random unrequested stops and not stopping at key-carded floors even though the key had already been inserted. The pool is smaller than you see in most Hampton Inns. The casino itself is nice but the smoke is intolerable. Hopefully the ship can be righted here or this relatively new hotel will go downhill fast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickshrimpton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsGuestServicesPA, Public Relations Manager at Sands Casino Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
We appreciate you providing valuable feedback on the Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem as it will help us improve our overall guest experience. I personally apologize for the experience you had while at the Resort - We strive to make every sure guest feels safe and happy. I will forward your concerns to Management so they are aware of the smoke issues in the Casino. We thank you for staying with us and are very grateful for your detailed review. If you have any issues that you would like to discuss with us privately, don't hesitate to email us at guestservices@pasands.com. Thanks again for your business!

Kindest Regards,
Kellie S.
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    314
    121
    51
    42
See reviews for
117
326
37
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Imagine the old Bethlehem Steel Mill sitting there, idol, all these years. Then you drive up and find it has been turned into a super modern hotel & Casino.
But the minute you enter its doors, you'll find a wonderful surprise! The interior of the Hotel and casino was designed with many of the old steel mill beams,steel and architecture intertwined with the new .
The next big surprise is Mr.Gary Scott. My girlfriend and I were greeted in the lobby by Gary and he welcomed us with the nicest,warmest smile we've ever seen. He sat us down at the check-in desk and had a nice conversation with us as he did the registration process. He made us feel at home and explained all the procedures a nd locations in the hotel.He also reduced ourroom from 139.00 to 99.00 without us asking. Something to do with our previous stay or something. We sure didn't argue about the discount and thanked him.
Gary even escorted us to the front doors and showed us where to park our vehicle.
After unloading our lugqage,Gary came back outside and offered to help us carry it to the elevators inside the lobby.
Gary showed us how to use the security card in the elevator to get to our room on the 12th floor. That feature really made us feel like we were in a safe hotel who cared about our safety.Gary wished us a nice stay and we zoomed up to our floor in what felt like a smooth jet.
The decor and carpets are out of this world.
Our room was beautiful,clean and comfortable. Nice furniture,large flat screen TV, and a nice wooden desk for paperwork. Bathroom is well stocked and super clean. If you are looking for the hair dryer.don't panic. They didn't forget it. It's in a black bag under the cabinet.
Beds were huge and very comfortable.We won't bore readers with all the wonderful entertainment/food/shopping/ and gaming cause you can read it all in all the other great reviews.
The only thing we will add is that we had a wonderful time/great food/lots of fun and we will always come back here every year and hope that Gary Scott is still here waiting for us with that warm smile of his.If you do come here,watch for this guy.He'll take good care of you.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atmman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsGuestServicesPA, Public Relations Manager at Sands Casino Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive experience while staying at the Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem. I was so pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and were treated with incredible customer service, which is something we strive to provide all of our guests. We truly appreciate the opportunity you have given us to learn about your recent experience and we all look forward to hosting you again in the future!

I am confident that Hotel Guest Services will delight in knowing that they contributed to the enjoyment of your stay. Thank you for your kind words!

Kindest Regards,
Kellie S.
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Caldwell, NJ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

My husband and I traveled with 3 other couples to the Sands Hotel for a Saturday night stay. We were in town for a house party so didn't get to try the nightlife or restaurants but arrived right after lunch on Saturday afternoon. All of our rooms were immediately ready and we checked in quickly. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was a Double Queen and was very clean, with very large flat screen TV, mini fridge and safe. The hotel seemed new and both the rooms and corridors had lovely decor. The bathroom had a large tiled walk-in shower with frameless door and toilet, which is preferable to a bathtub. The vanity/sink area was outside of the bathroom. It had a granite top, and a blow dryer and make-up mirror was provided. The counter area was too small and the bathroom should have had more hooks or a wooden bench on which to put down your "stuff". Otherwise it was very nice. The beds were really comfortable and the linens were of a high quality. The room was quite and had good climate control.
The best part of the hotel is that it is connected to a small outlet mall, casino and food court. All of these were a very short walking distance and indoors. It was the perfect place to go with a group of friends and while everything seemed "busy" and well-attended, I never felt like it was overcrowded or that we had to wait for service. The casino was so much fun and the bars and resturants both inside and outside the casino were plentiful. I'm not a gambler but had a great time at the 25 cent and penny slots while the gamblers in our group enjoyed Black Jack. There is something there for everyone. (Don't forget to grab an awesome Chili Dog on your way out of town at Vassi's in Hellertown at the Route 78 entrance ramp.)
I think we will go back for Musikfest!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crizzolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsGuestServicesPA, Public Relations Manager at Sands Casino Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and feedback about the Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem! It is a pleasure to read about how much you enjoyed our modern accommodations, since we are one of the newest hotels in the Lehigh Valley. I also enjoyed hearing that you were pleased with the fact that the casino, Outlets, and restaurants are all connected as we are considered an all-inclusive resort. We appreciate hearing from valued guests, such as yourself, and we all look forward to your return trip!

Kindest Regards,
Kellie S.
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Went to concert and booked room for weekend. Paid for suite for concert which was good, but watch Hotels.com for booking (smoking/non smoking option not available and staff difficult to deal with if not booked through pasands.com). After concert kicked out of VIP area because told was closing and sent to club. Then were told cheapest table in night club was $210.00 minimum because all the tables were table service only and that was the minimum and of course alcohol is not cash and carry. It was only 2 of us, my wife and me, for our anniversary. Money doesent really matter to me, but respect does! There were only 2 other "non corporate" suite customers, but we were told to stand in an open bar or leave; so we left. They think they are in Vegas or New York, but they are in Bethlehem, PA. They need to get over themselves!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brewmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsGuestServicesPA, Public Relations Manager at Sands Casino Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
On behalf of Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem, I would like to thank you for providing valuable feedback on your recent stay at Sands Bethlehem, and I would like to apologize for your experience during your stay. It concerns me deeply to that the service, or lack thereof, that you experienced did not reflect a high level of excellence that we typically provide our guests. I am very disappointed to hear that your visit was not a complete success and I will certainly forward your concerns to the appropriate departments. We invite you to contact us directly at guestservices@pasands.com so we can rectify the situation. Again, we are truly sorry your experience here did not meet your expectations and we will do what it takes to earn your future loyalty.

Kindest Regards,
Kellie S.
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

amazing hotel/casino in a amazing place.
a must visit for couples
casino was amazing with alot entertainment and bars
the food was really good you can find prices in all ranges depending on the ocasion
hotel was really clean
can wait to visit again

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIHALIS G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsGuestServicesPA, Public Relations Manager at Sands Casino Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and feedback! It is a pleasure to read about how much you enjoyed your stay at the Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem. We appreciate you as a customer and it is my sincere hope that I will have the privilege of welcoming you back to Sands Bethlehem in the near future!

Kindest Regards,
Kellie S.
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Rooms are spacious and extremely clean. Standard rooms are nice but I have experience the Exective suite very nice 2 rooms living room with 1/2 bath flat screen TV and bedroom( has doors to close if you want privacy) has a full bath,double sink, shower and a tub to relax in. of course a TV and coffee pod machine and refrigerator. Included is a free continental breakfast.
The hotel staff are very pleasant and tend to your needs if requested.
They also have a outlet shopping center and very good prices.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gegreeneyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsGuestServicesPA, Public Relations Manager at Sands Casino Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for allowing the Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem to host you during your recent visit to Bethlehem, PA and for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am humbled to have received such positive and thoughtful comments about our Resort. Your feedback is a testament and reflection of the continued success of Sands Bethlehem's diligent strides towards personalized and second-to-none customer service! We invite you to stay with us again in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Kellie S.
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Our room was very clean and nice. This hotel is taking people's complaints seriously and adding convenient ammenities such as hair dryer, more towels, extra hotel key for the lights, a/c. The industrial design is actually pleasant. The pool could have been bigger. There were many options for food. We ate at the Emerils Chophouse...which was quite expensive yet tasty but it was like the spirit of Emiril came out of the kitchen and yelled BAM, you're going to pay a lot for this meal, BAM you have indigestion and heartburn from my buttery and greasy food, BAM the general store is closed and no TUMS for you, BAM this is going to put a damper on your evening, but otherwise...it was very nice and the casino kept you playing...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsGuestServicesPA, Public Relations Manager at Sands Casino Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem with us and future travelers on Trip Advisor! We appreciate your kind words and we hope you enjoy staying with us as much as we enjoy hosting you. We invite you to stay with us again soon and we look forward to your return.

Kindest Regards,
Kellie S.
Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethlehem hotels
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
#2 of 14 in Bethlehem
755 reviews
1.2 mi away
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
#1 of 14 in Bethlehem
950 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bethlehem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bethlehem
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#13 of 14 in Bethlehem
232 reviews
4.5 mi away
Courtyard Bethlehem Lehigh Valley/I-78
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Casino Resort

Property: Sands Casino Resort
Address: 77 Sands Blvd, Bethlehem, PA 18015-7705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Bethlehem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sands Casino Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem designed its hotel to set a new standard for luxury and style. Complimentary Continental Breakfast and Wireless Internet are included. The 302 rooms include 16 Executive Suites and 6 Presidential Suites, each of which has the latest in modern amenities like wireless internet, media-hubs and high-definition flat-screen televisions. When you select the Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem you are assured an extraordinary experience. Each of the resort's spacious guest rooms is elegantly decorated in a stylish combination of rich dark woods and neutral tones - the perfect choice for a weekend escape or business retreat. Luxury, Style and Class come together to create an unparalleled hotel in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania. The Sands offers a wide array of dining from casual to upscale at five distinct locations and the convenience of a food court. Savor a tender cut of prime steak or fresh seafood at Emeril's Chop House. Visit Chef Emeril Lagasse's newest restaurant, Emeril's Italian Table, with its rustic Italian-inspired fare including antipasti, cured meats and artisanal cheeses, fresh made pastas and more. Enjoy a distinctive twist on all-American favorites at Burgers And More by Emeril. Stop by St. James Gate Irish Pub and Carvery for an authentic Irish meal. The Sands is home to a New York City iconic eatery, Carnegie Deli - the perfect stop for something quick and delicious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sands Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem Hotel Bethlehem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing