We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sands Casino Resort
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Rooms are clean and comfortable , room service breakfast was good. Emril's Chophouse is a very good dinner option. We dined there several times the steaks are quality and don't miss the banana creme pie! The casino is too smokey and packed. The crowd reflects the rural location.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vimatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    322
    129
    52
    44
See reviews for
123
340
39
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Visited the Sands Casino on Tuesday (1/31/12). This was my first time there. I was very suprised at how large the casino was. Most of the slot machines were in banks of four and very spacious. You really should walk around at first to take in all the different machines they have. Of course, I started with the slots as soon as I walked in and settled on the area near the entrance doors. They have many of the newer slots and that's why it's a good idea to walk around and find the ones you like most. The Casino is clean and even though smoking is allowed, the place is so large it really doesn't affect you. They have a food court, a few of Emeril's places and the Carnige Deli, where we had a wonderful "early dinner special" for $15 which included a starter, a sandwhich and a dessert. Definitely worth the money.

Although I did not end up a winner, I enjoyed gambling there very much.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank dustygirl26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandon, Pa
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

The Hotel is a beautiful place. We had a King room.....We had a smoking room, and I will say, as soon as you came off the elevator, you could smell that you were on a smoking floor. The room is spacious and the bed was sooooo comfortable, I would ask for extra pillows though. Ice machines are at the end of the hallway on every floor, so it is convenient. There is room service and it is average price wise. The hotel does not look like it is done yet. Elevator service was quick, You really always need to remeber to have room keys with you everywhere. To get to the rooms, you have to have your key. The hotel provides a free continental breakfast, buffet style, in a room overlooking the massive grounds of Bethlehem steel . I rated the hotel four instead of five. To get to the casino you have to walk through a large, two level shopping plaza and then through the Marketplace food court. We don't mind walking, but since the mall just recently opened, most of the storefronts are empty. It just gave a negative impression. I would not be able to bring my aging mother here to stay, becasue of the long walk. I thought the person at check in just seemed like we were bothering her which is not a way to be when you have a new hotel and are trying to get said hotel off the ground. Lots of choices to eat, but everything even quick food was really pricey.One thing I will say, I don't know if I would pay their full price for a room. It is just a little pricey for the basically only staff you see is the front desk. They do have alot of security, so you can feel safe here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tazzy310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Hudson, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

first time visitors should brief themselves on how to reach the address, as it is in the heart of Bethlehem and not all that simple to reach by auto from the major highway arteries leading to/from Bethlehem. The hotel/casino has been carved out of the old Bethlehem Steel plant which can be seen at a distance by the several Bessemer reducing towers, quite a sight. The casino is the first to be reached from the road access, marked with a very prominent SANDS archway - a very polite and helpful valet will give directions to the hotel, about 300 yards around to the back of the site. The hotel valet will greet you upon arrival at the door, and, if travelling alone, accept his offer to take charge of auto and luggage - just where to park the car is not immediately obvious and the cost is nominal. The hotel lobby staff is helpful, competent, just what is needed after a long day on the road. The room was very comfortable, the king bed fitted with excellent linens, the bath also well fitted, excellent towels. The choice of restaurants dictated the choice of this hotel, there are several of them, very good to excellent
and no need to leave the building. The restaurants are all located within the casino, but once inside any of them, the frenetic casino noises are muted or not noticed. This was my first visit and its success is all due to the attentive and well trained staff. The same applies to the restaurants, I looked into three or four and was well pleased by what I found. As my visit did not concern any interest in gaming, I have no comments on that aspect. However, I can heartily propose this hotel for families, chiefly due to the quality of the staff and the quality of the rooms

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cloudseleyshovell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

The only thing I will add is that when we were staying at the hotel they had construction starting at 5:00 am in the morning waking you up and when we asked why so early said they were under deadline with the construction of the convention center.
The people were very helpful and friendly. The walk is very very long for someone who has a problem walking, and is elderly walking back to the room at night especially a women by themselves.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pocopicketNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

My wife and I decided to spend a night at the new Sands Hotel in Bethlehem, PA. I was somewhat apprehensive because of some of the more negative reviews, but we decided to give it a try anyway. Because I'm responding to much of the criticism, this will be a rather long review. First, let me say this; this is a casino hotel which is designed for casino guests. This would not be my first choice if I was coming here with young children. Casinos are adult playgrounds, period. Don't expect this to be a Disney hotel.
As far as the hotel itself, it is a medium size hotel, with about 300 rooms, in a small metropolitan area. If you are expecting expansive lobbies with crystal chandelieres and waterfalls, then go to a hotel with thousands of rooms in Las Vegas or Atlantic City. What you do have here is a very modern & attractive hotel, with a pleasant check-in experience and very friendly front desk staff. As mentioned by other reviewers, there really isn't one long desk, but instead there are three desks with comfortable chairs to sit in while you are checked in.
They have hotel valet parking (for a fee), not to be confused with the valet parking at the casino entrance. If you opt to park yourself, there is a large outdoor lot right behind the hotel., well lit and casino security can be seen patrolling at night. At the other end of what is a large and expansive property, the casino has a multi-level indoor garage.
The rooms are very large and spacious. We had a king bed, but I'm guessing the same size room also accomodates rooms with two queen beds. Because the rooms are much larger than most hotel rooms, the bed, night stands, arm chair, small circular end table, desk and desk chair and dresser might make the room seem like it's missing something, but for two people there's everything you need. Personnally, I like the extra space for luggage and just moving around. I prefer this to a cluttered and cramped hotel room any time. There's also a large HD flat screen TV and a room safe, a nice feature.
The bathroom again is larger than most. The sink is separate from the walk-in shower and toilet. Unlike some reviewers, having the sink separate is a good thing. If someone is using the bathroom, it doesn't tie up the sink and counter. The height of the sink is fine, perhaps one negative reviewer was "height challenged" and there is a shelf in the shower to put soap, etc. To be a bit picky, a larger counter area would have been a plus, but it sufficed. There was also a magnifying make-up mirror, plus the mirror behind the sink. A full length mirror is in the hall, as well as a large circular mirror by the disk.
The towels were large and thick, very first rate. The bath amenities were double the size you would find at most hotels. When taking a shower, the water stayed inside the glass enclosure and door. However, some dripping could occur when the heavy glass door would open outward.
We were on the 14th floor, overlooking a outdoor parking lot, the river, a busy vehicle bridge crossing it and several train tracks. The windows are nearly soundproof as we watched freight trains going by but could not hear them. We could not hear anyone in the rooms on either side, but my wife did hear someone once in the adjoining bathroom next door.
Elevator service was quick, although one was a bit noisy one time, something management might want to look into. The hotel provides a free continental breakfast, buffet style, in a room overlooking the massive grounds of the now defunct Bethlehem steel mills. The structures taking on a some what unwordly view, almost as a setting for a Terminator movie. It actually was interesting to picture what it must have been like. The food was typical of what you might expect at a Fairfield Inn or Hampton Inn, meaning not gourmet, but satisfying. If you want gourmet, go somewhere else and pay to eat. The breakfast is free to hotel guests, and I've been to many casino hotels across the country and I know of no other that provides this feature.
You do need to insert a room key card when entering the room to activate some lighting and probably other electrical features, but check-in gave an extra key for that purpose, so it was just a very minor inconvenience, probably an attempt to get green certfication regarding energy conservation.
Finally, why I rated the hotel four instead of five. To get to the casino you have to walk through a large, two level shopping plaza and then through the Marketplace food court. We don't mind walking, but since the mall just recently opened, most of the storefronts are empty. It just gave a negative impression of the whole state of the economy right now. I'm sure when and if fully occupied, the impression would be better.
When I get time, I'll give a separate review of the casino and some of its restaurants.

Room Tip: If you have played at Sands before and have a players card, book online through your players account...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Retired62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Grande, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

The hotel at the Sands Casino and Resort in Bethlehem is brand new, with a austere, modern theme that is reminiscent of European downtown hotels. The rooms are large but sort of sparse in furnishings and decorations, well equipped with entertainment and climate control. The lobby and public areas are geared to meetings and gatherings, and the connecting hall to the casino it long and confusing. The staff is great, with quick efficient check in, excellent room service from Emeril's restaurant downstairs in the casino.

Room Tip: If you're using the hotel park on in front of that entrance and not in the garage. It's a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerseymariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bethlehem hotels
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
#3 of 14 in Bethlehem
847 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bethlehem
1.2 mi away
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
#1 of 14 in Bethlehem
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#13 of 14 in Bethlehem
240 reviews
4.5 mi away
Courtyard Bethlehem Lehigh Valley/I-78
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bethlehem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Casino Resort

Property: Sands Casino Resort
Address: 77 Sands Blvd, Bethlehem, PA 18015-7705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Bethlehem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sands Casino Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem designed its hotel to set a new standard for luxury and style. Complimentary Continental Breakfast and Wireless Internet are included. The 302 rooms include 16 Executive Suites and 6 Presidential Suites, each of which has the latest in modern amenities like wireless internet, media-hubs and high-definition flat-screen televisions. When you select the Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem you are assured an extraordinary experience. Each of the resort's spacious guest rooms is elegantly decorated in a stylish combination of rich dark woods and neutral tones - the perfect choice for a weekend escape or business retreat. Luxury, Style and Class come together to create an unparalleled hotel in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania. The Sands offers a wide array of dining from casual to upscale at five distinct locations and the convenience of a food court. Savor a tender cut of prime steak or fresh seafood at Emeril's Chop House. Visit Chef Emeril Lagasse's newest restaurant, Emeril's Italian Table, with its rustic Italian-inspired fare including antipasti, cured meats and artisanal cheeses, fresh made pastas and more. Enjoy a distinctive twist on all-American favorites at Burgers And More by Emeril. Stop by St. James Gate Irish Pub and Carvery for an authentic Irish meal. The Sands is home to a New York City iconic eatery, Carnegie Deli - the perfect stop for something quick and delicious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Sands Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem Hotel Bethlehem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing