We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Greek Food Outside of Greece”
Review of Yianni's Taverna

Yianni's Taverna
Ranked #27 of 355 Restaurants in Bethlehem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Seidersville Road
Description: Authentic Greek Taste in the Heart of the Lehigh Valley! We are family owned and operated and pride ourselves in freshness and quality and sharing the flavors of Greece with our customers in the Lehigh Valley.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Slightly off the road between Bethlehem and the Saucon Valley Mall, you can't misaa the restaurant saince it has a large sign near the top of the hill and turn off. You are welcomed quickly and escorted to one of the many tables in this well decorated taverna. The music and food is all Greek. The food is excellent and reasonably priced. If you are looking for a restaurant near Bethlehem or the mall, look no further.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Yianni's Taverna, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

PAGeo, thank you for writing a phenomenal review, and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to dine with us. We are very happy to hear you had an enjoyable experience at our restaurant.

Thank you for providing a description of where we are located. We feel that we're easy to find, however, we know some people do have a hard time. Any extra information or guidance provided to other readers is welcomed!

It's great to know you loved everything from the food to our atmosphere. We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It really means a lot when guests take the time out of their day to leave a fantastic review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate it, and know this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Thank you. We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 108 of 160 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014

Let start off by saying that this restaurant's atmosphere is absolutely wonderful. The bar area has separate seating with several couches and coffee tables in addition to a few typical bar tables and seating at the bar.

As far as the food and drinks, I found both to be overpriced. The sangria was $9 for a small glass. The lemon chicken soup lacked flavor. For our main course, we ordered an item that had been previously on the menu but had been removed. It was a shrimp dish with orzo, tomatoes, peppers in a light lemon cream sauce. Again, the dish just seemed to lack flavor. Our bill came to $105 for three people.

I would probably return but just do appetizers and a sandwich rather than a full meal. Those seemed more reasonably price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PARunner30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The waitress seemed to have an attitude (treating my wife poorly). The best part of the meal was the appetizer (an assortment of hummus with pita bread) which was around $10. We ran out of pita bread and the waitress told us it would be $1 extra for a slice. Very poor!! The vegetables tasted like they were out of a can and the rest was overpriced for the quality of the meal. Maybe we ordered the wrong meal.
Will never go back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kagAllentown_Pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Yianni's Taverna, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

kagAllentown_Pa, we want to thank you for sharing feedback from your last experience at our restaurant. We are disappointed to hear that you weren't fully satisfied with your time at Yianni's.

We have private messaged you on here as we'd like to learn more about the events that occurred while you were dining with us. We take guest comments and concerns very seriously. We hope you'll give us the opportunity to talk with you. We want to make things right.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Had one amazing meal - top notch all the way. The place has been redesigned to look like a restaurant in Greece and it really does. It's very upscale and comfortable. The server, Ian, was engaging and knowledgeable about the menu. He recommended the flambe cheese appetizer (I forget the name of it) and it really was dramatic and fun. The martini was one of the best I've ever had (though pricey at $10). We had crabcakes (good), Lamb Shanks (very large, beautiful presentation and very good) and vegetarian moussaka (really really excellent). The vegetarian dishes were clearly marked on the menu (which I love) and the menu was nicely done. We had baklava ice cream (which is made locally, I was told) and the baklava itself was delicious. Wonderful meal. While it was expensive at about 150 before the tip, it was worth it for a once in a while special dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BBBBTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Yianni's Taverna, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

BBBBTravel, we want to thank you for writing a spectacular review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to dine with us. We couldn't be happier to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience at Yianni's.

Reading your comments about our redesign making you feel as if you were in Greece puts a smile on our face. We've worked very hard to create an immersive atmosphere that would make one question if they were still in Bethlehem, PA or in a taverna on a Greek island.

We'll make sure to let Ian and everyone else know they did a phenomenal job making your experience a success. The dish he recommended was our saganaki and it's a favorite among many of our guests! As you mentioned, our baklava ice cream is indeed made locally and the recipe was actually created in our kitchen!

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when patrons take the time out of their day to leave a fantastic review. If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our restaurant, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to your next dining experience! OPA!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

I've been to Yianni's on three occasions. The food has always been great. However the service has not been. It's been a few months since I've been there and I will go back. I hope that this has changed or I will not go back.

Thank DGraver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Yianni's Taverna, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

DGraver, we want to thank you for sharing feedback from your recent visit, and we'd also like to thank you for your continuous patronage to our restaurant. We're unhappy to hear that the service we provided was not as expected, and we want to thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention.

We strive to surpass our customers’ expectations and truly apologize for not meeting this goal during your last visit. We have private messaged you on here, as we'd like to collect some additional information about your time at our restaurant and to also make things right.

We hope that despite your last experience, you'll come back and dine with us again. If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to Yianni’s Taverna, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yianni's Taverna also viewed

 

Been to Yianni's Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing