We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Greek dining”
Review of Yianni's Taverna

Yianni's Taverna
Ranked #29 of 355 Restaurants in Bethlehem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Seidersville Road
Description: Authentic Greek Taste in the Heart of the Lehigh Valley! We are family owned and operated and pride ourselves in freshness and quality and sharing the flavors of Greece with our customers in the Lehigh Valley.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My family has eaten here on several occasions and we've always been happy with our experience. First things first....the restaurant is absolutely beautiful and you feel like you're really dining in a tavern in Greece! Having stayed in Greece for a summer years ago I appreciate the authenticity. Yanni's has great food, service and atmosphere!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lsgumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Yianni's Taverna, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

lsgumby, we'd like to thank you for leaving us a wonderful review and we'd also like to thank you for your continuous patronage to our restaurant. We are delighted to hear that you always leave Yianni's feeling satisfied with your meal.

When we designed our restaurant we knew it was absolutely important to make the atmosphere as authentic to the Greek dining experience as possible. We wanted our guests to walk in and feel as if they were transported to a taverna in Greece. We absolutely love hearing back from patrons who appreciate the hard work that has been put into making Yianni's a beautiful and scenic dining environment.

From reading over your review we see you mentioned how you were impressed with both our food and service. We definitely take pride in our authentic Greek cuisine and realize how important it is to stay true to our roots. We'll make sure to pass along the kind comments you made to our staff too. We're certain it will make them very happy to hear!

We'd like to thank you for sharing with us and the TripAdvisor community on your experiences at Yianni's. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave us an amazing review. We hope you realize how much this means to us, and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our restaurant please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, we look forward to seeing you back soon! OPA!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 135 of 160 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

The food was great. Tender calamari, fresh fish main dishes, lighter options, including some non-salad vegetarian options, great drinks, generous proportions.

Two complaints: Lobster special was overcooked and fried zucchini lacked seasoning.

Our server was attentive and offered suggestions. The atmosphere was nice, especially when they played quieter music.

Would recommend. Kicking myself for not going there sooner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kristy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Yianni's Taverna, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Kristy H, we'd like to thank you for writing us an incredible review and we'd also like to thank you for your patronage. We are very happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your meal at our restaurant.

From reading over your review we see that you mentioned that the lobster special that you ordered was overcooked and your fried zucchini lacked seasoning. We take guest feedback very seriously and have forwarded this to both our management team and chef to ensure that this doesn't happen again.

We want to thank you for both your recommendation and for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave us a wonderful review. We hope you realize how much this means to us, and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our restaurant please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, we look forward to seeing you back soon! OPA!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was our first visit to Yianni's Taverna and we were impressed overall. Our visit did not start off smoothly. We had 7pm reservations and arrived at the restaurant promptly at 7. We were not seated until 7:25, but instead had to cool our heels in the lounge area. The lounge was an inviting space with comfortable low couches, but when you make a reservation, you expect a table to be ready upon your arrival. The overall ambiance of the restaurant was enjoyable and tastefully decorated in hues of blue and white. Once seated, our server, Janet, was very knowledgeable about the menu and we appreciated her suggestions. The food was wonderful. From the tzatziki dip to the wonderful veal, lamb, and lobster dishes, all four of us enjoyed our meals. My in-laws enjoyed their meal so much, they got additional food "to-go" so they could enjoy it the next day. The kitchen staff assembled the makings of a gyro in a "deconstructed" way for better travel.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DoctorScottFromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Yianni's Taverna, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

DoctorScottFromPA, we'd like to thank you for leaving us a great review and we'd also like to thank you for your patronage to our restaurant. We're delighted to hear that you were impressed with our restaurant, and that you enjoyed your meal.

We want to apologize that you had to wait for your table when you first arrived. We plan to analyze our internal procedure when it comes to reservations to ensure that this doesn't happen again. We want to thank you for being both patient and understanding during those 25 minutes.

We are glad to see that your entire party enjoyed our authentic Greek cuisine, and that our staff made a positive impression on you. We are very lucky to work with such wonderful people. They really do go out of their way to ensure our guests are satisfied.

We want to thank you for sharing with us and the TripAdvisor community on your dining experience. It truly means a lot when guests take the time out of their day to write us a nice review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate this, and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our restaurant please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, we look forward to seeing you back soon, OPA!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Having originally thought this restaurant was more of a diner, we were pleasantly surprised. It has a beautiful decor, upscale without being pretentious. Love the white leather sofas in the bar area, very relaxing to go with friends for Happy Hour and lounge on the sofas. You must try the white Sangria, excellent. Also the bar has an excellent selection of beer on tap, with many craft brews.
The food is delicious, especially the seafood and lamb dishes. The white fish wrapped in parchment paper was delicious, as are the lamb chops and scallops and shrimp entree. Be adventurous and try the Grilled Octopus appetizer, it is pleasantly tender and seasoned to perfection. If you don't want a full meal, the Gyros are outstanding and very filling.
When near South Bethlehem or shopping at the Promenades, make sure to stop by Yianni's. You won't be disappointed.!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank celebrateliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Yianni's Taverna, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

celebrateliving, we'd like to thank you for leaving us a great review and we'd also like to thank you for your patronage to our restaurant. We are extremely happy to hear that you decided to try our restaurant out, and that you fully enjoyed your dining experience.

We try to stay true to our nature in both keeping our Greek cuisine authentic as well as our dining environment. We wanted our guests to feel as if they were in a taverna located in Greece. We felt that this truly created an immersive and much more rewarding dining experience for our patrons.

We love your suggestion about out grilled octopus appetizer. We're always telling guests to try it because it is so delicious! The ones that do try it are pleasantly surprised, and it's one of our more popular dishes among our regular patrons.

We want to thank you for sharing with us and the TripAdvisor community on your dining experience at our restaurant. It truly means a lot when guests take the time out of their day to leave us a nice review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate this, and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to Yianni's please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, we look forward to seeing you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

and that includes athens itself....the appetizers were fantastic as were the entrees... the service was great and the music inspired our group to shake and bake on the dance floor

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Bubba M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Yianni's Taverna, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Bubba M, we'd like to thank you for leaving us a wonderful review and we'd also like to thank you for your patronage to our restaurant. We're very glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your dining experience.

It makes us very happy to hear that our restaurant is one of the best Greek restaurants you have ever been to. From our beautifully decorated atmosphere, to our authentic Greek cuisine, we strive to deliver a Greek dining experience on par with a taverna you would find in Greece.

We'd like to thank you for sharing with us and the TripAdvisor community on your experience. It truly means a lot to us when guests take the time out of their day to leave us a spectacular review. We really appreciate it, and hope you know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our restaurant please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, we look forward to seeing you back soon!

OPA!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yianni's Taverna also viewed

 

Been to Yianni's Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing