We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick meal before the show”
Review of Carnegie Deli

Carnegie Deli
Ranked #107 of 352 Restaurants in Bethlehem
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Carnegie Deli captures the feeling and atmosphere of its famous New York location. Experience the warmth of friendliness, with an array of delicious New York favorites. Swing by and enjoy the perfect sandwich with quality prime cuts of meat, condiments and fresh breads.
Ardmore, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Quick meal before the show”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Stopped in for a quick meal before a show at the casino. Service was good,waiter was friendly,pickles on the table were good and crunchy! Burgers were Ok, not the best, onion rings were plentiful and hot. We would go back.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank linlamnpa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    49
    32
    19
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, PA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mediocre and overpriced.”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We visited Carnegie Deli for the first time on a Tuesday night and the place was empty--literally. When we walked in we were the ONLY diners, our first clue. Mediocre food and poor service -- the worst possible combination. How can you go wrong with grilled cheese on rye? Well, the rye was indistinguishable from white and it was nearly cold when we finally got it. We had to go looking for our waitress when we saw our food come up and it just sat there on the counter. By then another group had arrived, and I guess two tables was more than she could handle. So for $40+ we had two beers and two mediocre grilled cheese sandwiches and a side of slaw. And NO RESTROOMS??? Will NEVER go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Can_do_girl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Pass”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We were excited to see the deli while at The Sands casino. What a huge disappointment. The waitress could not keep our order straight. The pickles tasted almost rancid. Chicken soup had processed chicken chunks and no flavor. Bagel with cream cheese was good as was the half corned beef sandwich. Certainly nothing like a "real" deli though. I would not return!

Helpful?
Thank NurseMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Poor imitation”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

As someone who loves authentic NYC delis in general and the original Carnegie Deli on 7th avenue in particular, I must say this place was a big let down. For one, the rye bread wasn't what anyone should expect at an authentic deli. It had the consistency and taste of ordinary white bread; it was just bad and not appropriate for a deli sandwich. The pastrami was fine but just as good as any type of sliced meat you can get at your local supermarket. It lacked the NYC tenderness and flavor. The cheesecake also was rather disappointing and is usually fantastic at the NYC location. If you expect an average and ordinary deli then this place might be fine for you, but if you are looking for something like the authentic NYC Carnegie Deli or even the pretty good copy at the Mirage in Vegas, you are sure to be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dskla064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singer Island, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A must do for hungry deli lovers”
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

The line was long, but moved quickly. Loud but fun to watch people as they get massive sandwiches. Can't see how anyone can finish one. Good to share. Pickles on the table are good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nnemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carnegie Deli also viewed

 

Been to Carnegie Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing