We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to see waterfalls”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bushkill Falls

Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Bushkill
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Bushkill Falls, a series of eight cascading waterfalls, is one of the state’s most popular outdoor destinations. Nestled in the Pocono Mountains, the Falls – known as the Niagara of Pennsylvania –are a favorite of hikers, fishermen, birdwatchers and all those who treasure the nature’s beauty. Closed November - April.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great place to see waterfalls”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

We thought it was a wonderful set of waterfalls. You can choose your trail, from more walking to less walking. In either case there is walking. It has a great series of stairs going down to the falls (and coming back up). Since there are a lot of falls, all are different. I like to take pictures of waterfalls, so I couldn't pass it up. We were having a family reunion nearby in New Jersey, so we had many people--no little kids, though. Just teenagers up through me (Medicare-eligible adult). I wouldn't pass it up. If you like that sort of thing, it would be the sort of thing you would like.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank LivingInLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    758
    398
    119
    28
    23
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful place. Perfect day trip from NYC/Jersey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Visited this place early in the summer from North Jersey. The falls is beautiful. The hike is not too difficult. The directions are posted on the way and they are pretty clear. They have nice picnic tables close to the entrance. Tickets were reasonably priced. Ample opportunities to take nice pictures.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank AragornTheStrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Good day trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Not comparable in any way to the Niagara of New York, but it was still fun. We took the Yellow trail, which would take about 30-45 minutes. This is good for people with kids. The green trail is probably worthless as there is not much there, and I believe that the Red trail might be a fun exercise for those who take it. While the climb down is easy, the climb back up is steep and can be challenging even on the Yellow trail, but still manageable. Good shoes are a must and water bottles on a hot day highly recommended. There are many other trails in the area too so it could be a nice weekend getaway. About 2 odd hours from the city and the last many miles is single lane with lot of greenery all around.

Helpful?
4 Thank AnsarMNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

I recently visited Bushkill Falls with my two girls 5 and 9. The experience was wonderful. The different levels of trails made it much easier for the girls not to feel overwhelmed. They had a great time exploring what nature had to offer. They also had a great playground, lovely pond for fishing, paddle boats, mini golf. The resttooms were clean and their shops had so much to offer. They had a great little Ice Cream Parlor. Over All it was a very relaxing and peaceful day. I wish I could bring some of what we felt there home with me.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank italianlady44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Strange way to package nature”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

Bushkill Falls is privately owned. It is a site with eight watefalls. There are five colored coded trails that take you through the site to view the falls and the property. On the day we visited, about 40% of the trails were closed due to some unstated situation. (There were many emergency vehicles in the parking lot.) However, full admission was charged. At the very beginning of the trails, there was a jam of people going all which ways. The crowd thinned out as we moved along. This beginning part of the trail, which is at the lowest level of the site, is very poorly maintained. The path is badly worn, with tree roots sticking up all over the place. Other trails take you through woods, up wooden stairs and walkways. The falls we got to see are nice to look at. The highlight of walk was a view of the Delaware Valley.
The site includes an exhibit on the human and natural history of the property. There is also a snack bar, a gift shop, and the omnipresent fudge shop. There was live bluegrass music that day. Overall, it did not feel worth the $11 admission fee. If I am in the area again and looking to spend time in nature, I would opt for the nearby Tobyhanna or Hickory Run state parks.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank JulesVerne6154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bushkill Falls also viewed

Dingmans Ferry, Pocono Mountains Region
Delaware Water Gap, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Milford, Pocono Mountains Region
Tannersville, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Bushkill Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing