We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food in Death Valley” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forty-Niner Cafe at the Furnace Creek Ranch

Forty-Niner Cafe at the Furnace Creek Ranch
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food in Death Valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We ate nine meals in our February 2013 stay in Death Valley at the Forty-Niner Cafe at Furnace Creek Ranch. The food is very good. Pancakes are excellent, salads are very good, quesadilla is excellent. Prices are reasonable for the location - which is also excellent. Wait staff are very friendly and attentive. I would highly recomment the Forty-Niner Restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    355
    292
    122
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota Florida
Level Contributor
133 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Forty-Niner Cafe”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Four of us had lunch at the 49er in February and it was awful. None of us were very happy about the food and quickly decided we would not be eating there again.

The place was clean and run down service was okay.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank andyc53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yerington, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not the same”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We've been visiting the ranch for bout 15 years. We expected to pay more for food in this isolated destination. The quality was always above average. Now we find many items pre-prepared and average. As this is the center of many physical activities the menu used to reflect much more wholesome offerings.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank GotGolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good food in the middle of a National Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I am a vegetarian, so my options were restricted. But the waitress was happy to do some custom things to my order and i would call it a good meal in the middle of a national park. The next morning, we went back for breakfast, and it was good again. If i am in Death Valley where there is no food around the huge park, i would surely go back for a meal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hubbleflow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cattle call”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We were there over New Year's and they were simply overwhelmed. Maybe on less busy times this would be a place for a good meal at a decent price. We also dined at the main dining room at the Inn and that is a much nicer experience.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jim67_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forty-Niner Cafe at the Furnace Creek Ranch also viewed

 
Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley Junction, California Desert
 
Death Valley National Park, CA
 

Been to Forty-Niner Cafe at the Furnace Creek Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing