We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breakfast and Dinner Comfort Food”

Forty-Niner Cafe at the Furnace Creek Ranch
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Albany, OR
Level Contributor
278 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Breakfast and Dinner Comfort Food”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

One of our favorites is the Harvey Girl breakfast, which is yogurt, granola and berries in a parfait glass, served with date nut bread, prickly pear cactus butter and slices of melon. There were a lot of other breakfasts to choose from and a wait staff that was pretty much running to accomodate a usually packed house. The food is good and the dinners like one would find in a high-class diner. Neither of the restaurants takes reservations, and buzzers are given out if there is a wait; however, there are cushy seats outside surrounding firepits. The tables have maps of the park on them.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank stillhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    359
    293
    126
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in Death Valley”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We always enjoy eating here. We had lunch here the Sunday after Thanksgiving, and although the place filled up, the service was very good and we got our food quickly. I had a cheese and veggie quesadilla, which was delicious, and my husband really liked his portabello mushroom with veggies -- great to be able to get something other than burgers and fries. This is also a good place to come for dessert, if you need a late-afternoon pick-me-up. The prices are high, but so are they everywhere else within 50 miles or more. The decor is minimal, but I like the maps of Death Valley on the tables. It's a good place to bring kids.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
160 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Breakfast was basic but good.”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Breakfast was regular fair but good. Service was a little slow but nice people. The layout of the cafe is basic table chairs.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2olddogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
205 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Mediocre, overpriced food but good service”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

The food was mediocre, not bad, but way overpriced. We spent over $100 for a family of five. The waitress was very good, though.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pat909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
210 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Skip this cafe if you have a choice”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Had the beef brisket and fish and chips for lunch. Both were over cooked and dry. Fries were good though. Avoid if you can.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rusby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forty-Niner Cafe at the Furnace Creek Ranch also viewed

 
Death Valley Junction, California Desert
Death Valley National Park, CA
 
Death Valley Junction, California Desert
 

Been to Forty-Niner Cafe at the Furnace Creek Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing