We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Verschrikkelijk op alle fronten!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amargosa Opera House and Hotel
Wijhe, Nederland, Europa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Verschrikkelijk op alle fronten!”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We arrived at 16.15 hours in the afternoon, check in is from 3 p.m. There was no one there! Only an envelope with our name on it and a key of room 20......
After searching the private propertie a guy Jessy who lives with the 90 year old owner Martha, showed up.
He told us no one could come because they are taking care of Martha. Are you runming a hotel or are you taking care of Martha????

It says on the reception door that the reception is opened fron 8 a.m. to 9.p.m. We have two small childern, one of them needs medical care, I need to keep medicine cold in a fridge...so we decided to go to the room. Well: try to find the rooms with even numbers (2,4,6 etc.).We searched for a half hour. This was not subscribed in the letter where the rooms are and how to open the entrance door. There was only a code 8924.

Finally we found the room.
Then I discovered that there was no fridge for the medicine! No problem if the was some one at the reception desk, I could ask if they could keep it cool. BUT THERE IS STILL NOBODY THERE....

I don't think this is the way to treat gasts! We didn't want to cancel at all but there was no one to help us! So we had no choice but to leave!

I wrote them a note and taped it to the door (just like they did). Well, they didn't care at all, charged my creditcard to the full amount and said there is a cancellation policy of 24 hours....

They don't care about the gasts only abiut the money... How to make a quick buck without any service (because they are taking care of Martha).

I think it is fair to not charge the room at all. But they just charged it all! Even after having contact through e-mail.....

In one word: POOR.
I really hope they close soon!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    172
    83
    74
    106
See reviews for
89
270
57
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

It cannot be denied that the hotel is old, and the decoration not suited to all tastes.
But to be fair, it is still pretty decent.
We did not suffer from smell or noise described in other reviews. The room was clean, maybe be not shiny perfect clean, but good enough (and cleanliness IS important to me).
Main thing is, it's in the middle of the desert, so don't expect New York or Martha Vineyard's standards.

If you want to grab dinner at the restaurant next door, be sure to turn up before 6.30pm.

Friendly staff.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank KhoaiTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

I have stayed at the hotel on two occasions and am sad to leave each time I go. I discovered Martha online and went out last year to see her glorious creation. I came back again this year and was just as delighted as I was the first time.

You must see the opera house and spend time speaking to the staff. They are a loving and dedicated group of people.

This is not the Ritz Carlton and it's not a gambling/smokehouse. It's a simple place with clean rooms and a staff that will move mountains to help you. There are no TV's and no cell reception m...that is to me, a joy! Here you can escape completely and enjoy the only affordable hotel in death valley.

Don't pass it up, you will love this place if you give it a chance.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ryaninla78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rialto, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Friendly staff, very clean, the art and history are amazing. It is old and needs repairs but obviously people are taking care of it and trying. You must stop here, it's a beautiful place stoped in time.

Room Tip: Ask for a painted room to get a room with Marta's murals, the hotel is 90 years old but clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Woooowwww,,,,, this incredible place i just fine in the middle of no were, is amazing, is historic place, very diferent of any hotel i been before, and am a musician for 30 years, so i been in a lot hotels, i read something abbout the bad odors in the hotel, i dont know before, now,,, is great stay here, so good smeling, clean rooms, very friendly people working there, amazing tours, if you like peace and tranquility, inspiration, naturality, you must go to amargosa opera house and cafe,,,,,, ah,,,, the food in the cafe,,,,,, oooohhhh,,,,,, delicius,

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ricardo g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We were attracted by the spot and the history behind it. It was a disappointment to discover that the beauty of this place is kept in the past. Looking at the video of mrs Martha Becket it came into our minds that this lady, with all the respect that she deserves, doesn't realize that people come here to have a good time and that her own artistic story is a very interesting ingredient, but not more than that! She should be aware of the fact that guests desire clean beds, well smelling rooms and well painted walls. It is a disgrace to see how this past paradise is not taken care of. It could have been a marvelous place, but that was a long time ago unfortunately.

Room Tip: With pain in our hearts, but we advise to go somewhere else, Beatty for example.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CornelisFrederik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Death Valley Junction hotels

Van Horn, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed here only because everything in Death Valley was booked and some of the reviews were positive. What a mistake! Checked in late when there was no alternative. The room was rustic and at first the smell did not seem so bad. But after checking in, it hit us - a smell that seemed to be a combination of sewage, vomit, and a dead animal. I wouldn't be surprised if there are decaying animals in the walls. There was a dead cockroach on the floor near the bed. The carpet was old, dirty, coming apart. We were worried about what kind of pathogens might be present. We quickly moved our luggage back into the car, and if we had been smart, would have slept there ourselves. Turned on the A/C thinking that that might help with the smell; it did put out some cold air, much noise, but did not affect the smell. Met the persons in the next room who had the same complaints. We both tried to find another place. I had booked the hotel for two days, but left at 5 am the next morning, not able to face the idea of another night in this place. The health department should check out this place.

Room Tip: Sleep in your car rather than in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank thomasc508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley Junction
7.6 mi away
Longstreet Hotel & Casino
Longstreet Hotel & Casino
#1 of 1 in Amargosa Valley
526 reviews
24.8 mi away
Pahrump Nugget Hotel and Gambling Hall
24.0 mi away
Shoshone Inn
Shoshone Inn
#1 of 1 in Shoshone
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Pahrump RV Park & Lodging
22.1 mi away
Nevada Treasure RV Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amargosa Opera House and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amargosa Opera House and Hotel

Property: Amargosa Opera House and Hotel
Address: HR-C 608 Death Valley Junction, Death Valley Junction, CA 92328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Death Valley Junction
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Death Valley Junction
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amargosa Opera House and Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Amargosa Opera House and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amargosa Opera House Hotel Death Valley Junction
Amargosa Opera Hotel
Hotel Amargosa Opera
Amargosa Opera House And Hotel Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing