We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A spiritual place of unbounded beauty and wonder!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amargosa Opera House and Hotel
Reviewed July 13, 2014

I have stayed at the hotel on two occasions and am sad to leave each time I go. I discovered Martha online and went out last year to see her glorious creation. I came back again this year and was just as delighted as I was the first time.

You must see the opera house and spend time speaking to the staff. They are a loving and dedicated group of people.

This is not the Ritz Carlton and it's not a gambling/smokehouse. It's a simple place with clean rooms and a staff that will move mountains to help you. There are no TV's and no cell reception m...that is to me, a joy! Here you can escape completely and enjoy the only affordable hotel in death valley.

Don't pass it up, you will love this place if you give it a chance.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ryaninla78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (590)
There are newer reviews for Amargosa Opera House and Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

189 - 195 of 590 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2014

Friendly staff, very clean, the art and history are amazing. It is old and needs repairs but obviously people are taking care of it and trying. You must stop here, it's a beautiful place stoped in time.

Room Tip: Ask for a painted room to get a room with Marta's murals, the hotel is 90 years old but clean.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Woooowwww,,,,, this incredible place i just fine in the middle of no were, is amazing, is historic place, very diferent of any hotel i been before, and am a musician for 30 years, so i been in a lot hotels, i read something abbout the bad odors in the hotel, i dont know before, now,,, is great stay here, so good smeling, clean rooms, very friendly people working there, amazing tours, if you like peace and tranquility, inspiration, naturality, you must go to amargosa opera house and cafe,,,,,, ah,,,, the food in the cafe,,,,,, oooohhhh,,,,,, delicius,

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ricardo g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We were attracted by the spot and the history behind it. It was a disappointment to discover that the beauty of this place is kept in the past. Looking at the video of mrs Martha Becket it came into our minds that this lady, with all the respect that she deserves, doesn't realize that people come here to have a good time and that her own artistic story is a very interesting ingredient, but not more than that! She should be aware of the fact that guests desire clean beds, well smelling rooms and well painted walls. It is a disgrace to see how this past paradise is not taken care of. It could have been a marvelous place, but that was a long time ago unfortunately.

Room Tip: With pain in our hearts, but we advise to go somewhere else, Beatty for example.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CornelisFrederik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed here only because everything in Death Valley was booked and some of the reviews were positive. What a mistake! Checked in late when there was no alternative. The room was rustic and at first the smell did not seem so bad. But after checking in, it hit us - a smell that seemed to be a combination of sewage, vomit, and a dead animal. I wouldn't be surprised if there are decaying animals in the walls. There was a dead cockroach on the floor near the bed. The carpet was old, dirty, coming apart. We were worried about what kind of pathogens might be present. We quickly moved our luggage back into the car, and if we had been smart, would have slept there ourselves. Turned on the A/C thinking that that might help with the smell; it did put out some cold air, much noise, but did not affect the smell. Met the persons in the next room who had the same complaints. We both tried to find another place. I had booked the hotel for two days, but left at 5 am the next morning, not able to face the idea of another night in this place. The health department should check out this place.

Room Tip: Sleep in your car rather than in this hotel.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank thomasc508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Wow...such a dirty place...
Hotel is old. Not clean. Terrible smell ( sewer, mold under carpets, old mattresses?). It is to late to fix this place. Time for improvements had to be done a long time ago and owners just going with the flow now.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vic964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This place fits right in with the rest of the Death Valley area, a dusty shell of former glories. I found the staff to knowledgeable and polite, the rooms clean, and if the cafe is not open food can be found less then 10 minutes away at a small casino. If you don't stay here you should at least stop by. The opera house has performances on weekends and there is a lot of history and atmosphere to soak in.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tr4vler256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley Junction
7.7 mi away
Longstreet Hotel & Casino
Longstreet Hotel & Casino
#1 of 1 in Amargosa Valley
547 reviews
24.8 mi away
Pahrump Nugget Hotel and Gambling Hall
24.0 mi away
Shoshone Inn
Shoshone Inn
#1 of 1 in Shoshone
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Pahrump RV Park & Lodging
25.0 mi away
Preferred RV Resort
Preferred RV Resort
#4 of 5 in Pahrump
20 reviews
22.1 mi away
Nevada Treasure RV Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amargosa Opera House and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amargosa Opera House and Hotel

Address: HR-C 608 Death Valley Junction, Death Valley Junction, CA 92328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Death Valley Junction
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Death Valley Junction
Price Range: $77 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amargosa Opera House and Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The complex which houses the Amargosa Hotel, Opera House & Cafe was built in 1923 by the Pacific Coast Borax Co. The town of Death Valley Junction was established in 1907 with the Tidewater Tonopah Railway line, which carried Borax from the area to southern California. By 1940, the last train had run through the area after which the town had several owners. Then, in 1967, while waiting for a tire repair at the gas station, Marta Becket (a dancer from New York City), came upon the old community hall. She said it called to her and said, "I offer you life". After making arrangements with the town manager, Marta and her husband agreed to pay $45/month rent and make the necessary repairs. They began work a few months later after moving permanently to the Junction and Marta had her first performance on February 10, 1968. Later that year, Marta began painting the walls and ceiling of the Opera House, which took her 6 years to complete. Marta performed at her Opera House for nearly 50 yrs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Amargosa Opera House and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amargosa Opera House Hotel Death Valley Junction
Amargosa Opera Hotel
Hotel Amargosa Opera
Amargosa Opera House And Hotel Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing