We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wooooww” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amargosa Opera House and Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amargosa Opera House and Hotel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wooooww”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Woooowwww,,,,, this incredible place i just fine in the middle of no were, is amazing, is historic place, very diferent of any hotel i been before, and am a musician for 30 years, so i been in a lot hotels, i read something abbout the bad odors in the hotel, i dont know before, now,,, is great stay here, so good smeling, clean rooms, very friendly people working there, amazing tours, if you like peace and tranquility, inspiration, naturality, you must go to amargosa opera house and cafe,,,,,, ah,,,, the food in the cafe,,,,,, oooohhhh,,,,,, delicius,

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ricardo g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    149
    66
    64
    96
See reviews for
76
231
44
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We were attracted by the spot and the history behind it. It was a disappointment to discover that the beauty of this place is kept in the past. Looking at the video of mrs Martha Becket it came into our minds that this lady, with all the respect that she deserves, doesn't realize that people come here to have a good time and that her own artistic story is a very interesting ingredient, but not more than that! She should be aware of the fact that guests desire clean beds, well smelling rooms and well painted walls. It is a disgrace to see how this past paradise is not taken care of. It could have been a marvelous place, but that was a long time ago unfortunately.

Room Tip: With pain in our hearts, but we advise to go somewhere else, Beatty for example.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CornelisFrederik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Death Valley Junction hotels

Van Horn, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed here only because everything in Death Valley was booked and some of the reviews were positive. What a mistake! Checked in late when there was no alternative. The room was rustic and at first the smell did not seem so bad. But after checking in, it hit us - a smell that seemed to be a combination of sewage, vomit, and a dead animal. I wouldn't be surprised if there are decaying animals in the walls. There was a dead cockroach on the floor near the bed. The carpet was old, dirty, coming apart. We were worried about what kind of pathogens might be present. We quickly moved our luggage back into the car, and if we had been smart, would have slept there ourselves. Turned on the A/C thinking that that might help with the smell; it did put out some cold air, much noise, but did not affect the smell. Met the persons in the next room who had the same complaints. We both tried to find another place. I had booked the hotel for two days, but left at 5 am the next morning, not able to face the idea of another night in this place. The health department should check out this place.

Room Tip: Sleep in your car rather than in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank thomasc508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Wow...such a dirty place...
Hotel is old. Not clean. Terrible smell ( sewer, mold under carpets, old mattresses?). It is to late to fix this place. Time for improvements had to be done a long time ago and owners just going with the flow now.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vic964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This place fits right in with the rest of the Death Valley area, a dusty shell of former glories. I found the staff to knowledgeable and polite, the rooms clean, and if the cafe is not open food can be found less then 10 minutes away at a small casino. If you don't stay here you should at least stop by. The opera house has performances on weekends and there is a lot of history and atmosphere to soak in.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tr4vler256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

With all the respect to historical past of Amargosa Opera House, I must admit that motel is in a very poor condition and running further down to the hill. It is possible to tolerate the absence of TV, refrigerator, and microwave in the room. It is even possible to tolerate pre-second World War rusty and squeaking plumbing, shower and note in the bathroom about “ancient sewer pipes at work”. However, terrible horse manure smell from stables just next to the motel window mixed with the smell of mold from dirty carpets is reaching a critical limit of what is not acceptable and even dangerous for your guests’ health. Nobody knows when the carpets were vacuumed last time and dust cleaned. However, the Amargosa owners still manage to lure visitors to their hotel by posting on line Opera House heyday pictures. I’m surprised by this motel owner’s fearless behavior and passive waiting for some virus outbreak or falling apart of the building itself.
(View from hotel window in traveler photos attachments)

Room Tip: avoid such "service" if you care about your health
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank billytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Extraordinary...the stories behind the paintings and murals are exceptionally vibrant and interesting...Alaina, our host and tour guide, shared memorable moments of fascinating intrigue expertly weaving the past and present into her presentation.

Marta's life and incredible works of art gave one pause, a clever and interesting presentation of European arrival in the west and its subsequent upheaval of Native Americans, each mural flowing into the next, each with their own back-story, and each distinctly cohesive with the Spanish theme of Marta's paintings.

Definitely GO!! Laid back, lovely.

Room Tip: Stay in "haunted 23".
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Priscilla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley Junction
24.8 mi away
Pahrump Nugget Hotel and Gambling Hall
7.7 mi away
Longstreet Inn and Casino
Longstreet Inn and Casino
#1 of 1 in Amargosa Valley
3.5 of 5 stars 414 reviews
22.2 mi away
Pahrump RV Park & Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
Preferred RV Resort
Preferred RV Resort
#4 of 5 in Pahrump
4.5 of 5 stars 10 reviews
24.0 mi away
Shoshone Inn
Shoshone Inn
#1 of 1 in Shoshone
3.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Bud Lodge
Red Bud Lodge
#1 of 3 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 stars 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amargosa Opera House and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amargosa Opera House and Hotel

Property: Amargosa Opera House and Hotel
Address: HR-C 608 Death Valley Junction, Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park > Death Valley Junction
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Death Valley Junction
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amargosa Opera House and Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Amargosa Opera House and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amargosa Opera House Hotel Death Valley Junction
Amargosa Opera Hotel
Hotel Amargosa Opera
Amargosa Opera House And Hotel Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing