We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“OMG....” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amargosa Opera House and Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amargosa Opera House and Hotel
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“OMG....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Wow...such a dirty place...
Hotel is old. Not clean. Terrible smell ( sewer, mold under carpets, old mattresses?). It is to late to fix this place. Time for improvements had to be done a long time ago and owners just going with the flow now.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vic964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    152
    67
    66
    96
See reviews for
76
240
46
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

This place fits right in with the rest of the Death Valley area, a dusty shell of former glories. I found the staff to knowledgeable and polite, the rooms clean, and if the cafe is not open food can be found less then 10 minutes away at a small casino. If you don't stay here you should at least stop by. The opera house has performances on weekends and there is a lot of history and atmosphere to soak in.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tr4vler256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

With all the respect to historical past of Amargosa Opera House, I must admit that motel is in a very poor condition and running further down to the hill. It is possible to tolerate the absence of TV, refrigerator, and microwave in the room. It is even possible to tolerate pre-second World War rusty and squeaking plumbing, shower and note in the bathroom about “ancient sewer pipes at work”. However, terrible horse manure smell from stables just next to the motel window mixed with the smell of mold from dirty carpets is reaching a critical limit of what is not acceptable and even dangerous for your guests’ health. Nobody knows when the carpets were vacuumed last time and dust cleaned. However, the Amargosa owners still manage to lure visitors to their hotel by posting on line Opera House heyday pictures. I’m surprised by this motel owner’s fearless behavior and passive waiting for some virus outbreak or falling apart of the building itself.
(View from hotel window in traveler photos attachments)

Room Tip: avoid such "service" if you care about your health
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank billytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Death Valley Junction hotels

Naples, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Extraordinary...the stories behind the paintings and murals are exceptionally vibrant and interesting...Alaina, our host and tour guide, shared memorable moments of fascinating intrigue expertly weaving the past and present into her presentation.

Marta's life and incredible works of art gave one pause, a clever and interesting presentation of European arrival in the west and its subsequent upheaval of Native Americans, each mural flowing into the next, each with their own back-story, and each distinctly cohesive with the Spanish theme of Marta's paintings.

Definitely GO!! Laid back, lovely.

Room Tip: Stay in "haunted 23".
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Priscilla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

What a strange little place out in the middle of nowhere. Dusty, musty, run down opera house and museum with loads of desert charm. We had a tour of the rooms, the wall paintings were fantastic. If you are adventurous and love out of the way places, with some amazing history. This is the place for you.

Room Tip: Very dusty here. The wind blows all the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

First of all, let me say I am all for historic character and charm. I am always looking for places to stay that reflect the nature of the area, unique, etc, so this place should have been right up my alley. However, when it comes down to it I do have some basic standards for hygiene and cleanliness!!! This place did not meet them The woman who reclaimed this place is an amazing creative soul, and the paintings she left behind are charming. The opera house and all its' murals are definitely worth a look. However, she needed to find a good maintenance man and and a reasonable cleaning lady, and these are apparently difficult to find in this out of the way spot out in the desert, apparently. The first thing you notice when you walk in is an overpowering stench of something vile that permeates the lobby and hallways (was it sewage or was it mildew? My nose said it was mildew, but is this possible in one of the driest places on earth? I'm not sure). Once you get to the room, this initial impression is followed by that of a filthy carpet, incredibly decrepit furniture, and yellowed bedsheets. I was just hoping there was nothing in the room that was catching, if you know what I mean. The plumbing in the bathroom looked to be original to the building, which was built in 1927--although there did seem to be adequate hot water. We got zero room service during the three nights we stayed there. Really, if you can afford it, stay in the park, if you can't, it's worth the 30 minute drive to Pahrump to stay in a chain hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cecilia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilfracombe
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Well,what to say about this place! had I stayed in this hotel in say India or Nepal I wouldn't have been surprised at the overall shoddy upkeep. The hotel is themed as an opera house which on first appearances seemed quite quaint and novel. But once through the front door I was hit with the foulest smell of what I can only imagine was bad drains. the rooms weren't that much better,the carpets were filthy,there was visible rising damp around all of the walls the paint and the wallpaper were peeling giving the impression that this hotel was perhaps nice once but has long since past it's sell by date! the bed however even though looked like it had seventies sheets and cover was actually quite comfortable. In the morning however I found the shower to not be working in the antiquated bathroom. but,upon complaining i was immediately offered profuse apology and an immediate full refund. the staff were very friendly but the general upkeep of the place in my opinion was shocking. I do not expect to find a thick layer of dust all over the flat surfaces in reception. To some up,this is possibly one of the worst hotels I have stayed in outside of a third world country.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel if you are looking for cleanliness,Don't be taken in by the well presented web...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jason m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley Junction
7.7 mi away
Longstreet Hotel & Casino
Longstreet Hotel & Casino
#1 of 1 in Amargosa Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
24.8 mi away
Pahrump Nugget Hotel and Gambling Hall
24.0 mi away
Shoshone Inn
Shoshone Inn
#1 of 1 in Shoshone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Pahrump RV Park & Lodging
25.0 mi away
Preferred RV Resort
Preferred RV Resort
#4 of 5 in Pahrump
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Bud Lodge
Red Bud Lodge
#2 of 3 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amargosa Opera House and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amargosa Opera House and Hotel

Property: Amargosa Opera House and Hotel
Address: HR-C 608 Death Valley Junction, Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park > Death Valley Junction
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Death Valley Junction
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amargosa Opera House and Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Amargosa Opera House and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amargosa Opera House Hotel Death Valley Junction
Amargosa Opera Hotel
Hotel Amargosa Opera
Amargosa Opera House And Hotel Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing