We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Randomness in the Desert” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amargosa Opera House and Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amargosa Opera House and Hotel
Atwater, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Randomness in the Desert”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

A nice little getaway. Planned a trip to Death Valley and had heard about the history of the Amargosa Hotel. Being into the paranormal, i thought, what a perfect place to stop and have a little investigation myself. Awesome! Lots of activity! Staff was friendly, and the room was very clean. The Opera House was spectacular also! The only regret I had, was not seeing Marta perform. She was Ill that day. Next time!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ORBS_inv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmargosaOperaHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Amargosa Opera House and Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Amargosa Opera House and Hotel, we are so happy to see you enjoyed your stay and look forward to accommodating you again in the future. We regret you were unable to see Marta perform her narrative but hope you had a chance to tour her Opera House while you visited our sleepy little town. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    157
    72
    67
    98
See reviews for
79
248
50
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was deserted when I arrived, an envelope with my name on it taped to the front door with a room key and door access code inside. Arriving in the evening after a day of driving, I was hoping for some food but it seemed the only "local" option is a tacky casino about 7 miles away. I had to drive a few miles further to find a small store where I could buy some snacks. I you want peace and quiet in the middle of nowhere then this is a fine option: and it's a great base for a visit to Death Valley. But it's fairly run-down, with decaying facilities and definitely not suitable for families.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Death Valley Junction hotels

UK
Level Contributor
355 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

When we arrived we'd already been charged and found that the cheap rate of $75 was in fact $90 due to room tax (expected) and a service charge of 11%. Who knows what for as service was minimal - the girl who gave us our key didn't normally work there and was heading off home, there is no cafe/restaurant/shop options, and breakfast was dry toast which they ran out of so most guests got nothing.
The nearest food/drink option is 7 miles away at the casino where they also do rooms - stay here instead! Cheap, friendly & looks like a normal motel!
Back to our room : smelt of sewage, had an exterior door (unlocked) straight onto the parking lot, an interior door (onto a smelly corridor) and an adjoining door which when I checked it let me straight in to next doors room. They couldn't access our room as our side had the bolt but that is completely unacceptable either way.
Carpet was grubby, cobwebs in all corners, threadbare towels & paper thin curtains.
The worst place I've stayed in USA. $25 would have been questionable for this place.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 19. Maybe others are better?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GayleUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Amazing place, looks like an oasis in desert. I've stayed in Amargosa Opera house & hotel at the end of September 2013 and don't regret. Yes, this old style hotel does not meet some of the modern standards, so be prepared for some inconvenience, like old plumbing, smell in corridor, etc. But it is unique place with atmosphere of the past, pictures on the wall, antique furniture. The room was clean enough. Probably, I could say more if I were in busy season, or at least at weekend. Those for whom high comfort is important, it is preferably to stay in $350 hotel in Death Valley, or a cheaper remote place.

Room Tip: A guy who stayed there before me, said that he had a problem with a toilet, and received another roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank almaz616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

First of all, you HAVE to visit this park!
If everything else is booked up, like it happened to us, well then tough luck. But make your stay at the Amargosa short, even if it means spending one night here and the following one at a another hotel across the Park. We blew the chance to book our 3rd night at the Stovepipe Wells Hotel and I regret it.
The Amargosa Hotel is not only old and worn out. It's dirty! There was hair in our bed, the carpet is a disaster and the walls and ceiling are covered with a crust of dirt.
OK, I'm not a sensitive person and I'd be willing to give them a pass (especially because of the magnificence of Death Valley) if the food wasn't so bad! Yes, that's where I draw the line. I don't know how the cook manages to make everything bland and greasy (at least statistically he should be able to get something right, right?).
Curiously, there are 60+ 'excellent' reviews for this hotel, some of those gave 5 to cleanliness! Hmm, I wonder...

Room Tip: The best room in this hotel is probably your car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wakison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Amargosa Hotel in the summer of 2011 and we loved it. We travelled across the US on Route 66. After Santa Monica we took a little detour and ended up in the dessert. Prior to departing we booked the room at Amargosa, I thought it would be an amazing experience to stay literally in he middle of nowhere. I love weird, unique hotels, I think there is not enough of them around. We stayed in one of the rooms facing the parking lot. We arrived late, so the key was left for us in the envelope on the door (how cool is that?)... It was so dark out, we could not see past our noses. The room was clean and to be honest you cant expect anything else. If you like 5 star accommodations it isn't a place for you, but for those who are looking for adventure and REAL experience. In the morning we met the person who is running the place now. Unfortunately, we didn't get to meet the owner- Marta, but I am sure she is a wonderful lady if she was able to create and keep a hotel like this, which in a way is a jewel of Death Valley. Once a year, if I am correct, you can attend her performance at the theatre that is located on site of the hotel. You can also enjoy a fulfilling American breakfast at a restaurant that is attached to Amargosa, great food for a great price. I hope this hotel stays around for longer, I would definitely want to come back and stay at this unique place again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neustadt an der Weinstrasse, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

The envelope you find with your name at the entrance - the staff goes home well before dusk (to avoid the ghosts?) - contains the key to your room and an exact description of the maze: How to find your room through double doors, the ice machine in the kitchen, and a preprogrammed TV set with a selection of videos. The latter and a noisy air condition are actually the only modern equipment available to the guests. As stated on a sheet of paper on the door, the lack of modern equipment shall preserve the original character of the old Western hotel - which it really does (if it were not for the recommended restaurant (and hotel) 7 miles down the road you would honestly get the feeling of the lone ranger sitting in the desert and grilling a racoon over the open fire - there is nothing to eat and to drink in this place). Since you have to go to the Longstreet Inn next door anyway (if you do not have your own racoon and some matches...), why not stay there ... That place is full of life, music, food, and drinks,

Room Tip: Go another 7 miles down the road ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hogsmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley Junction
7.7 mi away
Longstreet Hotel & Casino
Longstreet Hotel & Casino
#1 of 1 in Amargosa Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
24.8 mi away
Pahrump Nugget Hotel and Gambling Hall
22.2 mi away
Pahrump RV Park & Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
Preferred RV Resort
Preferred RV Resort
#3 of 5 in Pahrump
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Bud Lodge
Red Bud Lodge
#2 of 3 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amargosa Opera House and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amargosa Opera House and Hotel

Property: Amargosa Opera House and Hotel
Address: HR-C 608 Death Valley Junction, Death Valley Junction, CA 92328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Death Valley Junction
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Death Valley Junction
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amargosa Opera House and Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Amargosa Opera House and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amargosa Opera House Hotel Death Valley Junction
Amargosa Opera Hotel
Hotel Amargosa Opera
Amargosa Opera House And Hotel Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing