We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth stopping to see!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harmony Borax Works

Harmony Borax Works
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Where Borax was produced in Death Valley until 1889.
Fort Mohave, Arizona
Level Contributor
209 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Worth stopping to see!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Interesting to see first hand the history of the 20 mule team wagons and the Borax. They have signs explaining all the wagons and how the Borax was lifted out of the salt flats and transported to Mohave, Ca.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobby31225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    119
    58
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Loved the history”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The history of the borax works was enticing to us - we remember the borax 20 mule team cleaner when we were kids. The site is very accessible to walk around, but we felt there could have been more descriptive information boards explaining what was what. Our curiosity outweighed the information available.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank IslandWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A history lesson”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We swung by the place on our way to other attraction in Death Valley, and so pleased we made the stop. It is a short drive from Death Valley Visitor Center, and very informative. There are signs on the history of the borax mining of the day, with some interesting photos for a compare and contract to what you see present day.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank CindyandJohn90503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohave Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
131 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“History Review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Nice short trail with many kiosks providing information and history of the borax mining. The hike was easy and the parking area is large.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank sweetatr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Twenty Mule Team Borax!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This deserted mine provides evidence of a busy operation destined for failure ... and probably more than you ever wanted to know about Borax! The museum at the National Park Entrance is just down the road ... both sites are informative and well worth a visit.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank vegasguy1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harmony Borax Works also viewed

Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley National Park, CA
 
Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley National Park, CA
 

Been to Harmony Borax Works? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing