We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't pass on this one”
Review of Titus Canyon

Titus Canyon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Perhaps the most memorable thing about this Death Valley canyon is the trip you'll take to it.
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
136 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Don't pass on this one”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Ok, it's not as popular as other areas in Death Valley, but that's not just. We drove through (one way only!!! Entrance near Beatty) during late afternoon (3-5 pm) and found particularly the mountain road towards Titus Canyon exceptionally beautiful, with an enormous palette of different and bright colors. The total picture is just amazing. One piece of advice, along your way you'll find hundreds of abandoned mines, all sealed off. Don't get tempted by gaining access, as they contain dangerous snakes and giant spiders near the cool entrance. Also they appear to be very unstable and some even contain unexploded and unstable dynamite inside, according park rangers. I have found one forced entrance and reported it to the rangers, who had to call the Law as I had to file an official report (they take trespassing very seriously, and not without a reason).

The main mine entrance at the ghost town Leadfield, just prior to entering Titus Canyon, had a motion detection camera inside for observation of bats. Poor animals, I came a bit to close (within a few feet) to the entrance and woke them up.

Piece of advise, do this road with a high clearance vehicle and preferably 4x4.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Radarlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    64
    12
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good ride”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

After visiting the ghost town of Rhyolite we went through Titus Canyon to enter into Death Valley. I would consider this an integral part of the Death Valley experience. If your driving a car just make sure your spare is in good shape. We stopped and helped some Asian folk in a rented suv who had a flat before they even got into the canyon area. Easy road for you adventure motorcyclists.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
161 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Amazing scenery”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Just a 5-7 min (2 miles of dirt road) drive from Stove Pipe Wells, up the road. If you like to hike you may just wanna hike the way up to where it starts (at the parking area) just before the entry pass. Make sure to bring good hiking shoes and plenty of water + camera. The trail goes a long way. As you are in the desert, the best time to go is either early in the morning or late in the afternoon, to avoid heat. You will find that the geology is amazing, with both wavely smooth and rough stones formed by nature. If you pour water on the moazaic mountain you will see a great play of colours.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank amaze79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful drive!”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

It's a one way dirt road & we made it fine in our high clearance vehicle. We saw all kinds of different vehicles including rentals that were not high clearance. The photo ops are incredible & there are places to pull off the road because there is no room to pass. Crazy to think about the old days & mining in such terrain but they did!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A small car can do it - just take your time”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Take your time. Savor every curve. Yes, the road is bumpy and narrow. We went in an SUV but there was a guy in a Hyundai Accent (small and low clearance!) who was traveling the road at the same time we were. He had to get out and move a couple of rocks but he made it just fine.

The scenery is exceptional. We kept thinking, "how did they make this road?" I highly recommend this drive but next time we will probably just hike up from the Death Valley side. There is a small parking area there and the narrow canyon at that end is spectacular.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DixieChickTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Titus Canyon also viewed

Death Valley Junction, California Desert
Death Valley Junction, California Desert
 
Death Valley Junction, California Desert
Death Valley National Park, CA
 

Been to Titus Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing